We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Family Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in a Gold plus ( my husband, two daughters and myself) and honestly was slightly dreading it after reading some of the reviews that we read on here after we had booked, however this is one of best family holidays we have had and we normally take our children to butlins!

Our carvan was clean and spacious however we were disappointed that despite paying for the upgrade that there was very limited storage space in the bedrooms, eg no draws or surface space in any of bedrooms meaning that we had nowhere to put our clothes etc and could not unpack and had to live out of suitcases for the duration of our stay, what you expect from a Gold plus!
Also our beds were not made up on arrival as we expected them to be and no bedding had even been provided and when my husband went to find out he returned £18 lighter in the pocket having been informed linen was extra and was not included?
He payed for the linen and was told that someone would be over with it to sort it out shortly, we were then quite shocked to return from the dinner (having given up waiting for the linen) to find the linen had been dumped on the table in the front room instead of put on the beds?!
Not what you need late in the evening with two tired toddlers!

The park itself isn't to big which was good for parking and using facilities which we didn't have any issues with.
There is a small shop on site which was well stocked with all the basic items needed and there was also a Morrison's supermarket 2mins drive.
There is a nice outdoor play area with plenty of seating to sit and keep a eye on the little ones
The restraunt looked visually more like a café, so we chose to eat in the outside dinning area overlooking the park, the food was reasonably priced and of good qualify and we ate here on a few occasions during our stay.

The man that was running the restraunt was friendly but we noticed that he seemed to be taking orders, cooking, serving and clearing tables all on his own with no other restraunt staff to mention for the whole period of our stay and this would account to why the food on occasion did take a long time to arrive, something park resorts needs to address.
The swimming pool was clean and warm and our Daughters enjoyed the water slide.



The staff were all really helpful and friendly but did seem to be worked very hard with little breaks.
The entertainment staff are fabulous!
Jovaltine and Buttons were particularly outstanding knowing all of the children's names and making sure that they were all involved & felt special no matter what the age of the child.
They were equally as friendly with the adult guests spending time talking to each group and trying to engage them in the fun!
The only comment we could make in regards to the entertainment is that Park Resorts NEED to give this wonderful team some more funds to work with as they had very limited entertainment resources available to them and we for one feel that they did deserve the right equipment and materials to match there great efforts, enthusiasm & obvious passion for making peoples holidays a memorable one!
Also we felt that many other guests that were staying at the park could not be bothered to participate in the evening entertainment at Landguard & chose to use the adjoining park resorts entertainment facilities as they are a lot bigger & busier (as it is a bigger holiday park and also classed as a lively park where as Landguard is a relaxed family park) and this didn't help with the entertainments team situation.

Over all we really enjoyed our stay at Landguard and would recommend it for anyone wanting to explore that I.O.W who wants a relaxed family atmosphere.
We will certainly be back again to see Jo and Buttons :)

Room Tip: Book a lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to write this detailed and honest review. Firstly, I am thrilled that even with a few niggles that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us at Landguard. Unfortunately with promotional bookings, extras such as linen and entertainment passes do need to be paid for, they are not included in the price of an upgrade. If you had paid for linen before your arrival your beds would have been made up for you.

I am so pleased that you chose to eat in our onsite restaurant on more than one occasion and were happy with the choice and quality of the food we provided.

As you mention, we do have an onsite shop but are also very near to the local supermarkets. It is great that you were happy with all our staff and have given a special mention to our entertainment team, I shall pass your comments on to Jo who will be very pleased to hear them.

Thanks once again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again so you can explore even more of the Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

After an appalling time at another Park holiday site last year, we headed to Landguard with some hesitation, however, when we arrived we found our accommodation (silver plus, I think they called it) to be lovely, clean, comfortable, well equipped and warm. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The site itself was small and fairly quiet, a lovely little playground for the kids and well stocked small shop. The bar, restaurant and pool facilities looked ... a little tired and in need of some tlc, with the changing rooms being a major down point, but as a parent of two small children the site was great, it felt safe and had what they needed for a great holiday. Although we didn't see any of the later evening entertainment, the kids entertainment was great with games and dancing etc.. although sparkys story time is something to avoid ... yawn! And I can't finish without saying that Joveltine (sorry if it's spelt wrong) the childrens entertainer (amongst many other roles I'm sure) was brilliant, learning all the kids names and getting them all involved, my girls Emily and Louise took a real shine to her. So if it's a quiet family orientated site you're looking for, without too much glitz and glamour Landguard will fit the bill :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi Joanne, firstly I am so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at one of our other camps but am so glad that Landguard has restored your faith in Park Resorts! I am so pleased that you were happy with your accommodation and found our staff to be helpful and friendly. It is a shame you were not so happy with the swimming pool facilities, we do appreciate that as we share our facilities with our sister park, Lower Hyde, that the changing rooms do sometimes get very crowded. I have passed your comments onto Jo, our entertainments manager, who as always was thrilled to receive such positive feedback. As you know, there is so much for a family to do on the Isle of Wight and I do hope you would bear us in mind for any future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Brilliant time at landguard very clean caravan swimming pool pleasant all staff were wounderful , buttons from entertainment was brilliant but jovaltines voice goes through you and is too loud n can be very annoying, bar staff were excellent especially becky and Julie made our nights most nights , we ate at landguard in the granary and it was lovely very hot and plenty to eat was very impressed with the meals , overall a brilliant weekend !!! Will be returning !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hello David, thanks for writing this review for Trip Advisor and I am so pleased that you had such a great time! Becky and Julie work very hard behind the bar so they will be thrilled with your comments as will Buttons. The granary serves a wide variety of meals and I am glad you found the food to be good, hot and filling. There is so much to see and do on the Island so I do hope you come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

we have just returned from a weeks holiday, we stayed in a silver caravan which was very clean. me, my hubby, son, daughter in law and 3 years old granddaughter all had a fantastic week. all the staff on the park were fantastic all very helpful and friendly. before we went there all I was doing was hearing horrible reviews about most things, well all I can say is I think they were a load of rubbish, im pleased it did not put us off. it is a small park ideal if you don't want an action packed holiday. great base for touring the isle. with the park been small we meet some lovely people. on the park you have a reception with very helpful staff, there is a small shop, a indoor pool and an outdoor pool which was not open as its too early for that one. theres a lovely little bar which you can sit and watch people having fun. one of our family highlights was the evening entertainment fun for all to be had. the two young girls jo and laura where fantastic bless them, they really did work hard. we enjoyed ourselves so much that we have booked again for next year. and I must say we are all looking forward to returning next year. we would like to say a BIG thank you to all the staff at landguard

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi Jackie, thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review for us. I am so pleased you had such a fantastic stay with us and that you are already looking forward to next year’s holiday! I am pleased to say that our outdoor pool opened at the end of May, and it is lovely to see people enjoying a swim in the fine weather. We are a small park and pride ourselves with friendly and helpful staff so I shall pass on your comments to our entire team. Once again, thank you and we all look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Just got home from a 7 night stay in a silver lodge, we had an amazing holiday.

The lodge was very spacious plenty of room for us all (4 adults and a 2 year old) equipped with a washing machine and dishwasher. The only problem we had was the oven only had 1 shelf which does not make cooking for 5 people very easy as putting anything on the bottom of the oven burnt it. But overall we were very pleased with our lodge.

The entertainment in the evening was amazing, Jovaltine and Button put on an amazing show every night. Got all the kids up dancing and joining in.

Was such fantastic holiday we have already booked for next year.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi Laura, thank you for taking the time to write this review for Trip Advisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you have chosen to stay with us again next year! All of our ovens only have one shelf, but had you popped into reception we could have provided another one for you. I will pass your kind comments on to Jo and Button who are always thrilled to receive positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We have just got home from a fantastic holiday (7nts) holiday at Landguard and are very much looking forward to next year when we return (its already booked!!). We stayed in a Silver 3 bedroom caravan, which was lovely. A couple of little issues with the caravan itself (light in bathroom didn't work, smoke detector battery was low and beeping) nothing major though. The caravan was very clean when we arrived, and loved having the beds made up.

We used the pool on site, which was perfect for our 4year old she really built up confidence in the swimming pool. The play park was also perfect for her age and it was nice to be able sit on a bench whilst she happily played.

All the staff on site were friendly and helpful, but special mention has to go to the entertainers (Jovaltine & Button) who did a fantastic job on the entertainments programme for both children and adults. Our little girl loved going down in the evenings and playing the games and meeting the character. Both entertainers ensured all the children were given a fair amount of time and chances to win a certificate/prize whilst ensuring everything was running smoothly.

The park is a small park but if like us you have young children it is perfect. We felt very safe on site and had no concerns at all. We have booked again for next year, this time into one of the lodges, but would go back to a caravan again.

Definitely recommend. Not too far into the village of shanklin, and easy to get to most places on the island.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay fantastic, looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi Rachel, firstly thank you so much for writing this review. I am thrilled that you had a fantastic weeks stay with us and that you have chosen Landguard again for next year’s break. I do hope you reported the light and smoke alarm battery as these are issues that our maintenance team could have dealt with very quickly. I have passed your comments on to Jo and Button who were very happy that you enjoyed their entertainment program and we all look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Went here for a long weekend with my partner and 2 year old son and it was brilliant! Staff were LOVELY!! Entertainment was great (something for everyone). Nice park right neat out caravan nice club house and lovely indoor pool! Caravan was lovely and clean!! Would like to thank Jo vertese and Buttons for always making our night enjoyable! Will deffinately be returning but for longer this time! Would deffinately recommend to all!! Xx

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happylady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hello and thank you for writing such a positive review, our aim is to create amazing memories and it looks as though we have achieved this! I am so pleased you had a wonderful holiday and found our staff helpful and enjoyed our facilities. We really do look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.7 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Landguard Manor Road, Shanklin PO37 7PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Price Range: £12 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landguard Holiday Park has a lovely friendly atmosphere, set in sheltered woodland, just a short walk from the traditional seaside town of Shanklin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Hotel Shanklin
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing