We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Brunswick Hotel(Shanklin)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmerston Grange(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holliers Hotel(Shanklin)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
US$202
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
47
44
16
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
44
16
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisle of wightstayed for one nightbreakfast was excellentshower cubicledouble roomrecommend this hoteldining roompublic areasbed was comfortableoff road parkingfull englishgood sizethe ground floorshort walkmy mumnothing is too much troubleevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Somerton was definitely value for money, rooms comfortable with en suites. As we were staying for a couple of nights, we used the lounge and bar area in the evenings, very pleasant room. Breakfast was good and the staff very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for en suite rooms as some were not.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJohnSwanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had seen reviews for Somerton Lodge on Laterooms.com. We had planned a weekend break on the Island and for £50 bed and breakfast, we thought it looked very good. The house and gardens are attractive and tidy. The car park at the back is easy to access and with ample parking. We had managed to get an earlier than booked ferry crossing so this meant that we arrived three hours before check in time. This was no problem at all. We were very pleasantly greeted, checked in, shown around the lounge, bar and dining room, informed about entry at the back door and the key code at the front door and then taken to our room. The room although small was nicely decorated and clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom and shower was small but also clean. Breakfast is plentiful with any variation you may wish catered for without any fuss. I tried the vegetarian breakfast and the sausages were the best I have had anywhere. We had only planned to stay bed and breakfast so didn't try the evening meals but I thought the different daily menu looked very good with, great variety and vegetarians catered for. We thought the Somerton Lodge was very good value for money. A clean well kept establishment, with polite friendly staff. We had only a few small issues that we mentioned to the owner on leaving. The shower head was old and caked with lime scale so did not flow well and next to the toilet there was a coloured voile over the window where I felt a blind would be more appropriate. The curtain in the bedroom had hooks missing so didn't hang well and above the doorway to the room the paper was lifting. She was pleasant and stated that the room was due for refurbishment. During our short stay we had indeed seen evidence of work being carried out at the hotel so they would seem to be true to their word. All round we felt it was very good value for money and would be happy to stay there again. We do plan to re visit the island during summer months and the hotel in common with many on the island can organise a ferry ticket within the accommodation price though obviously this would be a summer rate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metaxagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel was really nice, characteristic building. A little dusty, but we thought it was good for £50. I come from the island and know a few hotels here, would certainly use this one again next time we visit my family.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank allanlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was signed for 3 nights and was sorely disappointed. Walls were paper thin and I had to shout through the wall for the next room to quieten down. The shower head was disgusting, see picture. Breakfast was basic and cheap products used.
All in all not a good experience. I have to go back a few more times yet but not to this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

As we walked up the path to the main door, thought what a lovely building, this feeling stayed with me as i entered the reception area.
The lounge area was very pleasant looking, with plenty of comfortable seating with a large TV at one end, a small bar situated at the entrance to the lounge, which you have to ring for service.

However, once we climbed the large staircase and was shown our room, our Bubble was well and truly popped..
The room was not acceptable on the hygiene scale, there was dust and cobwebs everywhere, the ceiling had damp patches and areas of plaster missing, the mattress had seen many, many better days.The light switches were grubby and sticky,
The bathroom and bedroom floor was not clean, so we walked to a local shop and bought flip flops to wear in the room.
The breakfast was greasy, though the portions were good, we decided to eat out in shankin on the first night, i`m glad we did, as the smell was not at all appetizing from the kitchen as we walked through the foyer. didn`t encounter one british staff member
would we stay here again,,,,,,,,No

Room Tip: find somewhere else unless your stuck
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garrya a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews