We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cross between fine dining and a pub - and it works!”
Review of The Rocks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunbar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rocks
Ranked #1 of 6 Dunbar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A cross between fine dining and a pub - and it works!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Living locally, we use the Rock for both special occasions such as Hogmanay as wells as for a casual lunch or supper. The Bass real ale is always in good condition and then it is on to the food. The menu changes and always has excellent meat and sea food. The service is sharp, friendly and they are always up for the variations my vegetarian wife throws at them - something that many other restaurants provide with a poor grace. And talking of serving vegetarians there is always a veggie option on the menu and they are always happy to serve double starters for mains and if you can't make up your mind as to whether to have the roast lamb or roast beef, then they will save your further agonizing and give you both, plus the Yorkshire pudding with either. They are that sort of accommodating place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    50
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
63
104
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

The restaurant had a very good atmosphere, we were greeted by a very helpful waiter and we had lovely food! For starters the prawn cocktail was delicious and you could tell the fish was sourced locally. The "Cullen skink" was also extremely tasty! The mains that followed were also great. The portions were very generous and I recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This place has to be the jewel in east lothians crown,the food here is amazing,there is nothing about here that could be faulted,great menu all the time and the food is local and really fresh,amazing setting with great views and not expensive on the pocket,if you dont try here you have not eaten good food,well done guys,great job all round.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north berwick
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

If you are looking for a really sensational meal with excellent service, friendly atmosphere and a price tag guaranteed not to hurt your pocket, then look no further! Yesterday evening, after a hard day at the Open, dinner was a welcome break! Collected from our door, driven to the venue and pre dinner drinks within out hands within five minutes of entering Jim & Susan's hotel was the start of a very satisfying experience. The menu covers a very good selection of choice suitable for every pallet. Personally, my main course of sea bass was delightful and cooked to absolute perfection! My friend assured me that his mussels were the best that he had ever tasted. All in all this has to be one of the best eating houses in East Lothian. Compliments all round to the staff , how you consistently do this is impressive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochearnhead
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

A very welcoming and interesting owner. In fact every member of staff was friendly and helpful and would have done anything to ensure us of a comfortable and happy experience. We were lucky to have a room facing over the natural harbour and enjoyed the sunsets and sunrises. The food more than lived up to what I had been told by friends and my parents. Excellent fresh seafood, rich tasty venison casserole and more. The breakfast was fabulous too including moist Stornoway black pudding and tasty fresh eggs cooked to perfection. We were not surprised to hear that there were 6 chefs in the kitchen. There were restaurant bookings of 140 people on the Friday and Saturday night, a clue that the food would be excellent. There is no kids menu however children can have a bit of anything on the menu and The 2 year old in our party was able to invent her own pasta dish to suit. I am not surprised that the restaurant is busy as the standard of food and the hospitality is exactly how you want Scottish Hospitality to be. Thank you for making us feel so welcome and looking after the needs of everyone in our party.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself with a room looking over the harbour rooms 3, 4, 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briarinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We got the train from edinburgh to the rocks just to have lunch and we're glad we made the journey. Much better value than another seafood restaurant we had been to the day before in leith. Great atmosphere, great view, great service and great food. Very child friendly also. Couldnt fault it - we Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMcCBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Borders, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I visited The Rocks in Dunbar for the first time today to meet up with close family for lunch. There were six of us. On our arrival our hosts had not arrived but we were served with a drink immediately without any fuss to enjoy outside in the sunshine, yes sunshine! Our hosts arrived and we all adjoured to the back courtyard where their drinks were promptly served and the menus were produced. The view was stunning and the sun was so hot that one of the staff put a large umbrella up at our table. When our meal was ready we were shown into the dining room (in our case it was the bar but the table was substantial for our party of six). We each started with a 'main' course and then onto a dessert followed by coffee. All the main courses chosen were really delicious with not a complaint to be heard, beautifully presented but really great servings. The desserts were equally delicious and again, beautifully presented with large servings. Then the coffee arrived with homemade 'tablet' and two types of mint chocolates. We were offered second helpings of coffee and also third if anyone wished more. My husband commented on the 'tablet' and was given a doggy bag to take away. Wow! The service was very attentive and considerate at all times. We are descerning customers and have travelled over a good part of the world but we could not find any fault with this hotel today. The toilets were spotless with lots of hand cream to pamper yourself with. I only wish that we were staying there tonight but we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.8 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,259 reviews
8.9 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
312 reviews
4.0 mi away
Thurston Manor
Thurston Manor
#3 of 6 in Dunbar
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks

Property: The Rocks
Address: Marine Road, Dunbar EH42 1AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dunbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Rocks Hotel Dunbar
The Rocks Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing