We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled booking by the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayswell Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cancelled booking by the hotel”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

After booking this hotel a year in advance to ensure I had accommodation for the open golf at Muirfied.I received a phone call to inform me that the £60 I had agreed to pay through Laterooms had now increased to £175 per night,as they had not realised the golf was on 20miles along the coast.To treat a genuine guest at this hotel in this manner is totally despicable and only amounts to sheer greed by the hotel management.I was not alone and other guests suffered the same treatment after Laterooms made investigations into the treatment metered out by the staff.Do not even consider walking through the doors of this establishment if this is the manner they treat paying guests,let's not forget you are not getting any more for your £175 than you are for your £60,as soon as the golf is over the price is back to £60 When bookings are made they should honour the booking .They then had the oudacity to inform me they had booked me into another hotel down the road for £60.After many conversations with hotel receptionist they could not give me an answer to the decision to charge extra,needless to say the manager did not have the decency to speak to me on the phone he got his staff to do the dirty work.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel they don't care about guests only money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    113
    65
    57
    41
See reviews for
69
244
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

first the good... location. beautiful view.
the bad:
room- very big and yet felt claustrophobic. filthy paintwork and walls, dingy carpet, generally very dated. the bathroom was almost too narrow to walk in, the bath had mould and the sink was broken. toilet right next to the radiator. nice!
the breakfast service was odd, we were asked what we wanted, basically anything. the server was very odd and rather snippy as we came down about 20 mins before breakfast was over. we only asked for porridge and toast; could have done some work on the exterior with the porridge!
overall, if you think of fawlty towers, but make it dirtier and dingier, then you have the bayswell.
could be so much better.
staff at the front desk were pleasant however.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank frater93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunbar hotels

greenock
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed here on 15th August 2012 and have to say that this is the worst hotel I have ever been in - dark, dingy, not too clean and the although the bathroom looked as if it had been modernised and upgraded, the jacuzzi bath had no bathplug in it so could not be used. Breakfast was okay but we couldn't get away fast enough as it is not as described on their website!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

First the future; I was told that the hotel has a new owner and would be totally refurbished from top to bottom. They had started in one bedroom during my stay.
The good; The restaurant is lovely (except for the wooden floors and chairs which made a right racket when you moved away from the table). It overlooks the sea with enormous windows/doors. The food was of a very high standard, although the breakfast left something to be desired. The location is amazing, with views across the bay and Bass Rock in the distance. The staff were really chatty and courteous, and made my stay welcoming.
The bad; At present the bedrooms are in a sorry state and much in need of updating, which will soon happen, hopefully. The television required a degree in electronics to find the correct channel that the Freeview unit was broadcasting on. This had to be done evry time I switched the TV on, most annoying. The shower over the bath was at a height that meant I had to bend down to get my head wet, and I am only small, no good for Peter Crouch!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the sea, giving stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband and I went to this hotel for our anniversary as on the website it said it had recently been upgraded. The hotel room did have a new carpet, however the wallpaper was hanging off the wall , it was dark and dingy. The bathroom was disgusting and it smelt dreadful. The cleaners had certainly not done their job in this room!! On the plus side the hotel is situated in a really good place with gorgeous views but to me I think it needs shut down and major funds invested in it.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Good size rooms,great showers, decent breakfast, stunning views of the sea, close to town centre and friendly staff. Hotel looks like it's seen better days but with new owners moving in it may get a new lease of life.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.7 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
9.1 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
204 reviews
20.2 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
11.7 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayswell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayswell Park Hotel

Property: Bayswell Park Hotel
Address: 16 Bayswell Park, Dunbar EH42 1AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayswell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Bayswell Hotel we have 19 bedrooms, all en-suite, a mixture of double, single, twin and family rooms; most rooms are with sea view. Room rates include a full breakfast. All rooms have TV and free-view. Our restaurant looks on to the Firth of Forth. We have a great menu which changes regularly and regularly have special offers on our bar or restaurant menu. WI-Fi is available in parts of the hotel e.g. bar and certain rooms. We have a large beer garden which looks onto the sea. Perfect in the summer time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Bayswell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayswell Hotel Dunbar
Bayswell Park Hotel Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing