We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than last time, service still not great...”
Review of Creel Restaurant

Creel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Dunbar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better than last time, service still not great...”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The food this time was much better than last time we visited a few years ago, but apart from that not much had changed - service still below par and still pricey for what it is.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontgomeryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    41
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellant food”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

All food freshly cooked on premises using the best of local produce. Portions are adequate and allow you to manage 3 courses unlike some other restaurants where they main course is too much and no room for a sweet.

It is a hit or miss whether there is an atmosphere as sometimes can be lacking in this area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valerie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A neglected gem”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Returned to The Creel after a bit of a break to find that they are still on form. Great food with the little extras that make it special. An excellent meal all round, and although a little pricier than other good local restaurants, it is undoubtedly better and more special in many ways.
Service was friendly and prompt, although some of the finer points were missing.
Although we visited on a Friday night it was very quiet - suited me since it was less noisy but it obviously reduces the atmosphere a bit. The quality is clearly not being appreciated locally - a neglected wee gem of a restaurant down by the harbour, serving great seafood and steak, and run by a skilled chef who cares.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food slightly let down by just adequate service.”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

It has taken us a couple of years to make our way back to The Creel after being turned away at the door previously, this time we booked!

The food was delicious, the restaurant small/intimate/refined, the service ok (perhaps they had too much to do).

Would have been a perfect evening if the welcome had matched the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobfaeDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Again Very Good but One Minor Snag, the Heating”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Yet again another excellent meal at the Creel. Although very quiet, only two other diners finishing off their dinner when we arrived, the quality of our meal, along with the great service, made up for the slight lack of atmosphere. Logan the chef / proprietor said this was not unusual at this time of year, due it seems to folk having to recover from their Christmas and New Year outlays.
Our starters which included, a selection of smoked fish, the homemade chicken liver pate and crevettes were superb. The mains, kedgeree, plaice and a very tender Aberdeen Angus rib eye were terrific. When ordering a steak one can usually expect a stack of fries but this is not the case at the Creel. Four enormous hand cut chips i.e. almost a full spud cut into quarters, were lurking under the steak itself. These were an adequate sufficiency, obviously par boiled first then fried to achieve a crispy outer skin. Cheese board at an extra couple of quid could have been a bit more generous but the cheeses themselves were to die for. Really friendly service including a Virgin Mary, a mid meal sorbet and small Sangria to finish, plus a copious amount of homemade bread. My wife was a bit disappointed that her favourite Creel dessert, panna cotta with rose water, wasn’t on the menu that night. Logan came out of the kitchen and said that next time we should phone in and request it and he’d make it, no problem. A nice touch that.
The food was excleent, the only downside, and that is why I can't score it a five, was that it was a very cold night and the heating in the restaurant wasn’t very effective. Perhaps a few more customers would have generated a little more heat? However, we have used the Creel a number of times and it remains our favourite dining place in East Lothian.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turkophileabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Creel Restaurant also viewed

Dunbar, East Lothian
 
Dunbar, East Lothian
Dunbar, East Lothian
 
Dunbar, East Lothian
Dunbar, East Lothian
 

Been to Creel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing