We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Haddington B&B and Inns
North Berwick
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a very pleasant Sunday lunch. Generous portions. I had a pot of mussells and my partner had a very tasty black pudding scotch egg.
Great Carvery main courses. Some very nice wines.
We did not stay in the hotel we just had the lunch.
We will go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cirenec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    24
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
20
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Very comfy bed in a large clean room, (tiny teacups though!), breakfast top notch (Smoked Haddock, my favourite!) Bar serves some good real ale. Altogether a grand stopover spot in East Lothian. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed at the Victoria Inn on 17 September. The room was well furnished and the en suite bathroom spacious and well supplied.

The breakfast was first class. I was impressed at how the hotel ensure that you know that they are using local produce.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. I was waiting to be picked up and they insisted I have a coffee and home made shortbread. Nice gesture and much appreciated.

The Inn is situated in the centre of Haddington and very convenient if you are using public transport to get there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinemac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Couldn't get anywhere else so not expecting the best of experiences. However our double room was fine (clean and well appointed). The staff were friendly and the restaurant good value (the light bites were tasty and plenty big enough). The layout (rooms round the corner with seperate door was a little unusual and the stairs may not suit everyone and being a Saturday night there was some noise from outside. Anyway, good value and we have already booked a return visit!

Room Tip: ask for a lower room if the stairs worry you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We use this place whenever we have a meet up with school friends, so we know it well. It is very conveniently right in the middle of town. Only draw back is the long flight of stairs to get to the rooms, but, that is no bother if you are able. Also, the door to the rooms is away from the Inn, being round the corner, hence freer for coming and going. Eating in The Avenue restaurant is recommended. The food is wonderful! We find the Victoria Inn really convenient, and know we will use it again. The owners and staff are friendly, and it just has a lovely way about it for guests.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2.. away from other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzibing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel itself is not attached to the pub but that wasn't an issue for us. The owners at the bar were very friendly and accommodating. The full Scottish was great and good value for money. I recommend having a drink there too! The room was ok, not the standard I expect for £45 per person per night. However the beds were comfortable! I would recommend staying here if you intend not to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kymmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow,Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed overnight at the Victoria Inn and was pleasantly surprised at the standard of accommodation. The room was large and spacious,with an excellent bathroom. I had my evening meal there also and the food and service was very good, will definately stay agian when I am in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Themaryhillthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
0.3 mi away
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Maitlandfield House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haddington
243 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
347 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Golf Tavern
The Golf Tavern
#4 of 8 in Haddington
17 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tweeddale Arms Hotel
Tweeddale Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gifford
39 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn

Property: The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn
Address: 9 Court Street, Haddington EH41 3JD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avenue Restaurant At The Victoria Inn Haddington, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing