We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayswell Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Bayswell Hotel, Dunbar, for one night on our way up to the Highlands of Scotland at the end of July. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk into town and yet located far enough away from the hustle and bustle, right next to a coastal footpath.

We had the deluxe 4 poster room, which was lovely and extremely spacious with a sofa and a chaise longue, in addition to the grand bed. The room has two large bay windows overlooking the shoreline, which afforded spectacular views. The bathroom was just as luxurious with both a walk in double shower and a huge bath on traditional stone flooring.

In the evening, we ate in the restaurant where the food was excellent, but at times attention to a few of the smaller details were lacking. The staff were all very friendly, courteous and helpful, we were made to feel as though nothing was too much trouble.

In the morning breakfast very nice, with a good selection of items on offer. The waitress was pleasant and helpful. The only criticism was that the porridge is kept warm in a slow cooker on the buffet table which did make it look and taste congealed.

Checkout was quick and easy and the receptionist was very helpful in giving advice on travelling to our next destination and things to do when we got there.

In summary, the views from the seafront rooms are some of the best we have seen, a real asset to the hotel and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank filthurlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

The view alone was enough to make me want to come back. Add to that the amazingly friendly staff and I can not say enough about this hotel! I was so tired when I arrived that I didn't feel like looking for food (which often happens when I travel since I tend to do long trips with a lot of driving) they were more than happy to feed me. The food was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BekaL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hi guys, check out this place. A fab suite with private hot tub, excellent value for money. Staff go that extra, we had a celebration at no extra cost they provided flowers & bubbly. Housekeeping excellent too, our suite was immaculate each day on our return. Such a great location, Dunbar pretty especially the harbour & private beach to the hotel too! But easily convenient, for North Berwick & Edinburgh, which are over priced with accommodation!! Enjoy The Bays well. We thoroughly did, & returning soon.

Room Tip: Liking space? Book a suite,worth that little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Being desert-dwellers, we always try to reserve a room with a sea view, and The Bayswell Park Hotel did not disappoint us. Our room looked over the dramatic cliffs of Dunbar and out to the Bass Rock. Stunning stuff.

The room definitely showed its age, but it also said something about its past which must have been glorious. The bathroom plumbing was dated as well, but nothing that couldn't be easily dealt with.

The hotel's juxtiposition to the cliffs was a big plus - perfect for scenic walks, and the hotel's location is close enough that it only takes about 8 to 10 minutes to reach the high street of Dunbar for shops and restaurants.

There are nice choices for breakfast. We arrived at the dining room about 8:15 or so, and it was empty. "Are we the last to arrive," we asked. "No, you're the first!" With the sound of the sea in the air, it's easy to sleep in at the Bayswell Park.

The staff was courteous, friendly and helpful.

Overall, staying at the Bayswell Park Hotel is rather like stepping back in time, and that's a really nice thing to do now and then.

Room Tip: A seaview room is great, but a number of them are up a couple of staircases. It can "wind"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here as it was the only hotel within my allocated budget for work. I was not disappointed. For £65 I had a lovely room with an incredible sea view and a jacuzzi bath. This is what I would pay for Premier Inn with none of those added extras.

The staff were lovely and friendly and both evening meal and breakfast were stunningly good.

Cannot understand the unfavourable reviews.

Room Tip: Definitely need a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RZJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Had booked a single room with sea view but was swapped to a double without the view. Having said that the view during breakfast was stunning so recommend pressing for a sea view room if you can get it.
With limited supply, accommodation in Dunbar is pricey generally and I have stayed in equally good or better hotels elsewhere for much less. However it was warm, pleasant, clean and while perhaps dated, the dated character lent something to remember it by compared to more functional modern hotel chains. Subject to the pricing I would return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed in numerous hotels in Dunbar recently but The Bayswell Hotel is by far the best to stay at. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the rooms are great if you have a new one but also good if you don't. Great sea views from rooms and restaurant as it's situated on a cliff top. Nothing in Dunbar compares. What's not to like. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wrighty2543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.7 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
9.1 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
18.4 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate
Kilconquhar Castle Estate
#1 of 1 in Kilconquhar
538 reviews
20.5 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayswell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayswell Park Hotel

Address: 16 Bayswell Park, Dunbar EH42 1AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range: £77 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayswell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Bayswell Hotel we have 19 bedrooms, all en-suite, a mixture of double, single, twin and family rooms; most rooms are with sea view. Room rates include a full breakfast. All rooms have TV and free-view. Our restaurant looks on to the Firth of Forth. We have a great menu which changes regularly and regularly have special offers on our bar or restaurant menu. WI-Fi is available in parts of the hotel e.g. bar and certain rooms. We have a large beer garden which looks onto the sea. Perfect in the summer time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayswell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayswell Hotel Dunbar
Bayswell Park Hotel Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing