We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodges are amazing, well run site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lodges are amazing, well run site”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed mon-fri over the easter holidays and had a fab time. We had a gold lodge, they are massive and have dishwasher and washing machine which are a bonus with 3 kids. You can also park your car very close to the lodge. If you stay in a caravan you have to park in the main car park so not ideal if you have a million bags, so I would definately pay the extra for a lodge if we go again. I liked the fact that it was a small site so didn't have to walk miles to get to the swimming pool and club house. Also felt very safe. The childrens entertainers work really hard and my younger 2 loved the evening entertainment. Even though it was the kids holiday we could still get a table every night, even if we didn't get there til 8pm. There is a small amusement room with the usual games. Food was reasonably priced and tasted fine, even though it was obviously microwaved or fried. Few outside play areas which were good. The swimming pool was warm and had a slide and a section which was shallower for the little ones. The changing rooms however were the worst I had ever seen, tiny and only one bench, so if more than 2 people were in the changing room you didn't have anywhere to get changed! I would definately recommend putting your swimming costume on in your caravan. As for getting out with young children, I got out first and left my husband in the pool with the kids then got them changed by the side of the pool as there was many seats around the edge. Reception staff are really helpful. The Isle of wight is a brilliant place to take kids on holiday and would definately return. If you shop in tesco save up your tesco vouchers as there are lots of day trips you can use them on.

Room Tip: Definately pay extra for a lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faye p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    287
    114
    55
    57
See reviews for
606
116
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed here with one of the sun weekends in October and I was worried about the place but was plesantly surprised how nice it all was!
The caravans are clean and tidy and surprisingly spacious. The only moan was we were two couples and none of the caravans had 2 double bedrooms, one double and 1 or twin twins (twin beds are very small).
The caravan had central heating which you could put on a timer - we needed it as they get very cold, very quickly.
The club house was dissapointing - it desperately needed a revamp! - very few of the guests staying in the park used this in the evening.
Having said that, the staff was polite and friendly and were able to recommend places to see, eat and drink in.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppiesbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We have stayed in a variety of resorts, lodges and caravans in Englnd, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. THIS one is bottom of the list. Having payed quite a bit to obtain my "Gold Lodge" we were looking forward to something special.
On arrival, the park looked tatty and jaded. The lodge was hidden under trees and quite dark. That aside, it was what was in the inside that was grim.
First off, kitchen lights not working. The dishwasher and washing machine smelt rank. The oven symbols all worn off with no guidance of what was oven/grill/temp, therefore, I burnt my arm badly on the grill when I thought I had turned the oven on. The fridge had an inch of ice along the back, therefore freezing our food.
Having digested this, the bedrooms are small. The double bed had a huge hole in the base of the divan material that looked like it had been clawed away by an animal, around a foot in diameter and on full show. The bedding is sparse, 1 flat pillow each with the thinest of duvets. No headboard so we were leaning in bed against the cladding/logs.
There was dust everywhere and found rubbish on the floor.
The biggest problem was the bathroom. The bath had scum stains, the shower curtain spattered with dark red stains and plastered in mould. The soap dish had an old bar of soap welded into it and the taps on all the basins and bath had brown scum around them. The bath panel was attached to the bath with black electricians tape.
On showing the cleaner the following day, we were up graded to another lodge, for which we had to call back the cleaner to clean the toilet (I won't go into details).
We didn't venture into the clubs ,took a look at the pool and decided that we wouldn't use it. The whole area is shabby and run down. We were very dissappointed and nothing like the brochure advert from Hoseasons.
I have never comlained like this before but will be writing to the management.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
I'm sorry that your trip to Landguard did not meet your expectations. We make every effort to ensure our visitors have an enjoyable stay, so I would like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the team and to assure you that we take all feedback seriously. Your comments will be passed to the staff and team at Landguard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed in one of the goldlodges at this site for a week and I'm glad we spent most of it travelling around the lovely island and not in the lodge.

Upon arrival we found a number of issues including the door to the boiler cupboard not shutting, the plinth in the kitchen hanging off, a knob on the robe hanger in the bathroom consisting of just a screw and the smell was very bad. We immediately wandered to the site office to complain and was told it would be sorted. When we returned at the end of the day the plinth was in place (but you couldn't open the dishwasher without dislodging it), the screw it he bathroom now had a white drawer knob on it (the rest was pine!) and we kindly given a fabric freshened spray for the smell. (the cupboard door didn't shut all week)

That evening we discovered the sheets on the bed weren't fitted and so moved to the middle of the (uncomfortable) bed during the night to leave bare mattress (no mattress protector)

The TV bracket on the wall did not have the tv on it - ours was standing on the sideboard (and didn't pick up any free view channels - although there were notices up blaming the digital switchover)

In general, the accommodation felt very run down and unclean. The site itself wasn't much better. The pool water had many 'bits' floating in it and we found many of the activities being cancelled at the last minute despite us having booked much to the disappointment of our children (and our aggravation having returned early for the HydroBalls for example)

We even had to ring the main booking line on our first day to check we actually had a "gold" standard lodge.

Our outlook was over the small playpark. Unfortunately whilst the swing frame was there, the swings were missing and the slide was broken.

We attended the entertainment one of the nights and I have to say the girls were working very hard and give them all credit - our children did enjoy this part! My concern though was the amount of security needed - if it needed this much on the door what amount my lodge only a couple of hundred yards away.

All in all, very disappointing and would certainly not recommend the Gold lodges nor the site.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
I'm sorry that your trip to Landguard did not meet your expectations. We make every effort to ensure our visitors have an enjoyable stay, so I would like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the team and to assure you that we take all feedback seriously. Your comments will be passed to the staff and team at Landguard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We booked through the Sun £9.50 tokens and found it was a good base for exploring the Isle of Wight. We upgraded to a Silver caravan which was clean on arrival and all bedding was clean(something I always check!) there have been poor reviews ref the swimming pool bit we found it to be clean and although the changing rooms are tiny, they were clean. I think possibly those who found pool/changing rooms dirty, may have been there when the outdoor pool was open meaning debris from outside could have been brought inside. The play areas could do with an upgrade but not too bad. Can't comment on the entertainment as we didnt go to any of it. Small amusements room. Our highlight was the Isle of Wight itself, beautiful! :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniDPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We camped in our touring caravan at Landguard for the first fortnight of the summer hols. We paid mostly using Tesco reward vouchers, making it very affordable for a 2 week, high season family holiday. Bearing in mind this is a Park Resorts location, you have to recognise that it is marketed in a certain way & run to a formula. If that formula doesn't happen to suit you then maybe you should be looking elsewhere. Having said that, Landguard was a private site up until a few years ago so also has a 'pre-park-resorts' legacy which marginally takes the edge off the naff-ness of some of that!

Some of the reviews below have horrified me, particularly the one about the violent man who was attacking people - as it must have been just a week or 2 after we left - but all in all, we really enjoyed our week, felt it was good value, and are likely to go back. We have had friends who stayed in the lodges / log cabins - also had a fantastic time and couldn't fault it.

Positives - for camping the pitches were well spaced (more space than other Park resorts sites we have used) and with sufficient hedging, trees etc to give shade, some privacy & a pleasant atmosphere, and the site was well maintained (tidy,grass cut, bins emptied etc)
The touring wardens were very helpful & hardworking (constantly seeing them litter picking) and responded to reports of showers not working etc
The camping field felt very safe for the kids that week, and they made loads of friends and learnt to ride their bikes on their own on the tarmacked roadways
It was about a 20min walk to the beach and a 10 min walk to Lidl's (which was actually excellent), 15 mins to a large Co-op. You could probably walk to the Morrisson's as well - about 5 mins by car.
The entertainment on site isn't much of a draw for us, but you could use the larger Entertainment complex at the neighbouring site at Lower Hyde if you like that sort of thing.
The site had a nice indoor pool which was bath-water hot, and an outside pool in need of some TLC

Negatives - for touring - the shower/ toilet blocks need a major refurb - they were a bit grim, also needed more regular and thorough cleaning
For touring - the roadway down to the site is narrow & you wouldn't be able to pass 2 caravans by each other (I guess hence rule about departures by 10am and arrivals after 2pm)
Also trees on the touring field were close to the roadways making manouvering caravans when pitches were full a bit more awkward.
The entertainment is fairly naff (but not our sort of thing, anyway) and bar prices are shocking (£4.50 for pint of Magners).
Food at the cafe/ restaurant is edible and cheap but not nice - seek out a decent pub & enjoy a view at the same time!
The pool was a bit murky, the changing rooms were tiny and I wasn't that impressed with the lifeguards - didn't seem too interested in stopping physical horseplay between adults & big kids happening in the shallow / baby end.

- Summary - we have been to the I of W about 6 times now and WILL go again. If our budget means that we have to book using Tesco clubcard vouchers again, then we will return to camp at Landguard. Otherwise I have to say that we have grown out of Park resorts and will probably look for a privately run site with no 'entertainment programme' and spend the week enjoying what the ISLAND actually has to offer, rather than what Park Resorts seem to think people are into.

Room Tip: Take you own room with you in the form of your own caravan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackwaterKath71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed for one night on our little tour of the Isle of Wight in a VW campervan. This site was Ok. Our pitch was next door to the shower block which was Ok for one night but any more and the air vent at the side of the block whizzing round all night would have drove me crazy! the facilities were clean if not a little old looking.
Didn't really find much to do in the immediate area but that may just be me! We drove out in the van because of this so didn't spend the day on the site. We went into the site entertainment at the the nightime. It was by far the funniest night i've had in ages. The entertainment consisted of the 3 hardest working girls I have ever seen. They did kids entertainment, DJ'd and then provided a song-dance extravaganza which was very 'phoenix nights'. The two bouncers keeping 'dog' at the door made me wonder why such security was needed for such a small place.
I would'nt rush back but it was just OK

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWillibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
0.8 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#30 of 52 in Shanklin
296 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Landguard Manor Road, Shanklin PO37 7PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landguard Holiday Park has a lovely friendly atmosphere, set in sheltered woodland, just a short walk from the traditional seaside town of Shanklin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Hotel Shanklin
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing