We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant review only”
Review of The Rocks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunbar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rocks
Ranked #1 of 6 Dunbar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Restaurant review only”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Three of us had dinner at this lovely pub/restaurant/hotel on Monday Oct 21. The restaurant is adjacent to the coast and has a lovely view. The décor is in keeping with the fine Scottish hotels. We arrived at 7.30 PM and the restaurant was already full (I am glad we had made reservations).
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. For starters, 2 of us had mussels in a wine broth. The mussels were large and very tasty with the broth. One person had the rabbit terrine, also good.
For our main courses one person ordered the sea bass (grilled), one ordered the halibut and one, fish and chips. The sea bass was really fresh and wonderfully seasoned. The halibut was also fresh and moist. The Fish and chips are titled "Posh" and so they were, crispy and tasty. The chips were on the fat side and some of us prefer the thin variety but that's just a matter of preference.
Overall the service was great and we had a wonderful meal. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shiraz0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    49
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
98
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of September as a stop off going North, and a base to explore East Lothian and the Borders.
The room was clean and comfortable, though a little tired with mismatched furniture.
The plumbing and fan in the en-suite were incredibly noisy and a little more heat in the radiator would have been nice after a walk along the cliffs.
The food was a little variable, our Sunday dinner was, to be honest, average.
The Halibut was a touch overdone and dry, and we thought close to £15 for Roast Beef and Yorkshire pud was expensive.
Second nights meal was much better, creamy chicken and asparagus en croute, with the asparagus still having a crunch, and very tasty pork tenderloin with Stornoway black pudding.
On the 3rd night we enjoyed Lamb and Lobster dishes and they were exceptionally good.
The specials board didn't change much during our stay.
Breakfasts on all three mornings were very good with a good selection to choose from.
The bar is well stocked and reasonably priced.
The staff were very helpful, cheerful and attentive to our needs and were happy to provide more tea bags and fresh milk to keep us going.
Next time we stay at the Rocks we will try to book room 4 which looked rather nice, with excellent views and a touch of luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobbit64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited The Rocks this week for the first time for a birthday meal.
We had an excellent meal. The menu has a great selection and all of our food was delicious. Service was very friendly and attentive and at a relaxed pace. Make sure you save space for a trio of deserts!!
The bill was about £60 for three courses and alcoholic drinks for two. Given the standard of food and service I thought this was excellent value.
We'll be back. I can't believe we haven't visited before now!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here as a couple and I must say the food was fabulous. It was beautiful to look out over the sea. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. We were served efficiently and made to feel very welcome. Good value for money and the rooms are clean and tidy. Only downside I could see was that perhaps the rooms could do with a little updating

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here for a quick overnight as had a meeeting nearby. I booked last minute so got the last room available, a single. When I arrived there were no staff around, had to wait until someone appeared as there is no obvious reception area or bell.

I was given Room 11 and shown the back stairwell to get there as I was told the room was easier to find that way, however, it gave a bad first impression as you have to go half way into the kitchen area to get to the back stairwell and the carpet was stained and dirty. The room itself was freezing cold, it looks like the window doesn't shut properly and it was particularly cold and windy September day. After a quick look round I noticed the carpet was disgustingly dirty, bits all over and matted hair by the bathroom door. The window sill was also covered in dead insects and dirt, the kettle and phone was dusty. I went downstairs to enquire about this, figuring it must be an oversight, a room they don't use often that hadn't been cleaned properly. The person I spoke to looked concerned and apologised and moved me to Room 9, which was better but still in need of a good clean, needless to say I didn't take my socks off!

In Room 9 there is a single bed, bedside cabinet, chair and small wardrobe, there is a small en-suite in need of serious updating accessed by an old sliding door. The fan in the bathroom is very noisy and the heater in there didn't appear to work. However, the bathroom was much cleaner than the room in general and the shower was great. There was a radiator in the room but I couldn't get it to work. The bed was surprisingly comfortable but could do with some mattress protectors so you're not sleeping on a sheet directly on the mattress.

I was a bit worried about the food given the room but dinner was extremely good, I had the paella. Those dining with me had the roast beef which they also said was very good. The service was fast and the prices very reasonable. Breakfast was a bit of a let down, I came down at 9.20 (they stop serving at 9.30), everything had been cleared away already but the waitress offered me cereal and fresh fruit. The cooked food I think had been sitting too long though, I was served far too quickly for it to have been cooked from fresh just then, the haggis was dry and tasteless. A shame considering food the night before.

So in summary I would return here for food but definitely not to stay overnight unless there was been a refurbishment. You could spend a little money on the rooms and make a big difference to people's experience. Even just investing in a good vacuum would be a start!

Room Tip: Room 11 and 9 are both small singles, no desks for working at. If available, pay out for a larger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeenieWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We've had dinner twice in one week at the Rocks and both times, the food and service were top notch - I can't fault this place, its food nor its staff. Yes, it's further for us to travel than if we were popping down to our "local" but the food at the Rockss so much tastier and the staff so much "nicer" there is no contest. Keep up the good work :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outoftowngirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Living locally, we use the Rock for both special occasions such as Hogmanay as wells as for a casual lunch or supper. The Bass real ale is always in good condition and then it is on to the food. The menu changes and always has excellent meat and sea food. The service is sharp, friendly and they are always up for the variations my vegetarian wife throws at them - something that many other restaurants provide with a poor grace. And talking of serving vegetarians there is always a veggie option on the menu and they are always happy to serve double starters for mains and if you can't make up your mind as to whether to have the roast lamb or roast beef, then they will save your further agonizing and give you both, plus the Yorkshire pudding with either. They are that sort of accommodating place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.8 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
11.6 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
8.3 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks

Property: The Rocks
Address: Marine Road, Dunbar EH42 1AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dunbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Rocks Hotel Dunbar
The Rocks Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing