We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Restaurant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunbar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillside Hotel Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Dunbar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stopped off for a meal at the Hillside one Saturday evening and found it to be very busy. Can't comment on the hotel accommodation but the restaurant and quality of food was of a good standard - best described as traditional Brit food. Would suggest booking at weekends.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shuggyboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

Think hamishami was off his head we have stopped in the hillside 2 years running and it,s been very good. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and I have to say the food is very good. Well cooked and tasty. The rooms are lovely and clean. The staff very friendly and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed in the hotel for about 5 weeks. Friendly staff and clean rooms. The breakfast was good as were the evening meals.
Will stay again if I'm ever back that way.

Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H0w1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is my 8th time at the hillside for a meal, Beautiful as ever, friendly and attentive staff who cater to your every need, meal was freshly cooked and delicious! will defo be back again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jambosarah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Negatives:
Returned to the hotel to find all by bags had been removed from my room and transferred into another room by the hotel manager, and also left some of my stuff in the room (shampoo + soap ect..) which i was never returned to me.
Management did not introduce himself and was not very polite.

Positives:
Clean, warm, pleasant staff and well equipped rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Owners and staff very friendly, rooms clean,excellent shower and a good breakfast.Could do with further work on decoration, rooms are minimalist and the hotel does lack a loving touch .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les080253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The place is clean apart from the bar that really is a dump
The rooms are ok but bare and basic badly able to make a thimble of tea oh and the beds are terrible.
The food is good but takes forever to arrive the service seems to be set out wrong too
No car park
To be honest it's not a hotel it's more of a quick stop over this should be reflected in the Price we thought it was a bit pricey if they up the game they could ask for that kind of money

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunbar hotels
0 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pine Marten Lodge
Pine Marten Lodge
#3 of 6 in Dunbar
69 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
3.4 mi away
Thurston Manor
Thurston Manor
#4 of 6 in Dunbar
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel Bar and Restaurant

Address: Queen's Road, Dunbar EH42 1LA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dunbar
Price Range: £40 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dunbar, the Hillside sits in a picturesque location just two minutes walk from the centre of this popular East Lothian coastal town. Looking out to the Firth of Forth, the hotel offers fantastic sea views from fully en-suite accommodation. The hotel also features a bar and restaurant so whether it has been a hard days work or a busy day shopping and taking in the sights of East Lothian why not spend some time relaxing, enjoying a single malt (or two) and some delicious, locally sourced, freshly prepared food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Bar And Restaurant Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing