We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“China Garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Garden

China Garden
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in Haddington
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“China Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Have been visiting the China Garden for 5 years and have not yet found another Chinese restaurant that comes close to it. Colin always makes you feel very welcome and the staff are very friendly, we tend to eat here on a regular basis and have never had a bad meal. The cost is very competitive and the stall are very accommodating. My only complaint is that the restaurant can some times feel very cold due to lack of heating, turn the heating up Colin.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SylviaCSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East lothian
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very surprised !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We have had numerous Take Aways over the past few months and were delighted but on the past two times we were very dissapointed in the food, I think that the problem seemed to be that if you go when the restaurant itself is full the take away definately not up to standard. On both occasions the actual restaurant was busy. The food second time around was extremely poor. Its a shame because the take away part of the business is important. They have also increased their prices by as much as 50pence on a fair number of dishes so quality should e good throughout !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 241vham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co'Path
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Haddington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

Had a carry out from China Garden and it scores highly on food quality, cost and friendliness of staff. There a a few Chinese establishments in Haddington and would rate the Singapore Chow Mein from China Garden as the best in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank shaggyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East lothian
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I am not normaly a lover of Chinese Food, but I have to say that on the various times I visited this restaurant with my daughter, we were blown away with the quality and service of the food. The Staff are very friendly and the food is just to die for. We would not hesitate to refer this restaurant to anybody . A thoroughly enjoyable experience .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 241vham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We go there a lot both for sit in and take-aways and family dinners. Really good chinese food at reasonable prices and always friendly and helpful service. Very child friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WineAndDine68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Garden also viewed

Haddington, East Lothian
Haddington, East Lothian
 
Haddington, East Lothian
Haddington, East Lothian
 

Been to China Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing