We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bayswell Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We arrived late Saturday afternoon during the open, and due to a mistake completely of our own making we weren't actually booked in for the night. However, the staff at reception were very helpful and gave us their last room at normal rates instead of The Open rates due to the lateness of our arrival. The room was bright and clean and very comfortable. We then had to leave very early the next day, and even though we were an hour and a bit early for any breakfast we were very kindly offered tea or coffee before we left. If I had to say anything negative, I would say the decor was a little dated, however it did look like some decoration was taking place in the hotel. This certainly wouldn't put us off returning-great location and fabulously friendly staff!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and accommodated our bicycles in their garage. Breakfast was nothing flash but all you need. A very good basic hotel for a short stopover. Happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Such a shame as owner has obviously tried to update place but would have been better to spend money on cleaning and fixtures rather than spa bath which wasn't very clean, old fashioned furniture and towels which were yellow when they should have been white. No remote for TV, dirty windows didn't help. That said, breakfast was ok and bed linen new.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suek94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My wife and 3yr old daughter had an overnight stay at the Bayswell Hotel. First impressions were promising. Externally the hotel looked lovely from the outside, we also had anexcellent welcoming from a male member of staff.

Our rooms were poor: Child bed was horrific. Leaky shower and urine stains under the toilet seat.

This hotel is not for families. My daughter and I got woken up at 1.30am by a drunk couple outside our room having a conversation for half an hour. There was also what appeared to be empty gas cannisters in the beer garden which is a shame as this area was the highlight of the hotel. The view to the sea was outstanding.

We had to wait for 50 mins for our breakfast to arrive which they got the order wrong and the quality of food itself was disgusting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We spent 3 nights in room 1,which has superb views over the Firth of Forth and Bass rock. Easy access to the John Muir Way,town centre and a Golf Course.Traditional food in the restaurant was well cooked from fresh ingredients( steak and fish very good), and the breakfast was good ( I had a good choice of cereal,fruit and scrambled eggs with the addition of Haggis to the usual). The staff were superb both friendly and helpful.There have clearly been recent changes and the future plans are ambitious and exciting.I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Top floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We didn't stay here, we had lunch here today, six of us - 3 couples. The first thing we noticed was that everything was BROWN! The bar was brown, brown walls, brown curtains, brown seats ditto the restaurant (although the view out of the window was wonderful) and the lounge was also mostly brown. The menu was unexciting but at least they didn't serve Nachos! Never eat where they serve Nachos! 3 of us had fish and chips. Chips proper cut potatoes, not extruded, but the fish was not fresh, it was very dry. Steak pie and vegetables like school dinners. I had a burger that you could have stunned a sheep with. Only good point - lovely chocolate tart but I suspect it was "bought in". What a waste of a superb site overlooking the sea. Shame, shame, shame!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Desperata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

room super great view bed comfortable and staff very helpful. Evening meal good well cooked and tasty. Breakfast was the opposite. Menu had fruit apricots/prunes no sign of these! Cereal only cocopops, not a good choice for a 67 yr old! The cooked breakfast was adequate (as suggested by other reviewers) but dont have the scrambled egg!

All in all would we visit again? Yes but definitely eat else where

Room Tip: no lift but our room was quite big and had an amazing view (11)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nforia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.7 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
9.1 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
18.4 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate
Kilconquhar Castle Estate
#1 of 1 in Kilconquhar
540 reviews
9 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayswell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayswell Park Hotel

Address: 16 Bayswell Park, Dunbar EH42 1AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range: £70 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayswell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Bayswell Hotel we have 19 bedrooms, all en-suite, a mixture of double, single, twin and family rooms; most rooms are with sea view. Room rates include a full breakfast. All rooms have TV and free-view. Our restaurant looks on to the Firth of Forth. We have a great menu which changes regularly and regularly have special offers on our bar or restaurant menu. WI-Fi is available in parts of the hotel e.g. bar and certain rooms. We have a large beer garden which looks onto the sea. Perfect in the summer time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayswell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayswell Hotel Dunbar
Bayswell Park Hotel Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing