We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week and a very pleasant stay.The room was small but spotlessly clean.The staff very good indeed.Couple of points the car park is very small.The bar was closed at 10.30pm.

They dis serve an unusual beer Belhaven black which was first class

The boiler broke and the staff were very apologetic. The breakfast was excellent

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DrWhoStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    80
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
31
88
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have stopped of for our lunch on the way south the welcome fom the staff is excellent our one small complaint is the bar could do with the heating on on opening but to there credit it was put up immediately the lunch we had was very nice the service was good and the two girls on we're very polite. Overall this small hotel has a lot going for it and I would recommend if you are passing the area it is worth a try .

Room Tip: Poached egg with asparagus starter really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The car park can fit four or five cars therefore I was late arriving and had to park on the road; you must move your car early to avoid a parking ticket as there is street parking charges. Not all of the staff is friendly and attentive and it was like playing hide and seek with them. The room was cold; the heater did not work and the wooden windows are rotten and cannot close properly. Dinner was reasonable the fish cake starter was out of a package not home made; the salad was bland and browning. The main courdse came with overcooked greasy chips. In the morning I waiting 45 minutes I ordered breakfast; it eventually came and it included one small cup of cold coffee. The lady that served it was more interested in reading a magazine and did not engage when I requested some hot coffee. Not a place I will come back to or recommend to anyone.
Overall you would be more comfortable staying in a stable or a barn with a take away.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We took my father and my husband's mother, both in their 80s, to the Royal Mackintosh for an overnight stay and dinner. First impressions were that the staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was large, warm and had a big en suite with a shower and a marvellous view of the sea. Toiletries and tooth kits were provided along with tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits. The other two rooms were a bit smaller but equally comfortable. Dinner was excellent. The sea bass was delicious as was the belly pork. The vegetables were perfectly cooked and all was very nicely presented. The portions were generous but not too much. The sticky toffee pudding was delicious. The bar staff were very friendly and would let us sample a drink before choosing. The choice was vast and I hadn't heard of some of the drinks on offer so this was very helpful. Breakfast was excellent and there was something for everyone - cereal, juices, full fry up including Stornoway black pudding, haggis, mushrooms, beans, eggs, bacon and two types of sausage. There was also smoked fish and eggs any way you like them. All this was served up in the wood panelled dining room - very nice. We were there not to judge decor or find minor faults but to enjoy ourselves and have good food and that is exactly what we did. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone as its location is ideal (next to station and close to main street and sea) and the staff could not have been nicer. We'll definitely go back, maybe in summer.

Room Tip: Room 11 had fabulous view and was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodlover48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
219 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at the Royal MacKintosh on an Itison deal and from check in to check out everything was great. The bedrooms whilst in need of refurbishment are clean and comfortable
The dinner menu is extensive and the dining experiences were very enjoyable with well prepared food served by pleasant, well trained staff. Special compliments to the chef.
The hotel provides an ideal location for golfers with the famous Dunbar course a couple of minutes away and the two top quality courses at North Berwick within a 20 minute drive. The train station for the main East Coast line is just across the road from the hotel.
Don't be put off by any negative reviews for, although there can be no arguement that the bedrooms need a bit of attention this is reflected in the price you pay and the excellent food and staff more than make up for the weaker points. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
145 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I want to be fair whilst reviewing our Sunday lunch at this establishment. I do believe that choices from the menu play a vital part and sometimes you can get it wrong. My significant other had an enjoyable meal of Cullen Skink followed by Sea Bass and coffee. Whereas, I stupidly stuck to the "old faithfuls" of Prawn Cocktail and the special of Roast Beef. The Prawn Cocktail had neither smell or taste and was so disappointing I only ate a few morsels of it, usually I can finish a Prawn Cocktail anywhere, even the bed of salad leaves were screaming out for help. The Roast Beef was ok, nothing out of the ordinary, the sprouts were toooooo underdone and bounced around the plate, the roast potatoes were the frozen variety and over cooked. The Yorkie, well I did eat, but only because by this stage I was pretty hungry. So as you can see have tried to be fair, sadly honest too. There are lots of eating places on the coast of East Lothian and Dunbar boasts more than its fair share, unfortunately this isn't one of the better ones

Room Tip: Sorry can't help as we didn't book for a stay so please ignore the sleep quality (I can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Winnie46Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Just returned from a family meal (6) . We were lucky enough to have bought the meal through itison only £9 a head for 2 courses and a glass of wine exceleent value everything was spot on . Will definately watch for more offers but would be happy to pay full price as was reasonable ,

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megc1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.2 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
426 reviews
9.6 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
307 reviews
8.9 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
204 reviews
12.2 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mackintosh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mackintosh Hotel

Property: Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Address: Station Road, Dunbar EH42 1JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Mackintosh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Royal Mackintosh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mackintosh Hotel Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing