We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flint
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anne”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I can honestly say I have never written a review about a hotel before I stayed here because their website said they had a golf course, quiet location, and good food. My experience was a wedding with music that went on until 12am , couples laughing and shouting in the room next to mine until gone 3am ( the walls are not sound proof )and worst of all a man banging on my door at 3am. (Drunk). I was told there was no pro shop ( they clearly state they have on on their website). They haven't had one for over a year. I went for dinner - the menu was written on a piece of photocopy paper with scribbles on. I waited 30mins for the gentleman to come back from the wedding reception nobody turned up. so I gave up and had to find a supermarket for supplies, ( the staff seemed to be running around like headless chickens) I had booked for two days but I left the following morning only to find out that none of the staff from the previous evening had turned up, and therefore I presume breakfast was out of the question. Not that I would have eaten there. I was staying in that hotel on my own while working in north wales. I had to ring the main line at 11.30 to ask when the music was stopping. ( no one answered the internal lines). Ladies if your travelling on your own and need to stay in north wales avoid this one at all cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    37
    25
    18
    29
See reviews for
54
33
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We attended a family wedding in April. The venue was fabulous - it was the ideal size for a small family wedding but still with plenty of room for more evening guests. The meal was really good - the food was hot (served on hot plates too) everyone was served quickly and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

The room we had was fine, lovely and clean, the choice at breakfast was great - if you didn't want a full English (or should that be full Welsh) the option to have just a bacon sandwich or toastie was a nice touch. The hotel staff couldn't have done anything more to make sure the day went well and even provided a golf buggy - suitably decorated of course - for the bride and groom so they could have some unusually scenic photos taken.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, County Durham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Booked an overnight stay here on way from North East to Holyhead for ferry. Booking said check in was up until midnight. We were running late so just out of courtesy at 9pm when we stopped at services we rang hotel to say we wouldn't be there until about 11pm. We arrived dead on the dot at 11 only to find everywhere in darkness, we walked around but couldn't see any sign of a reception open then 2 other guests appeared from their room, we asked them and they said they arrived half hour earlier they were given their key and told by receptionist he was in a hurry to get away, this was at 10.30pm. The receptionist even asked them if they were us so we were expected. We were mortified to say the least, it wasn't as if we could sleep in the car as we were on a motorbike. The only thing to do was to get back on bike and carry on to Holyhead as it was highly unlikely we would find anywhere else that late at night. So tired and wet that is what we had to do, not a good start to our holiday. Far from impressed with this hotel and would discourage anyone from booking here

Room Tip: Can't comment on anything else as we didn't even get a welcome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJT59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flint hotels

north wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband, son and I had a family room after attending a family wake at the venue and we were more than satisfied. When we booked in reception the man in charge called Graham was more than helpful and we were very pleased with our 3 bedded room as our son is an adult!!!Beds were clean very comfortable and the bathroom was new and well kitted, towels a bit old and hard but everything else fine. Television was working and the shower excellent.Bedlinen excellent and decor good.
The food served in the wake was sandwiches sausage rolls quiches etc and the fillings in the sandwiches were superb and tasty.gateaux etc and coffees completed a very nice meal. Graham was certainly making sure the food was plentiful and considering they did know how many people would attend it was well organized by the staff. The evening meal we chose to eat when many had left was adequate and the bar staff friendly.
Breakfast was also very good and once again Graham was on duy making us feel right at home and serving an excellent breakfast, The whole stay was worth the money £74 for 3 people for bed and breakfast I think is an excellent price. There is a golf course attached to the hotel and it looks really quite interesting. Sitting on the patio over looking the course was really lovely watching the sun go down Thank you Mountain Park hotel especially to Graham.

Room Tip: We had room 11 lovely and clean and we could park close to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessiefellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped for one night whilst passing through Flint before visiting the not too far away Chester Zoo. We stayed in a family room which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The shower was amazing. Upon arrival we were checked-in by a very helpful and polite member of staff who gave us spare linen and made up the extra bed. The bar was very reasonably priced. As the bar was quiet the kind member of staff put on a tv programme at my request. The cooked breakfast was very good and filling. I wouldn't hesitate to book in here again as the staff were very pleasant and helpful plus I wouldn't mind having a round on their golf course.

To surmise, Mountain Park Hotel is a very well run establishment with great staff and great chatacter.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at this for one night for a friends party, venue very nice, staff friendly. Had to hang about to check in as there was no one at reception, the receptionist was covering the bar as well. Very pleasant man, who apologised for keeping me waiting.
The room was a bit dreary, flaking paint on the ceiling but the bedding was clean and fresh. The bathroom was also clean and well stocked with towels.........but no hand soap, only a little shower gel which I had to use for hand washing.
My main concern was that there was no curtain or blind at the bathroom window, I could clearly make out the cars parked outside and see the golfers in the car park chatting. Thankfully it was day light but if I'd had to put the lights on I'm sure they would have seen more than I'd like them to. When I asked about this at reception when checking out the receptionist said "the windows are frosted", not good enough I'd say. Breakfast was ok, as I didn't want a cooked breakfast I ordered toast, white, got brown. The tables in the dining room were so close together and had the oddest legs, which meant I almost had to climb into my chair as there wasn't an inch between my chair and the one behind me. Strange decor in the dining room, very far eastern which didn't fit in with the barn conversion style of the place. I'm afraid I wouldn't stay here again, needs a good makeover and definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Having attended a Family wedding at Mountain Park, i left unimpressed,the room family members had the bed/bedding and room, looked clean but in the Bathroom the toilet seat was unfixed the tiles when wet became slippy.
The vows were nice to watch,it then took 3 1/2 hours to get the room changed for the sit down meal,which was dark /muddy green leek and potato soup served with cooked frozen bread rolls.
Next came 2 pieces of chicken wrapped in tasteless bacon covered in a brown sauce with 2 pieces of mushroom in it tasting of satay,under cooked green beans with salsa sauce over them,pulverized carrots so i was told tasteless, then a pan fried potato 4in x 2 is oblong undercooked raw in the middle.
The sweet was cheesecake ,the base was soggy the cheese stuck to the roof of the mouth ,the strawberry sauce tasted like the ice cream sauce.,the champagne was sour.
The whole meal lacked taste and flavors.
The tea and coffee were hot.
I noticed other people pushing the food around their plates

The staff worked hard but lacked leadership everything took so long
whilst waiting with a drink in the bar the TV is not in focus
Knowing how much had been spent well need i say more a complete failure.

If you are looking for a wedding venue go else where please.
A lot of improvements need to be made,and stop playing at running a Hotel.

Room Tip: rooms by the car park are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ban12450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flint
3.6 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
2.4 mi away
Soughton Hall Hotel
Soughton Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Northop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Park Hotel

Property: Mountain Park Hotel
Address: Northop Road | Flint Mountain, Flint CH6 5QG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Flint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Park Hotel Flint, Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing