We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fifth visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Marten

Pine Marten
Ranked #14 of 34 Restaurants in Dunbar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fifth visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Being our 5th time at the Pine Marten should tell you that I enjoy coming here, friendly service Julie makes you feel very welcome, the food is good (really like the steak burger) we will be/are regulars here as it is very good value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DunbarSelfDefence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie2203, Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and the great feedback ! We look forward to your next visit . Julie & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    125
    81
    49
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Me my partner and 5 kids were just in tonight and I must take my hat off to the staff.food was lovley service was excellent and arrived very fast.kids had puddings and I tell you great value for money.we will defo be back as we live locally keep up the good work guys and the young members of staff are a credit to the place.
thanks for a great meal x

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Berrybishbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie2203, Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Pine Marten .We look forward to your return . Julie & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to visit with kids / family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We visited the Pine Marten during a visit to Eyemouth while we were staying with family / catching up with friends. We were two families (we had a newborn). The restaurant was quiet so we chose a table with no one else around in case baby cried! The friendly staff helped to position chairs to safely sit the car seat with sleeping baby! The menu is extensive for a pub chain - certainly something for everyone and we ordered a mixture off the regular menu and the specials board. I had the veg and goats cheese welly which was lovely but the veg needed some gravy as was a bit dry on its own. The Irish cream cheesecake was delicious though! Everyone enjoyed their food and even a fire alarm requiring a few minutes outside didn't ruin the evening.
The service was impeccable and we would definitely return. It's perfect for such a family meal out or if we visit Edinburgh we would stop on the way back I am sure. The management have certainly created a homely feel - don't be put off by it being a chain.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngHogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie2203, Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks taking the time to review the Pine Marten we are pleased you enjoyed your visit .
Hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Myself and my family are becoming regulars there:-) Lunch times and nights, we were there last night again for my friends twin girls birthday dinner. It's a great family friendly restaurant/pub, food is good, atmosphere is good, service is good and nice friendly staff! Not had a bad experience, can't fault it at all. Great place to have nearby:-))

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicdunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie2203, Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for your encouraging comments . We look forward to your next visit . Julie & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milford haven,west wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Sunday lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Excellent Sunday lunch , one of the best ,staff very helpful , excellent location just off the A1 , with lots of parking

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andyhay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie2203, Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review .
Hope to see yoy soon .
Julie & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pine Marten also viewed

 
Dunbar, East Lothian
Dunbar, East Lothian
 

Been to Pine Marten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing