We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful B&B” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Flint B&B and Inns
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful B&B”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I wouldn' t recommend this B&B to anybody. The welcome wasn't very warm at all. The room was dirty (e.g. dead insects on the floor, the dustbin was dirty, dirty mugs on the tea tray, dirty bathroom); there was no bathroom door, just a folding door which didn't close properly; the door to our room couldn't be locked. The breakfast was awful. I don't know how they got their four stars!? The Oakenholt Farm B&B is a disgrace compared to the many excellent B&Bs we have seen on our trip to Wales.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEKoblenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    6
    1
    7
See reviews for
10
23
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed for one night during a business trip, as it was handy for Flint.

Arrived/departed by bus, which worked out great as there were bus stops very close to the bottom of the main driveway (no need to walk up Oakenholt Lane, as I did when I arrived!). For those who arrive by car, there's adequate parking.

The accommodation was fine and (having asked) there were no problems with me having a walk around the farm in the evening (principally sheep, with a few chickens and a gorgeous cat!).

Breakfast in the morning was top quality.

The thing that stood out was how quiet it was. You couldn't hear traffic or pedestrians (the sounds which come with a stay in a city/town location). I thought I would be woken up at "cock crow", but even that didn't happen!

Booking was done via their web site, which worked very smoothly.

I would stay there again if I was on a business trip to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

A lovely, friendly, very welcoming place to stay. Very clean & comfortable accomodation, excellent breakfast aswell as self-catering facilities.

Jenny was very accomodating - allowing us to arrive late. It was a pleasure staying there over the New Year, next best thing to staying with family.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelby0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Having read 'mixed' reviews my wife and I were a little uncertain prior to our arrival. We need not have worried. Jenny made us extemely welcome and was a mine of information on the local area and places to visit. Our accommodation was roomy, quiet, very comfortable and in excellent condition. To top it off, breakfasts served in the beautiful old farmhouse are generous and well cooked to your personal preference - they really set you up for the day.

Evidently some folks can be hard to please, but speaking for ourselves this was a delightful visit and one that we look forward to repeating.

Room Tip: We stayed in a top floor appartment of the converted barn which has adequate self-actering facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delta97Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My partner and i stayed here at short notice, where initially they were fully booked, Jenny (apparently the bossy owner) went out of her way to fit us in. My partner, she is very shy indeed, but commented to me that Jenny was pure joy to speak to. Both Jenny and her hubby (he's full of fun by the way) made our stay pleasurable and bent over backwards to make it that way. No kicking out time like other places and they even organized taxis for us. By the way i never write reviews, but after reading some negative ones i wonder if they either stayed in the same place or they themselves had had problems! Will be returning for sure!,,, George.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Though I had booked a single room I was put into an apartment (converted farm building) on arrival. I would say that the apartment was not 4 star standard. The room was noisy from family living next door. There was no biscuits with the tea/coffee tray which seemed a bit mean for £40 per night. The shower also was in need of updating. I found Mrs Hulme a little bossy and not too welcoming. Breakfast was fine but the owner was a bit put out by the 7.15 am requested time. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Absolutely beautiful place to stay very idyllic surroundings fab hosts. We stayed in room 2 at the stables which was was like a little bed sit with loads of room very clean and well presented Jenny and Huw should be very proud. We had home cooked breakfast in the house just across the yard which again was delicious.

John and I would highly recommend staying at Oakenholt Farm and booking for next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaJohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flint
1.4 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.9 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Halkyn
Travelodge Halkyn
#1 of 1 in Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
3.5 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.8 mi away
Soughton Hall Hotel
Soughton Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Northop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House

Property: Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House
Address: Oakenholt Farm Chester Road, Flint CH6 5BF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Flint
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Flint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House Flint, Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing