We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayswell Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayswell Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a great hotel, we had the suite overlooking the sea with perfect uninterrupted views, the suite was clean, with nice decor. The staff were always helpful and polite. food was nice, both breakfast and dinner. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this place to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_j_anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayswell h, Manager at Bayswell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your comments to all the team at the Bayswell. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    106
    59
    55
    38
See reviews for
64
223
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We read all the reviews and have just got to add our own experience. In one word Fantastic! As some reviewers say the Hotel is older in style - but to us that adds to the charm. Our room was the largest room we've ever had and view most definitely the best. Listening to the waves rolling in every night and waking up to that beautiful view - words can't describe. You could have a ball in the huge bathroom; and the bath was so deep! Food was another bonus, they have definitely got a great chef now & need to hold on to him (pity he was ill on one of our nights, but the hotel booked us a nearby restaurant and our meal was lovely). The staff were so friendly, nothing was any trouble, they looked after us well. So did we enjoy our stay? - What do you think? Thank you to all the Bayswell staff - can't wait until we get the chance to return again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view, they are worth it. Previous travellers - don't let the room numbers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayswell h, Manager at Bayswell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thanks again to you both, we loved having you both here at Bayswell, please come back soon

Regards

All the team at bayswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great location, everything was fantastic, our room had a sea view room which was amazing. The hotel was of an old style but had everything to excellent standard according to the place. The bathroom had a jacuzzi which made it just more amazing. The only drawback was that the WiFi connection was not good and the mobile network coverage was also poor. The management changed our room but still didn't help with the wifi or mobile network. Staff was great and helpful as well.'

Room Tip: Sea view does make the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sami Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayswell h, Manager at Bayswell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Hello, we are glad you loved the sea view room, the views are truly amazing. Our apologies if the Wi-Fi was rather temperamental during your stay, we have now resolved the problem and are back to normal.

Kindest regards

Bayswell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

3 night stay at this hotel was an excellent choice as staff are very helpful and friendly rooms clean and neat view was excellent as we had sea view rooms food was excellent we had breakfast and an really good evening meal in the restaurant, will be staying again when in Dunbar. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayswell h, Manager at Bayswell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for the great review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you coming back..
Regards all The Team at Bayswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My partner and I stayed on Saturday night. We had a wonderful time. The room was fabulous with gorgeous views (even though we had a few teething problems that were efficiently put right). Dinner was delicious but above ALL the staff were AMAZING!! Highly recommended. Definitely go back.

Room Tip: The sea views are amazing so try and book one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayswell h, Manager at Bayswell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for the great review, would be delighted to see you again in the future.

Regards

All the staff at Bayswell Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is not worth what it charges. It has far to go to be brought up to the higher standards one would expect for the prices. Our room was tired with threaded carpet. the staff were friendly and helpful. The noise of cars at night moving on the gravel stone driveway outside our room disturbed our sleep – a tarmac drive would have been much quieter. I think the better reviews on this site have been coloured by a sea view, which we did not have.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stirfry151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayswell h, Manager at Bayswell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Many of our rooms have sea views across the firth of forth which can be booked at a slight premium, otherwise our standard rooms,which have inland views, can be booked at a lesser price between £79 & £85 in October - May 2014. Thank you for your positive comments about our staff, if you had made them aware of any problems i am certain they would of moved you to an alternative room that was to your satisfaction. I hope you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunbar hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Booked a 3 night stay in the Bayswell after coming across it on the internet. We upgraded to a sea view room, well worth the extra as the view from our room was a panorama across the Firth of Forth with the Isle of May half way between the two coastlines. The elevated position of the hotel enhances the view. The hotel is located a few minutes walk from Dunbar Harbour and the town centre. The room we had was very comfortable and clean. We ate in the hotel on each night of our stay and, whilst the menu was not extensive, there was always something to our liking, it was imaginative and to a good standard. Breakfasts were adequate with all the usual fare available, one of everything on the plate in the cooked version. If you like your bacon crispy then you'll be happy. If you don't like your bacon crispy tough! Also the potato scone comes unfried, The chef must be English. The eating experience was fine so the wee bit before is kinda tongue in cheek and not to be taken too seriously. The restaurant is part conservatory with sea views and very pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and could not be faulted. All in all our visit was an enjoyable one and should we be visiting that area again we would most likely book the Bayswell.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view all of which I believe are better than basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayswell h, Manager at Bayswell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us and that your sea view room was to your satisfaction. We never get tired of the stunning views across the firth of forth and love watching the seals bobbing around in the water as well. We are currently upgrading our restaurant and dinner menu and hope you will return soon to notice all the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.7 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
9.1 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
9.0 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
8.4 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayswell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayswell Park Hotel

Property: Bayswell Park Hotel
Address: 16 Bayswell Park, Dunbar EH42 1AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayswell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Bayswell Hotel we have 19 bedrooms, all en-suite, a mixture of double, single, twin and family rooms; most rooms are with sea view. Room rates include a full breakfast. All rooms have TV and free-view. Our restaurant looks on to the Firth of Forth. We have a great menu which changes regularly and regularly have special offers on our bar or restaurant menu. WI-Fi is available in parts of the hotel e.g. bar and certain rooms. We have a large beer garden which looks onto the sea. Perfect in the summer time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bayswell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayswell Hotel Dunbar
Bayswell Park Hotel Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing