We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - friendly owners and amazing breakfast!”

Springfield Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunbar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Springfield Guest House
Ranked #4 of 6 Dunbar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely large bedroom - ours was ensuite but others weren't so if that's important check before booking. A 10-15 mins flat walk from Dunbar high street where there are some nice galleries and we can recommend the Cantonese restaurant. Large cooked breakfast and lots of choice of cereals etc. The owners were very welcoming and it is a lovely property to stay in. Olde worlde with lots of interesting photographs and pictures, we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are ensuite. Rooms at the back have a lovely view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Had a very pleasant one-night stay here, topped off by a superb breakfast. I hadn't realised it was shared bathrooms, but it worked out fine. The owners were very accommodating for those of us who needed an earlier breakfast to get to our day's activities in time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caluna-gl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and this was our latest visit for a weekends diving.
This is a lovely family home with great hospitality,, topped off by a fabulous breakfast. Good value too.
The only problem is you are often fully booked so it can be difficult to get in Joy ! :-)
I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Dunbar given the choice.
On Facebook as well

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffB1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

On our cycling journey from newcastle to edinbrugh this was our second stop. We turned up early no one in, but that was my fault so we decided to buy some beer n sit out the back, what a stunning building with a huge sun trap garden. Rooms were basic, clean but very comfortable. 1/2 mile to Dunbar Main Street pubs, n everthing u need to feed your face. Quiet good nights sleep, water always piping hot nice lounge area for our party of 6 to sit, owners lovely people let us fetch food n drink in as long as we recycled. Brekky, fresh fruit cereal full cooked,, but no tinned toms again god I'm terrible. Just love tinned toms

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 6inarowFTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here with old friends meeting up for a girlie reunion. Joy and Richard have run Springfield for many years now and their experience shows; everything has been thought of.

Lovely room overlooking rear walled garden, spotless en suite with soft towels and plenty of complimentary soap and shampoo. Very comfortable bed with electric blanket (although not needed as room was toasty warm despite cold outside temps). As one who likes to read in bed before nodding off I'm invariably frustrated by the dismal bedside lighting in many B&B's. Springfield's bedside lights were bright and well-positioned!

I didn't avail myself of the cooked breakfast but there was a wide array of other items on offer - fresh fruit salad, cereals, bread/toast/rolls, home-made preserves, freshly brewed tea/coffee and freshly pressed apple juice from the orchard behind the house. Easy to see why Springfield has earned a Healthy Living Award for the fare they offer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieAgnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank evelyne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer nach hinten heraus sind etwas ruhiger, denn vor dem Haus sind in der Nähe Bushaltestellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Springfield, Owner at Springfield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.9 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,320 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Guest House

Address: Belhaven Road, Dunbar EH42 1NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dunbar
Price Range: £27 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Springfield Guest House Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing