We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had seen reviews for Somerton Lodge on Laterooms.com. We had planned a weekend break on the Island and for £50 bed and breakfast, we thought it looked very good. The house and gardens are attractive and tidy. The car park at the back is easy to access and with ample parking. We had managed to get an earlier than booked ferry crossing so this meant that we arrived three hours before check in time. This was no problem at all. We were very pleasantly greeted, checked in, shown around the lounge, bar and dining room, informed about entry at the back door and the key code at the front door and then taken to our room. The room although small was nicely decorated and clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom and shower was small but also clean. Breakfast is plentiful with any variation you may wish catered for without any fuss. I tried the vegetarian breakfast and the sausages were the best I have had anywhere. We had only planned to stay bed and breakfast so didn't try the evening meals but I thought the different daily menu looked very good with, great variety and vegetarians catered for. We thought the Somerton Lodge was very good value for money. A clean well kept establishment, with polite friendly staff. We had only a few small issues that we mentioned to the owner on leaving. The shower head was old and caked with lime scale so did not flow well and next to the toilet there was a coloured voile over the window where I felt a blind would be more appropriate. The curtain in the bedroom had hooks missing so didn't hang well and above the doorway to the room the paper was lifting. She was pleasant and stated that the room was due for refurbishment. During our short stay we had indeed seen evidence of work being carried out at the hotel so they would seem to be true to their word. All round we felt it was very good value for money and would be happy to stay there again. We do plan to re visit the island during summer months and the hotel in common with many on the island can organise a ferry ticket within the accommodation price though obviously this would be a summer rate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metaxagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Somerton Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel was really nice, characteristic building. A little dusty, but we thought it was good for £50. I come from the island and know a few hotels here, would certainly use this one again next time we visit my family.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank allanlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was signed for 3 nights and was sorely disappointed. Walls were paper thin and I had to shout through the wall for the next room to quieten down. The shower head was disgusting, see picture. Breakfast was basic and cheap products used.
All in all not a good experience. I have to go back a few more times yet but not to this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

As we walked up the path to the main door, thought what a lovely building, this feeling stayed with me as i entered the reception area.
The lounge area was very pleasant looking, with plenty of comfortable seating with a large TV at one end, a small bar situated at the entrance to the lounge, which you have to ring for service.

However, once we climbed the large staircase and was shown our room, our Bubble was well and truly popped..
The room was not acceptable on the hygiene scale, there was dust and cobwebs everywhere, the ceiling had damp patches and areas of plaster missing, the mattress had seen many, many better days.The light switches were grubby and sticky,
The bathroom and bedroom floor was not clean, so we walked to a local shop and bought flip flops to wear in the room.
The breakfast was greasy, though the portions were good, we decided to eat out in shankin on the first night, i`m glad we did, as the smell was not at all appetizing from the kitchen as we walked through the foyer. didn`t encounter one british staff member
would we stay here again,,,,,,,,No

Room Tip: find somewhere else unless your stuck
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garrya a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Beautiful old victorian building with a nice front of house, large lounge/bar area which was nicely decorated with plenty of seating. The bedroom we stayed in does need some refurbishing and the shower was quite small and a little mouldy, however the bed was comfortable and we had a peaceful few nights. Turn left out of the hotel and walk straight for 8-10 mins and you reach the high road, if you turn right this brings you to the old part of the village and Shanklin Chine. If you turn left this brings you to the main shops, many of which close for lunch or sometimes altogether if they are not busy! We did visit in October so this may be why. Everything is accessible from the two bus stops outside the hotel, a daily bus pass costs £10.00 and takes you all over the island. We only met one of the owners the whole 4 days we stayed and she was lovely, the breakfast was nicely cooked and set us up for the day. All in all a lovely relaxing break!

Room Tip: Room 11 is largeand bright but has a very small shower and a wonky/loose bathroom shelf (which was r...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

First room we had been given the keys was number 19, very dirty, damp, shower tray had not been cleaned.After complaining we changed rooms for number 1 some what cleaner, but still lacking. shower very hot in mornings and cold in the evening.
The interior of the building could do with decorating, the Garden was overgrown and the perimeter wall needs rebuilding, car park small with a low poorly maintaned wall with a drop the other side.
The AA 2star rating needs to be inspected again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

stayed here twice now whilst working on the island normally stay in sandown shanklin is much better hotel was fine breakfast was good best veggie sausage ever had.room 15 was good shower needs updating but water was nice and hot and powerful,if I was a moaner the gravel yard at the back was noisy when cars parking up but it will not put me off coming back thinking of bringin the wife in November its a nice walk to the old town and beach about 10 mins.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offski_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.5 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#17 of 51 in Shanklin
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerton Lodge Hotel

Address: 43 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £48 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Somerton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerton Lodge Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing