We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a makeover,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The room was not pleasant, the bathroom was very worn down. There was a hatch in the bathroom ceiling, no idea where it went!! The shower was horrible and the Lino on the floor made me feel like I should be wearing shoes!! The artwork in the room looked like it had been done by a 2 year old and the windows were not well sealed so you could hear the main road. The TV was tiny and he heating went off at 11. I had to get dressed and go down to the bar to find someone to complain to. It was freezing and it wasn't even that cold outside. This seems to be more of a workmans place. Walked into the bar and they all starred. The food wasn't great either, very stodgy. Wifi only works in the bar so don't expect to do any work in the evenings in your room.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Lucinda_lay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed with my daughter for a short break and cannot fault the staff and management for their customer service. The food is really good , the rooms spacious and clean and the sun was shining what more could you want.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edinburgh_Family000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We arrived after a 9 hr trip from Milton Keynes by car. They made us so welcome nothing was to much for them and the room, clean comfy and just lovely. Great view, great food, great people and all that only for 80.00 incl. full Scottish breakfast. Brilliant bargain not to be missed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed one night and couldn't park due to limited parking at the hotel and I parked 200 meters away at the roadside not the best start. It is more of a b&b than a hotel with the rooms sparsely furnished and on the small side. There was no bath due to the limited size and wifi downstairs in the bar only. I had need to return for my coat and went to the wrong room yet my key opened the door a "bit disconcerting". I was woken at 03:00 am by the guest next door having his TV playing not overly load but enough to stop me getting back of to sleep. On the positive side the staff were helpful and polite and the bar was busy with a good atmosphere. A good hotel for any one working in the area but not for a businessman needing email,photocopier etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed just one night and just turned up at reception to get a room. It's was the last room available and the hotel staff and manager couldn't be more accommodating and welcoming to me.
My room was huge, with a comfortable double bed with a nice bathroom.The WIFI excellent reception in the bar area by weak signal in the rooms but it was free.Complementary tea and coffee and toiletries in the room was most welcome.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent and a wide varied choice with everything I ordered perfectly cooked.
Would definitely recommend a stay here .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveed_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in January with my wife . Was greeted by a young girl who had the can't be bothered atitude to busy talking to a young man. The food was good but could be presented a bit better salad was with everything Rooms where clean and well presented bar is tiny but cosy. To me felt as if the staff where overworked as was fairly busy and could only see one girl serving in the evening .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Geordiebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This review is just about the bar. I had a few drinks and a very good meal in the bar. The food was good and there was a good selection of beer. There was a deal were you got the meal and a pint at a very reasonable price. Good atmosphere in the bar, they have large TV screen and I watch a live football game.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank UK_Travel_Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.2 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
491 reviews
9.6 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
321 reviews
12.2 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
13.5 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mackintosh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mackintosh Hotel

Address: Station Road, Dunbar EH42 1JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range: £68 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Mackintosh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Royal Mackintosh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mackintosh Hotel Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing