We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fruit and Cafe”

Belhaven Fruit Farm
Ranked #9 of 22 things to do in Dunbar
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Belhaven Fruit Farm, the home of IceDelight and Pick Your Own! ** New for 2013 ** The Store at Belhaven, our brilliant new farm shop and cafe with amazing IceDelight factory. Come along and help yourself to your favourite flavour and choice of wonderful toppings!IceDelight is our luxury fat-free, dairy-free and gluten-free alternative to ice cream. We've blended our home-grown Scottish fruit with an authentic Italian recipe to create a unique, luxuriously creamy dessert as healthy and tasty as real fruit. All of our five delicious flavours of strawberry, raspberry, blackcurrant, lemon and gooseberry & elderflower count towards your ‘five-a-day’ and are completely suitable for vegans. All of our flavours are available for purchase in a range of sizes at Belhaven Fruit Farm and many other establishments throughout East Lothian. Belhaven Fruit Farm also offers delicious mouth watering PYO strawberries grown under cover at waist height. No more bending or sore backs, so come along and bring all the family. We also offer blackcurrants, gooseberries and blackberries as well as a fantastic farm Shop and cafe with outdoor seating area and children's play park. There is also ample car parking and easy disabled access. Here at Belhaven Fruit Farm we think that our fruit tastes best when it's fresh off the plant and warm from the sun; we would love you to come down to Belhaven Fruit Farm and see just how tasty fresh fruit can be!
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The fruit is exceptional. The cafe has fantastic coffee / teas with great food.
The shop sells lovely frozen foods and deserts. There is lots of other items for sale in the shop / cafe. If your passing just stop off and have a tea / coffee and cake etc. you'll enjoy your stop.
You can look through the goods on sale and you might be temped to buy

1  Thank rarneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFFmanagement, Manager at Belhaven Fruit Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the fruit farm and The Store.

We had a fantastic fruit season thanks to the weather and support from visitors like you!

Please note that The Store is still open throughout the winter months for teas, coffees, light lunches and the supper club!

Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"strawberries"
in 16 reviews
"play area"
in 5 reviews
"cakes"
in 5 reviews
"pick your own"
in 2 reviews
"strawberry season"
in 2 reviews
"coffee and cake"
in 2 reviews
"east lothian"
in 2 reviews
"punnet"
in 6 reviews
"shop"
in 13 reviews
"cafe"
in 17 reviews
"consistency"
in 2 reviews
"belhaven"
in 6 reviews
Filter

55 - 59 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great deli and takeaway food and the kids enjoyed the playground even though they are a bit old for them now. Would recommend to anyone.

2  Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFFmanagement, Manager at Belhaven Fruit Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hi Stuart,

Thank you for your fantastic 5* review!

We're delighted you enjoyed your visit so much and hope to see you again soon.

Please note that The Store is still open throughout the winter months.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Thank goodness this greasy spoon cafe (THE STORE@ BELHAVEN) has been transformed by new management into a lovely shop / cafe with improved playground outside and nice play area for small children in cafe.
Shops stocks 'cook' frozen ready meals - all freshly cooked and freeze-dried so no additives and preservatives. Also a range of posh condiments and fresh fruit and veg.
New cafe is beautifilly fitted out and nicely designed. They do 'tart' of the day, soup, etc - see the menu on their website. Products are either home-baked or using the 'cook' range of meals and I had goats cheese and red pepper tart - really good with potato and green salad. Kids sandwiches good and lots of nice touches - think of country kitchen style. Play area in cafe has tv in wall with dvds such as fireman sam playing, aprons, till and play shop with play fruit and veg and various other bits and pieces.
Service was good - welcoming and friendly. Outside play area improved with additional see-saw, sandpit etc as well as pre-existing climbing frame.

Thank Fiona62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFFmanagement, Manager at Belhaven Fruit Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hello Fiona,

Thank you for leaving us such a fantastic 5* review!

We're delighted you enjoyed your visit to the new shop and cafe.

The owners of The Store - Trish and Sandy - have young children and appreciate how important it is to entertain little visitors!

Please note that the Store is open right the way through the winter and has lots of craft classes and activities for little kids (and big kids!) too.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Really impressed by this cafe. I stop here every week on the long drive down the A1. It's right off the roundabout (without a detour) and perfectly timed for toilets (clean and no queues) and coffee (a proper expresso - no instant here) midway between Edinburgh and the border, but with the added temptations of all this fresh stuff - strawberries picked that morning, homemade jam, sorbets made from fruit from the farm, home baking and local cider. Parking is right next to the cafe, and they can handle bigger vehicles like trailers and campervans.

1  Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFFmanagement, Manager at Belhaven Fruit Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hi Angie,

Thanks for your fab 5* review.

We're delighted that you find The Store at Belhaven Fruit Farm so convenient.

Thanks for your support and we hope you continue to visit The Store on your travels!

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Traveling the long stretch of the a1 I found myself hungry, as I approached the round about I noticed out the corner of my eye cafe open, as I pulled into the large carpark I was met with super views and a beautifully presented seating area with a child's park. As I entered the cafe I was greeted by the staff that made me feel right at home. So much choice on the menu and a excellent variety of meals, snacks and deserts. I had the fresh fish chips &veg + 1tea or coffee included. DELICIOUS!!! Best fish and chips in a very long time. Cheap as chips to at just £6.95. Definitely be back! Thanks for filling me up guys!

1  Thank ChesterMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFFmanagement, Manager at Belhaven Fruit Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hello there,

Thanks for such a fantastic 5* review.

We're delighted to hear you found The Store to be good value for money, welcoming and child-friendly.

The Store is open right the way through the winter months so please be sure to pop in for a warming coffee or a hot bowl of soup on your travels!

Many thanks and hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belhaven Fruit Farm also viewed

 
Dunbar, East Lothian
 

Been to Belhaven Fruit Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing