We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Transported in time to wrong time/place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Flint B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Transported in time to wrong time/place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

A lovely spot, but that's where the niceties end I am afraid. I found the whole experience of staying here, something akin to my boarding school in the 1980's. The landlady is rather fond of keeping her arms crossed and throwing her assertiveness around without so much of a glance at the common sense or courtesy book. We found her to be rather rude and unapproachable and would not recommend people to go there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cachersifyoucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    6
    1
    7
See reviews for
10
23
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at the farm from Christmas eve to boxing day (paid £140 for 2 nights) as we were visiting family in Flint for xmas. I think there was only one other couple then family at the farm so it was very quiet.

The farm is up a long drive so you really get the feeling that you are in the middle of nowhere when realistically there is a dual carriageway that you can see from the farm. The only noise you hear is the horse/sheep/birds.

We stayed in a stable apartment and we were pleasantly surprised. The stable was well equipt and perfect for us! The fridge was stocked with milk and butter and tea/coffee/sugar was all provided- the cupboards had various pans/all cutlery/toaster/iron/hairdryer everything you could need!

The bed is very comfortable big and cosy....had a fab sleep!

The bathroom was a nice size and the shower was lovely and hot :) plenty of towels available and the heating worked well!

Only gripe ( not the owners fault) is due to the wind the fan in the bathroom rattled all night long.

As it was christmas the couple had left a bottle of bucks fizz and a huge tin of shortbread for us which we both thought was a truly lovely touch :o)

Breakfast is served in the main farm (there are rooms in this building too) and was in a lovely charming room with a lovely fire. We could help ourselves to cereals, yogurt and melon and then a hot breakfast arrived which was very well cooked and plenty of toast and various hot drinks...no beans on the brekkie though :o( As we ate breakfast it was idyllic looking out of the window watching a big squirrel hanging upside down eating his breakfast :) and the various other widelife.

The couple were very friendly and we couldn't fault them.

Note: There are a number of pets about the farm but only 1 or 2 dogs that are allowed to wonder around, both are extremely friendly and timid. If you are not a fan of dogs im sure the couple would keep them separate when you were in the farm for breakfast etc. Personally we loved both dogs especially Rex.. the old guy...so cute!

Overall we would definitely return to the Farm and recommend it to all our family when they come to visit the family from the Isle Of Man,Look forward to another stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciePop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

this is a good quality farm house bed and breakfast, breakfasts are of a good quality owner very nice and friendly on the downside we had a family room which was a bit on the small side.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEANORTHEAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have stayed at Oakenholt Farm many times and we always get a really good welcome. The owners treat you like one of the family. Lovely farmhouse breakfasts, comfortable beds and right out in the countryside but very easy access to main roads to get to Chester or the coast, if you are travelling to Ireland its a good stop off place. I am going back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agaig_partdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

In my work I have to stay in many B&B's or hotels. After a long days work and then travelling to Flint I was exhausted. I usually find it hard to be away from home. I know this room was not different from many others I've stayed at before and so I came with the intention to go to a local pub or restaurant for dinner. I got there, dropped my gear and lay on the bed for awhile to relax. I had packed munchies, sandwich, crisps and the like and finally ate something. So I never went out to a pub and for the first time for a long time I slept like a baby with a full tummy. I don't want to be thought of as a bit crazy but had a real positive feeling which was great.- thanks!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicalittlebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

Staying at oakenholt farm is a memory i will treasure forever,i stayed for eight week and i was made to feel so welcome that i felt that i lived there,that is why leaving this morning after eight week i was quite tearfull saying goodbye to jenny. I will certainly be staying there again when i next visit wales. They are such a lovely family i will miss them and also their dog rex who used to come and greet me and walk me to the front door.It is such a beautifull farm house so peacefull and charming.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelascholey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

We stayed at Oakenholt Farm on 2nd May 2010 and found it to be a really special place. Jenny, our hostess, picked us up from Flint station and in three minutes we were out in lovely countryside. The house has developed out of a 400 year old longhouse farm, so it reeks of history yet our room was full of modern comforts. We received a wonderfully warm and friendly welcome and Jenny brought us the best roast lamb dinner I have ever tasted. Breakfast was in the same high standard of the experienced and accomplished home cook. Our whole stay was a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullengarook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flint
1.4 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.9 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Halkyn
Travelodge Halkyn
#1 of 1 in Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
3.5 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.8 mi away
Soughton Hall Hotel
Soughton Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Northop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House

Property: Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House
Address: Oakenholt Farm Chester Road, Flint CH6 5BF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Flint
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Flint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House Flint, Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing