We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb Holiday”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Once again The Page family, Susie and all the Eastmount staff came up trumps during our April/May holiday this year. The staff, rooms and meals were, as always, excellent and Julian came up trumps satisfying requests for favourite desserts! Yet again the ever changing groups of visitors was part of the pleasure of the Eastmount, with International and more local visitors all enjoying chatting in the Dining Room or Bar. Triumph Stag or Harley Davidson enthusiasts would have been particularly happy during the time of our stay with many fine examples of both housed in the car park. Another happy holiday and we are eagerly looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexHolidaypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian P, Owner at Eastmount Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you so much, I always look forward to your visits and the laughs we have. I'm looking forward to October already.

love
Jillx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    56
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
88
97
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

You couldn't expect more for the money. Whilst, as others have mentioned, the decor could do with a bit of an update (possibly in progress, our room had been recently decorated)it's just cosmetics and not really important.The hotel is very clean and housekeeping done daily. You cannot fault the staff. They are genuinely friendly people, and Jill the owner can't do enough to help you. The regular clientel do seem to be middle aged to elderly, and I think the dinner menu reflects this. The food itself was ok, I supposed costs need to be kept down, and I think the sausages were one of the things that suffered. Guests who had been before did say they used to be nicer.
Close to the coastal path, and a short walk into Shanklin. A good base for a visit to the island. We would go back again, but would get a different room. Would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Not number 10. Above the kitchen, so gets the noise and smell if the window is open. Also, the table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank po1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian P, Owner at Eastmount Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

We do try so hard to make everyone's holiday perfect and I really wish you had told us about your table leg. The tables do get moved around a bit and the bolts can loosen but it would have been tightened immediately had we known and your glasses replenished.

I am so glad you liked the decor in room 10 as we worked really hard on refurbishing that room, in the winter, but I am sorry that you were disturbed by any kitchen noises. At the time of your visit we had been called away unavoidably and the temporary head chef we had for those few days mustn't have been as considerate as Julian is.

We were puzzled by the comment about the sausages, we upgraded to better sausages from the butcher 3 years ago and haven't changed them since. I do want to reassure anyone that is reading that our food is something that we certainly wouldn't cheapen because of the recession.
The meat is sourced locally and fresh from the butcher and the vegetables are fresh (except the peas as Julian hasn't time to shell them) It is mostly, plain home cooking though as this pleases the majority of our guests.

I do apologize once again for the problems and we do hope that we see you again.

best wishes
Jill Page
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Our Party of 4 stayed 3 nights on DBB . We overlapped with Triumph Stag Owners Club Rally.!
For the price including the Ferry Fare it was very good value. Rooms were acceptable but compact. Two of our party got a free Upgrade to Honeymoon Suite which was nice(for them!). We had to change Rooms as there was light coming in from hallway, but it was all handled easily & no stress. The staff are all very accomodating & Friendly. Pot of Tea & Scones served on arrival.
Bar Prices reasonable. Dinners nice & plentiful(you choose your courses at Breakfast)
Shanklin is Good base for seeing the Island. We were particularly taken with The Garlic Farm. Would reccomend. Not perfect but excellent Value & very Friendly Family Business. The Lobby is filled with Thankyou Cards from Happy Guests, so there you go.

Room Tip: If you are particular about a Dark Room, then check if it has Small Window above door, as you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peewee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My husband and I loved our 3 night stay. We had a dinner and breakfast package and the food was wonderful. The staff are the friendliest I have ever encountered. It really is a family operation and they make you feel like family. Our room had a view of the water and we could hear the gulls. It is a quick walk to the beach. We were the first American guests but I am sure we won't be the last. This was a great value and there is lots to do on the Wonderful Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loriann57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian P, Owner at Eastmount Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We really enjoyed having our first American guests here and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. If you ever come over here again do come back we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We certainly made the right decision when booking this hotel for Christmas. All the staff were very friendly and what a lovely bubbly person Jill is from greeting us with Susie when we arrived (and insisting on carrying the cases) to saying goodbye when we left. We booked 2 rooms which were lovely my girls had a bright airy room with a sea view. Plenty of food and fussy eaters catered for. Little touches around the hotel made it feel Christmassy, Christmas music playing when we arrived and coffee, mince pies and chocolates on offer every day.
We meet some lovely people (Thanks Jackie and Jean for letting Geoff win the card game.)
We hope to visit again

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank geoff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Spent Christmas away from home for the first time and was not sure what to expect , Lovely warm welcome when we arrived from Jill who even personally greeted each child knowing their names (3 boys aged 16,10,1) , rooms were basic but clean with gifts for everyone , meals were nice & anything changed or needed no problem , father Christmas on the day with personal gifts for everyone young & old , we all enjoyed the challenge of the treasure hunt round the island(which we lost ) . 5 mins walk down to the beach steep but in the summer the lifts open ,All in a lovely break friendly staff & other guests even if ours were the only little kids there , will visit again xx

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Couldn't do enough to make our wedding day special. Jill is a real character we were proud for her to be our witness . We're going back for our 1st anniversary oh yes! Coudn't wish for better staff sophie and susie are stars especially . We love u all lisa and drew

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#9 of 52 in Shanklin
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastmount Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastmount Hall Hotel

Property: Eastmount Hall Hotel
Address: 10 Eastmount Road, Shanklin PO37 6DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eastmount Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Eastmount Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastmount Hall Shanklin
Eastmount Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing