We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good wee hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Mackintosh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
442 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Good wee hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights and found the hotel to be very welcoming and the staff very friendly. Only had breakfast which was very nice. The rooms were a bit on the small side and the there was no bath. Wifi needs a bit of work due to the age of the building. The bar was very good and has an excellent whisky collection.

Look forward to going back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    79
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
28
83
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gosforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for only one night , but the staff could not have been more welcoming. I was with a group of fellow cyclists and we all felt the same. Two of our group were running late and the hotel even offered to go and find them and bring them to the hotel. The restarant food was very good and the same goes for the breakfast.the rooms were large and the beds were very comfortable. I would stay again. Thanks the lot

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coraddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

i booked this break for my parents and they thought it was well worth the price. My mum took not well and the staff couldnt have been any more helpful.. The room was clean and comfortable. They even stayed an extra night. On the hotel! which again was nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The room was not pleasant, the bathroom was very worn down. There was a hatch in the bathroom ceiling, no idea where it went!! The shower was horrible and the Lino on the floor made me feel like I should be wearing shoes!! The artwork in the room looked like it had been done by a 2 year old and the windows were not well sealed so you could hear the main road. The TV was tiny and he heating went off at 11. I had to get dressed and go down to the bar to find someone to complain to. It was freezing and it wasn't even that cold outside. This seems to be more of a workmans place. Walked into the bar and they all starred. The food wasn't great either, very stodgy. Wifi only works in the bar so don't expect to do any work in the evenings in your room.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucinda_lay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed with my daughter for a short break and cannot fault the staff and management for their customer service. The food is really good , the rooms spacious and clean and the sun was shining what more could you want.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburgh_Family000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We arrived after a 9 hr trip from Milton Keynes by car. They made us so welcome nothing was to much for them and the room, clean comfy and just lovely. Great view, great food, great people and all that only for 80.00 incl. full Scottish breakfast. Brilliant bargain not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed one night and couldn't park due to limited parking at the hotel and I parked 200 meters away at the roadside not the best start. It is more of a b&b than a hotel with the rooms sparsely furnished and on the small side. There was no bath due to the limited size and wifi downstairs in the bar only. I had need to return for my coat and went to the wrong room yet my key opened the door a "bit disconcerting". I was woken at 03:00 am by the guest next door having his TV playing not overly load but enough to stop me getting back of to sleep. On the positive side the staff were helpful and polite and the bar was busy with a good atmosphere. A good hotel for any one working in the area but not for a businessman needing email,photocopier etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.2 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
9.6 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
8.9 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
12.2 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mackintosh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mackintosh Hotel

Property: Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Address: Station Road, Dunbar EH42 1JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Mackintosh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Mackintosh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mackintosh Hotel Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing