We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly, homely, heartwarming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Flint B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Oakenholt is a beautiful, family run B&B just outside the town of Flint in North Wales. Situated amid a sheep farm the house itself is well maintened and full of charm and hospitality. The room we stayed in was very well equipped and extremely comfortable. The Hume family are warm and welcoming and always on hand to provide any information needed. The lovely homecooked breakfasts ( including their own eggs ) were a real treat. Their collection of animals are extremely friendly, from Chloe and Kevin, the cats, to Rex the collie, who loves nothing more than to play fetch and have his chin rubbed. The house is ideally located close to the English/Welsh border, well suited for those who want to travel to the coast and to larger cities. All in all, we had an extremely pleasant stay there and would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairesteenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2009

Set in a beatiful part of rural North Wales, yet with great access to nearby cities and attractions a stay at Oakenholt is to be recommended. Some great villages nearby serving good ale and great food. A real chance to get away from it all, with very comfortable accomodation set amongst a beatiful working sheep farm.
Oakenholt is to be recommended for those seeking that get away from it all charm within a very warm, homely and friendly environment.

Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
Thank MarkDYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We have just returned from a lovely family long weekend break at Oakenholt farm. On arrival we were greeted by Rex the farm dog who wanted to play ball with us. The farmhouse is lovely and dates back to 1450. Mr and Mrs Hulme who own the farm made us feel most welcome. The breakfast was superb and my son said the sausages served were the best he had ever tasted. It was lovely sitting eating breakfast overlooking the gardens and watching the blue tits, great tits, woodpeckers, squirrels etc. We had our two year old grandson with us and it was wonderful for him to be able to watch his mum and nan bottle feed the new born lambs with farmer Hulme. The farmer was also very helpful in offering advice how to travel around the area and we would recommend to anyone staying here to have a trip into Chester a superb town with great shops and restaurants. We would throughly recommend staying here and we would love to go back there again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank brianCanveyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

On arriving at the Guest House we were greeted by Rex the Sheepdog and the Farmers wife gave us a very warm welcome.
We were then shown around the house and taken to our room.

Our room was very comfortable, with an clean ensuite and we had a fabulous view from the window.

The farmer was extremely friendly and gave his time to take us to feed the new born lambs as well as offering advice regarding local points of interest / amenities.

The breakfast was superb with endless supplies of toast and tea (mmm).

One slight concern we had prior to visiting was that we had a small child but we were very satisfied that the child was taken into account during our stay.

Would definately recommend this guest house and would not hesitate to stay their again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wattsy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2008

Stay away form this B&B .I stayed for 4 weeks in April 2008 at Oakenholt farm.During my stay the landlord cleaned my room
and read trough my private mail I left there in trust.

She than called my company and my accountant to inform them about her findings.
Of course without informing me! My accountant told me later the whole story.
I was thinking about a law suit but I think just avoiding them is the better option

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank gunny1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

have stayed there many times, great family and very helpful. The food is always good. Take your children, sheep everywhere, playful cats and dogs and you are always made to feel very welcome. Will go again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank agaig_partdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sergey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House

Address: Oakenholt Farm Chester Road, Flint CH6 5BF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Flint
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Flint
Price Range: £54 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House Flint, Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing