We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed here in July with my son, we shared a twin room at the back of the house overlooking the car park. I arrived early as my son was attending an interview and was warmly welcomed and was told the room was ready and so I could leave my bags there. A spacious room and very clean. We had a comfortable night, breakfast was served to you and we were placed on a table near the window, overlooking the front garden. The breakfast was plentiful and toast was served too. Overall a very nice experience and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank susan952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous four night stay at Somerton Lodge. We booked this hotel purely on the excellent reviews. We checked in early & had a very welcoming start to our short 4 night stay. Room was very clean & décor very fresh and modern. The bar, restaurant & lounge again were very clean & with a modern but classy feel. The breakfast was ample with plenty of choice & the poached eggs are to die for.. The management & staff were so welcoming, friendly & made us feel like 'home from home' & couldn't be more helpful. Location is spot on for a short walk into the village, beach & ideally located for other sight seeing trips. We would highly recommend Somerton Lodge, purely for the lovely staff (especially June) & for the high standards that the Lodge offers. Already planning a visit back - top value family run hotel that really does deserve all the credit they receive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gerry035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Somerton Lodge is a lovely clean and warming Hotel.
Great welcome on arrival from staff, quick but efficient tour and information on all we needed to know about the hotel before being shown to our room.
The room and en suite was clean and tidy with enough room for 2 people.
Dining room, bar and 2 lounges were well looked after and very welcoming for breakfast and a relax.
The only down fall's to the hotel were: it was difficult to get in and out of the car park with it being so busy due to scooter rally and the temperature of the room was too hot, with a window that only opened so far being proped up with a small make shift wooden block.
Whenever passed by staff always a polite hello, Breakfast was spot on and very reassuring to know with a press of the bell a member of staff was with you immediately for all your needs.
Loved the idea of having your own keys, for quick and easy assess aswell as safety.
From a first visit to the Isle of Wight, I can definatly say I will return and recommend this hotel to anybody lookinh for a short stay/break that is easy assessable.
Well Done to the team at Sommerton Lodge!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShannonLouise18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We recently returned from 4 night stay at this Hotel (July 2014). Very clean and tidy, staff very friendly, lots of choice for breakfast and lots of it too. There is a nice bar area and outside seating area. We had room 12 room which was very nice but the bathroom was extremely small (literally step in and step out again), hence the shower being quite small as well. I was ok with that but my boyfriend is 6’4 so he had a bit of trouble manoeuvring around. The shower attachment was high enough, but the cubicle was a little tight.

It was very warm in our room so we kept our window open the whole time we were there. It was plus 25 degrees for our entire stay though so that’s to be expected in a Victorian hotel with no air con. I would say the Old Village is about 10 minutes walk from this hotel.

All in all happy with our stay for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Somerton was definitely value for money, rooms comfortable with en suites. As we were staying for a couple of nights, we used the lounge and bar area in the evenings, very pleasant room. Breakfast was good and the staff very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for en suite rooms as some were not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJohnSwanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had seen reviews for Somerton Lodge on Laterooms.com. We had planned a weekend break on the Island and for £50 bed and breakfast, we thought it looked very good. The house and gardens are attractive and tidy. The car park at the back is easy to access and with ample parking. We had managed to get an earlier than booked ferry crossing so this meant that we arrived three hours before check in time. This was no problem at all. We were very pleasantly greeted, checked in, shown around the lounge, bar and dining room, informed about entry at the back door and the key code at the front door and then taken to our room. The room although small was nicely decorated and clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom and shower was small but also clean. Breakfast is plentiful with any variation you may wish catered for without any fuss. I tried the vegetarian breakfast and the sausages were the best I have had anywhere. We had only planned to stay bed and breakfast so didn't try the evening meals but I thought the different daily menu looked very good with, great variety and vegetarians catered for. We thought the Somerton Lodge was very good value for money. A clean well kept establishment, with polite friendly staff. We had only a few small issues that we mentioned to the owner on leaving. The shower head was old and caked with lime scale so did not flow well and next to the toilet there was a coloured voile over the window where I felt a blind would be more appropriate. The curtain in the bedroom had hooks missing so didn't hang well and above the doorway to the room the paper was lifting. She was pleasant and stated that the room was due for refurbishment. During our short stay we had indeed seen evidence of work being carried out at the hotel so they would seem to be true to their word. All round we felt it was very good value for money and would be happy to stay there again. We do plan to re visit the island during summer months and the hotel in common with many on the island can organise a ferry ticket within the accommodation price though obviously this would be a summer rate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metaxagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel was really nice, characteristic building. A little dusty, but we thought it was good for £50. I come from the island and know a few hotels here, would certainly use this one again next time we visit my family.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank allanlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.5 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 51 in Shanklin
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Victoria Lodge Hotel
#32 of 51 in Shanklin
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#12 of 51 in Shanklin
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerton Lodge Hotel

Address: 43 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £48 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Somerton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerton Lodge Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing