We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just the job”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It's hard to say why this hotel is good but whatever it is it works. The staff are friendly, the room was good, breakfast was superb and nothing seemed a problem if one occurred. It could do with maybe a tidy up but in general staying here was as pleasant as it could get and we will do again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian0463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    79
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
31
85
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Loved staying here! Fantastic huge room, comfy big bed, huge sofa, nice big picture windows. Slight criticism that windows couldn't open very far but not a problem. Spotless bathroom, plenty of toiletries and towels. Friendly young staff, nothing was too much to ask, really nice atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious, lovely big portion of Scottish cooked breakfast and plenty of toast and coffee all served with a smile and friendly chat. Good location. Lots of take aways and restaurants for convenient meal options right round the corner on main street. On-site parking. I would DEFINITELY stay there again! Well worth the money!

Room Tip: choose a room at front of hotel, massive room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrem511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed for one night in August whilst visiting a friend for their 50th birthday party. We arrived and found a space in the car park and were welcomed by a lot of guests sitting outside enjoying the sunsine is a spacious area. The bedroom was nothing special but the bed was good sized and the room was clean and equipted with everything we needed. The en-suite bathroom was surprising big. The service was good and the bar had a good selection of beers and whiskys! Breakfast was not a rush and was very good, porridge with fresh raspberries and a raspberry jus, the cooked breakfast was also very good. The hotel was full and all guests seemed to be happy. Its very close to the railway station but we weren't distrubed by any noise from this. Its also a good position to 'old' Dunbar town and the seafront is 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stopped over on our way to Tongue as it's a good halfway point. The hotel is easy to find but parking is quite restricted. Dunbar is quite pleasant with several eating places - we ended up at the Central Cafe which is good value for money.
The hotel is quite old and it shows in places but it is clean and our room at the back was quiet.
The receptionist took us up to the room and was most helpful regarding advice on car parking.
Breakfast was very good and filling.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnboy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

i stayed here with my partner for one night as we were attending a wedding, when making my booking i asked for a double room however there was no availability but they could make a small room into a double for us and offered me a £10 deduction, which was very good of them. i also phoned the day before and asked if we could check in early which was not a problem, the staff and customer service i received was great.

when i arrived at the hotel the check in was swift and i was shown to our room, the room was up a flight of stairs, a long a corridor, down some stair and along another corridor, i was not offered a hand with luggage, the receptionist even stopped to wait on me as i struggled.

the room was fine, had all the expected amenities, however there were greasy head marks on the walls above the headboard, the bathroom looked very tired, and the bed was the worst i have ever slept in! in fact sleep would have been a luxury, i also, in the middle of breakfast service had to ask a waitress ( the only person i could find) for toilet roll for our room, slightly embarrassing!

the food was lovely and the staff friendly, the hotel could focus on the smaller details to improve the overall stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank victoria n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our ladies group arranged to have our evening meal here after our visit to Berwick Upon Tweed on Saturday the 7th June. From the original enquiry to the day of the event we couldn't fault any of the staff or service.
Of the 40 + who enjoyed their 2 course meal, followed by tea or coffee, it was only praise, with no complaints. This is a first - after a wide variety of venues and locations in over 20 years - Thank you all at the Royal Mackintosh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely looking establishment, friendly receptionist took me straight yo my room, I did think she didn't explain much too me about my stay etc, but went to my room quickly (room 18) it was pretty basic looking, clean, fresh linen and towels which was good. Lack of toilet roll though, only 1/3 of a toilet roll available, no back up either which is poor. Carpet was a bit grubby, I'm sure some carpet cleaner could make it look better. Wifi did not work in this room at all which was highly annoying as needed to do emails. The tv aerial was a nightmare, fraying at the connection, struggled to get decent picture. Mattress was thin and you could feel the springs. So rant over on the room. In the morning, greeted again by the friendly receptionist who helped me out getting on the wifi in the bar area, served me up a delicious Scottish breakfast which was one of the best cooked breakfasts I'd ever had. Overall I had to mark it as average, maybe I was unfortunate to get a tired room, staff are lovely, room 18 needs a make over.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.2 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
9.6 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
13.5 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
8.9 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mackintosh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mackintosh Hotel

Property: Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Address: Station Road, Dunbar EH42 1JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Mackintosh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Royal Mackintosh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mackintosh Hotel Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing