We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Christmas lunch (23/12/13)”
Review of The Coach & Horses

The Coach & Horses
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Flint
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A cosy country pub in the quiet picturesque location of Flint Mountain! With great views and a great atmosphere The Coach & Horses is the perfect place to go! Whether it's just for a drink, a meal or even Sunday Lunch! Get yourself to the coach and tell us what you think! Click above to visit our website and find out about events that are happening soon!
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas lunch (23/12/13)”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had an excellent Christmas lunch and sweet when visiting one of our kids just before Christmas. The food was clearly home cooked and piping hot and was excellent value for money - well done.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachandhorsesflint, Webmaster at The Coach & Horses, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Coach & Horses.

We are glad that you enjoyed our Christmas Fayre menu on your visit to The Coach & Horses.

We believe that home cooked food is the way it should be and we are therefore working hard to introduce more home cooked food onto our menu. Of course on our Christmas Fayre all of the food was home cooked and we are glad that this reflected on you and that you enjoyed it.

We are also in the process of creating a fresh new menu and we will be posting this on our Facebook and Website very soon. Keep and eye out so you don't miss out on it when its available!

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Christmas lunch”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent Christmas lunch,the food and service were fantastic,great value for money and the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble! Also a nice touch was the xmas gift for our little girl!Well done for a lovely afternoon!!

Helpful?
Thank Ianandjanetjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachandhorsesflint, Webmaster at The Coach & Horses, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review The Coach & Horses.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit for our Christmas Lunch and we also enjoyed the day ourselves. We always aim to have the most courteous and friendly staff and are overjoyed that they excelled on Christmas Day.

We also try and ensure that every customer enjoys their visit to The Coach & Horses and that we are glad that your child enjoyed their Christmas Gift.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place with friendly staff ”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This is a great place I have been here alot with friends especially like the open mic night that they do now and again and also the quiz night !

This pub being in the place that it is always gets busy the staff always keep on top of collecting glasses and plates always served with a high quality of customer service.

One thing that would improve is if they did more deals on drinks as it will definitely make them more money well from me anyway

Helpful?
Thank MrWickham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachandhorsesflint, Webmaster at The Coach & Horses, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review The Coach & Horses.

We are glad that you enjoy regularly visiting The Coach & Horses especially for our Wednesday Night Quiz!

We have a great team of staff that always try their best to provide a high level of customer service.

With regards to our drinks offers, we do offer a doubles bar and regularly have some drinks on special offer for example, our Jan & Feb 2014 offer of £2 spirit and mixer.

You can find out more about any offers we may have by following our facebook, twitter or website pages. Here you can also find any events we may be holding.

We hope to see you again soon and thank you again for your positive review .

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Get a chef”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Should hv been warned off by the "chef wanted" notification on the website. Steak pie was ok. Chips cold. Served with mushy peas (cold) sprouts cabbage n mashed carrot all boiled to death. Scampi ok. Served with ....you've guessed it cold mushy peas n salad !!! Woulve been better if soneone had even asked durinh meal if things were ok. Nice pub. Nice staff. Just don't eat there !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikemac1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachandhorsesflint, Webmaster at The Coach & Horses, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review The Coach & Horses.

We have taken your comments on board and would like to justify them.

Indeed we have been looking for a chef however, this should not have had any impact on your food whilst at The Coach & Horses as we have never been without a chef.

With regards to your food, we try to constantly provide top notch food to our customers. We are sorry that your meal was not as good as expected and would have rectified any problems if you had mentioned this to any member of staff.

We are glad that you enjoyed the pub itself and thought that we had good staff. We always try to give every customer a great experience when they visit.

We are currently creating a fresh menu and as you mentioned we have a new chef starting very soon who will give us a fresh feel with food. We hope that in the near future you will visit us to give our food another try and hopefully, we will meet your expectations.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Frequent Visitor”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a recently completely refurbished and redecorated free house, spotless clean with albeit wobbly tables in certain areas. A real village pub with an open fire and two log burners. There's a conservatory with views and all tastefully decorated.
The staff are really friendly and helpful.
The food is basic, not all homemade btw, and occasionally lacks in presentation. Reasonably priced for what it is, but it won’t make you go 'wow'. Beer prices are very competitively priced, most if not all under £3/pint with local real ales.
There is a car park that can cope most of time.
I recently took a few mates there from our golf club and they all enjoyed their food, sandwich, chips, coleslaw and garnish under a fiver each. Spot on. And the local beer was on offer! Bargain

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bomber127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachandhorsesflint, Webmaster at The Coach & Horses, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review of The Coach & Horses.

We are glad that you find the pub clean and tasteful. Our 'wobbly' tables and real files help us to create the cosy and traditional atmosphere that suits the pub.

We are constantly trying to increase the amount of food that is home made and will definitely use your comments on the presentation to improve this and allow for a better customer experience.

We are glad that you enjoy your visits and we are always happy to see you visiting the pub and supporting us in the local community. We will also take any comments on board and use them to improve ourselves as of course there are always improvements that can be made.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach & Horses also viewed

Flint, Flintshire
Northop, Flintshire
 
Northop, Flintshire
Northop, Flintshire
 

Been to The Coach & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing