We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible room, friendly staff and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bayswell Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrible room, friendly staff and good food”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

There appears to be quite a difference in the reviews on this hotel, which seem to be based on room type.....avoid the single rooms at all costs. While I don't mind basic, I expect a comfortable bed and a decent shower, particularly at £79 per night, neither of which I got. This 'newly renovated room' had peeling wallpaper on one side and plaster showing through the very inadequate painted wall on the other, there were burns on the carpet and in general the furniture was a bit flimsy. The floor of the room is uneven, dipping into the centre of the room, which makes you feel as if you are going to fall out of bed. The bathroom was atrocious....the suite was very old, the shower was a trickle, you had to choose between heat or power...I complained about this, they said they fixed it but they hadn't. Also attempts at renovation in the bathroom was fitting the old green toilet with a 'new' white seat, the lid of which would not stay up. The thing that i really couldn't believe however, was the lack of a cooked breakfast on a SUNDAY......I was not told this when the room was booked or when I checked in......and I find this beyond belief, particularly as there was no reduction in room price for lack of decent breakfast. While the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the cooked food, when you did manage to get some, was very good, the hotel is badly let down by terrible state of the significantly over priced single rooms. If I had paid half the price I would have said I got what I paid for, but at £79 a night, it was daylight robbery.

Room Tip: Avoid room 16 at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    115
    67
    58
    42
See reviews for
72
257
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I would agree with most of the comments here. This hotel has the most splendid views from the sea facing bedrooms but my single room was very basic and lacked charm. The breakfast was on the scanty side and did not have all the options listed on the menu. The towels were thin and there seems to be one hair dryer for everybody!!!! Apart from this the staff were cheery and welcoming.

Room Tip: choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slamlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was a very last minute booking and from the initial conversation to our departure the staff were excellent, very professional and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and they found us a hair dryer and an umbrella!!
The hotel location is stunning and our room had the most wonderful sea view through big bay windows.
We had dinner in the hotel on our first night, with a table by the window. The food and service were very good.
Had we been asked on departure if we had enjoyed our stay I would have said yes very much, with two constructive comments:
1. the cleaner did not replace the toiletries or loo roll and I had to go and search out my own.
2. breakfast on the second day was very disappointing, even though they knew we were vegetarian and provided veggie sausages the first morning they had run out. That would have been ok if they had provided an extra egg or more mushrooms but they did not.
I would like to have been able to give 5*'s as the management and staff are really trying to make this hotel work. I liked the slightly old fashioned feel to the hotel and the atmosphere was very good, the staff work really hard and obviously enjoy working there.

Room Tip: Book early and get a sea view. Even though we were told ours did not have a view it did which was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PolandYourWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We arrived late Saturday afternoon during the open, and due to a mistake completely of our own making we weren't actually booked in for the night. However, the staff at reception were very helpful and gave us their last room at normal rates instead of The Open rates due to the lateness of our arrival. The room was bright and clean and very comfortable. We then had to leave very early the next day, and even though we were an hour and a bit early for any breakfast we were very kindly offered tea or coffee before we left. If I had to say anything negative, I would say the decor was a little dated, however it did look like some decoration was taking place in the hotel. This certainly wouldn't put us off returning-great location and fabulously friendly staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and accommodated our bicycles in their garage. Breakfast was nothing flash but all you need. A very good basic hotel for a short stopover. Happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Such a shame as owner has obviously tried to update place but would have been better to spend money on cleaning and fixtures rather than spa bath which wasn't very clean, old fashioned furniture and towels which were yellow when they should have been white. No remote for TV, dirty windows didn't help. That said, breakfast was ok and bed linen new.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suek94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunbar hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My wife and 3yr old daughter had an overnight stay at the Bayswell Hotel. First impressions were promising. Externally the hotel looked lovely from the outside, we also had anexcellent welcoming from a male member of staff.

Our rooms were poor: Child bed was horrific. Leaky shower and urine stains under the toilet seat.

This hotel is not for families. My daughter and I got woken up at 1.30am by a drunk couple outside our room having a conversation for half an hour. There was also what appeared to be empty gas cannisters in the beer garden which is a shame as this area was the highlight of the hotel. The view to the sea was outstanding.

We had to wait for 50 mins for our breakfast to arrive which they got the order wrong and the quality of food itself was disgusting.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.7 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
9.1 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
205 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
11.7 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayswell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayswell Park Hotel

Property: Bayswell Park Hotel
Address: 16 Bayswell Park, Dunbar EH42 1AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayswell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Bayswell Hotel we have 19 bedrooms, all en-suite, a mixture of double, single, twin and family rooms; most rooms are with sea view. Room rates include a full breakfast. All rooms have TV and free-view. Our restaurant looks on to the Firth of Forth. We have a great menu which changes regularly and regularly have special offers on our bar or restaurant menu. WI-Fi is available in parts of the hotel e.g. bar and certain rooms. We have a large beer garden which looks onto the sea. Perfect in the summer time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bayswell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayswell Hotel Dunbar
Bayswell Park Hotel Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing