We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bar Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This review is just about the bar. I had a few drinks and a very good meal in the bar. The food was good and there was a good selection of beer. There was a deal were you got the meal and a pint at a very reasonable price. Good atmosphere in the bar, they have large TV screen and I watch a live football game.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank UK_Travel_Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just returned from a long weekend in Dunbar. We were on a visit to see Edinburgh but prefer to stay away from the hustle of the city - and the price of hotels there. Never been to Dunbar before but we loved it - not a lot there but if you like rugged coastline and small harbour towns, we would recommend it. The hotel was a gem, not perfect but really good. Appears to be run by a team of hard-worked young girls - check in, breakfast, bar-tending and the cleaning all seems to be down to them - quite impressed. Huge bed, good view and free parking. Breakfast also good and all for much less than you'd pay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

After a tour of Belhaven Brewery we were booked in for lunch here. We were told there would be a set menu & were surprised to find we were given a choice. Soup to start followed by Vegetarian Haggis, Red Pepper & Leek Lattice, Steak Pie or Lasagne. The food was delicious & plates were hot which gets bonus points from our chef! The service was great & when we were finished the man serving (who I think is a co-owner) was happy to speak to us. Everybody was happy & left feeling full. Huge thank you for helping to make our staff party so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The staff were very friendly and attentive from the moment I arrived - which was late, dark and cold!
I was still able to have a delicious choice of food in the bar and was offered a selection of local drinks to try before buying.
Room was clean and homely, and I wish I'd known the selection of toiletries would be so extensive - would have avoided airport security issues!
The full Scottish breakfast is delicious, served in the historic dining room.
Location is excellent for Dunbar and surrounding area. Really close to the station too, if that's what you need.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choppette2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We arrived in Dunbar on a very rainy Friday afternoon. We had booked a three night stay at a local camp site, but when we got to Dunbar it was so wet and windy that we couldn't put our tent up and had to look for alternative accommodation. The first place we looked at was The Royal Mackintosh hotel on the high street. We booked on a double room for two nights. The room was beautiful and from our huge bay window we could see a view of the sea. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The bath room was decorated beautifully and the huge bath was a welcome sight as we'd been drenched outside. The room was fully equipped with tv, coffee making facilities and lovely plush warm towels. As we didn't know Dunbar very well we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant and the good service and quality continued to impress us. The food was great, good size portions and hearty puddings. Would definitely stay here again. Dunbar itself is a beautiful little fishing town too and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missannenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had dinner recently at the Royal Mackintosh and enjoyed it so much that we decided to have lunch the following week. The fish and chips are paticularly good, very crisp and not at all greasy.
The dining room is very nice and the staff are very pleasant and helpful.
We live locally and plan to visit regularly in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

For travellers and locals alike they do an excellent breakfast at a reasonable price.
My wife and I have breakfast out often and have sampled most of the offerings in Dunbar and we both agree that theirs is the best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.5 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
315 reviews
9.6 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
13.5 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
367 reviews
9.5 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mackintosh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mackintosh Hotel

Address: Station Road, Dunbar EH42 1JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range: £63 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Mackintosh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Mackintosh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mackintosh Hotel Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing