We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 year visiting never disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

As ever the accommodation was great the entertainment staff- buttons elvis Julie Joveltine & becky kept our kids happy all week.... The life guards held extra activities which our kids loved..... The park has retained its family feel and the kids feel safe .... The only downside was all the cigarette butts left by our caravan steps ..... But that was the only down side.... 7 days away and money well spent

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jullybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Hello and thank you for writing this positive review. I am so pleased that you have chosen to stay with us for the past three years, and that once again you have had a wonderful time. I do apologise about the cigarette butts, had you reported it to reception we could have got maintenance to clear them away immediately. I am thrilled that our entertainment team kept your children happy and that they enjoyed the water activities and sincerely hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We booked this on a cheap Sun deal and to be honest, weren't expecting all that much! However, we were very pleasantly suprised. We found we'd been given a Woodland Lodge that was fantastic - 3 bedrooms, large open plan lounge, dining room, modern kitchen, bathroom and 2nd separate WC. 2 sofas, flat screen tv, dvd player, dishwasher - absolutely everything you could possibly need! Also in a really nice setting amongst lots of big trees and quite secluded, away from the main area where all the caravans were. There was a nice big decked area with table and chairs and we enjoyed a bbq there one night. The lodge was spacious, clean, in a lovely setting so overall pretty great and very much exceeded our expectations!

The park itself seems very well maintained and there is a nice play area for children. All the staff we encountered were very helpful. We didn't eat in the bar/restaurant so can't comment on that but the prices did seem very reasonable.

The location of the park is great for exploring the Island and you are really close to Shanklin and Sandown. There is also a big Morrisons nearby so its easy to stock up on food and drink (rather than pack the car full to the brim, bringing it all with you like we did!)

My only gripe would be the pool - my daughter really enjoyed it as it was a great size and she loved the slide. However, the pool water was really murky/cloudy, you could hardly see the bottom which surely isn't right. But the main problem is that the changing room was TINY! Literally one small bench and a few hooks, really only enough room for 2 or 3 people to get changed at one time so it was really cramped and you had to wait for bench space to become free as you couldn't put anything on the floor as it had got in a disgusting state (I hate to think what it must be like during peak times).

Overall though, this park exceeded our expectations and we've already booked for next year as they are doing a deal where you can get it for exactly the same price you paid this year!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKCarolineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Hi Caroline, thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review. I am so pleased that you were happy with your accommodation and even managed to enjoy a barbeque on the decking, we must have had been having some nice weather! I do apologise that the pool clarity was not up to standard and have passed your comments onto our Sports and Leisure manager to investigate further. We do appreciate that the changing rooms are small especially as we share our facilities with our sister park Lower Hyde, but they should never be dirty so once again for that I do apologise. I am thrilled that overall we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We booked a cheap 3 night stay with the Sun to stay at Park resorts Languard on the outskirts of Shanklin. The Caravan was a 3 bedroom Abi Vista (Row H number 3). Not much storage in the kitchen but this is not the parks fault. It might be new this year as was clean and not worn like some. The only issue was broken clips on the heated towel rail. All the caravans are arranged in rows. Ours was furthest from the facilities near the entrance but this is a small park so still close. Blow heaters in all the bedrooms & the lounge. We had a note about ants but didn't see any in our caravan. We didn't use the café but they were advertising two breakfasts for £6 including toast and tea. We went to the entertainment at this site one night but went to Lower Hyde the other nights as the facilities are better. The outside pool was supposed to be open which with the weather would be great but they closed it to paint around the edge? Also cash only at the facilities as they had a note up saying they were unable to process card payments. Shanklin is easily walkable as well as Morrisons & Lidl just down the road. Lower Hyde is closer to town though. A good base to visit attractions around the area. We went to the zoo at Sandown and the Model village at Godshill as well as the steam railway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_D175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi Richard, thank you for writing this detailed review for Trip Advisor. I am pleased you were happy with your caravan, it was not new to the park this year and has actually been here since 2009, we do try to keep them as neat and tidy as possible. I hope you reported the towel rail as this is a problem that would have been easily fixed by our maintenance team. I can assure you that our outdoor pool is now up and running and it is a pleasure to watch people enjoying themselves in this fine weather.

I am pleased you took the time to visit some of the Islands tourist attractions and hope that if you decided to visit the Island again you would once again choose us as a base, perhaps next time you could sample the great breakfasts we serve in the Granary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This holiday site is worth staying at, the customer service is great and the staff were friendly and helpful. My booking problem was sorted out immediately which left me impressed. The site is clean and the caravan I stayed in was spotless. The park is placed in an area which is very easy to reach and get to attractions. It is near both Shanklin and Sandown beaches.
I have already booked my 3rd holiday with this site and would recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady_Ralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review for us, I am pleased that the initial booking problem was sorted out efficiently and that you found our site to be clean and tidy. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Been before it was fab but this time the lodge they gave us was missed they admitted and was not cleaned to the point of pubic hair still in shower bird poo every ware on decking loo not clear heater hanging off wall directly next to loo had to take my daughter yo loo as scared she would burn herself and so much more but the entertainment and bar staff was a credit but accommodation was such a let down this time. Upon complaint only got 25% off next holiday with parks have to say not quite a redeem of them self but a least they amitted it was their fault only stayed cause I cleaned it spent fortune on cleaning stuff and the entertainment team

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eppyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hello and thank you for writing this review, I am so sorry your accommodation was not up to our usual standards of cleanliness, if you had reported it at the time then we would have sent a cleaner round to re-clean the lodge, we would not have ever expected you to clean it yourself. The same applies for the heater, we would have sent maintenance round to reattach it to the wall. Due to your issues, I am pleased you have been given a discount off your next visit and hope you choose to spend it back with us at Landguard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break here and have to say we had a fabulous time. My 3 young children didn't want to leave. Buttons and Elvis (children's entertainers) were fantastic, they included all children and adults. Our caravan was immaculate and clean, bedding made on arrival, extremely spacious too. The park is in need of a revamp as far as decor, the inside looks very tired and old. Aside from that would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi Lisa, I am so pleased you and your family had such a wonderful stay with us here at Landguard, and thank you for writing this review. We are hoping to refurbish our entertainment centre over the winter months so hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay with Park resorts in Langaurd. The Caravan was spotless and well equiped was very big and had room for up to 8 people, however we were sharing with a colony of ants, the bed was very uncomfortable. and it was freezing inside the caravan even with the gas fire on in the evenings, the cold was coming in from the air vents, and the many holes under the floor. (i.e in the cupboard, and under the sink)
the park itself is fabulous for kids, but not so for adults. We ventured to the 'restaurant' to be met with a cafe/takeaway. food was average cafe fare. the entertainment block is appalling decor wise, whoever painted it must have done it with their eyes closed, very dark, dated and left me feeling grubby.
The entertainment was excellent for the children and the crew Buttons, Joey (Elvis) were fabulous with the kids, they were the 2 hardest working people there, the Adult entertainment was very poor. this was made worse when most of the adults left the block to go to the sister site at Lower Hyde, (we did venture there during the day returning from Shanklin this was much pleasanter site , and more modern with better facilities both inside and out.) Cant comment on their entertainment as we were happy to watch the children's entertainment at Languard.

Did not use the pool, as the outside pool was not open on either site, and the indoor pool had restricted times for adults and children,

We did enjoy our stay on the Isle of Wight, and our visits to Shanklin, Rye was not so nice, nor was Sandown.
If I were to book again i would make sure there was better entertainment for adults, this way we would not have to go off site.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi Jean and Nick, thanks for writing this review. I am so sorry that we did not fill your expectations but am pleased that you thought the children’s entertainment was fantastic, the guys really do work hard to keep the kids happy.

During the warm periods the appearance of ants is fairly common. Advice from the local environmental health officer confirms that they appear for no apparent reason and do not reflect any lack of hygiene, unfortunately due to health and safety rules we are unable to use pesticides inside our caravans. They can only be attributed to a force of nature, but we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

We have a supply of new mattress in stock so do wish you had reported your uncomfortable mattress as we could have replaced it for you, also we have plug in heaters that we loan out for a small refundable deposit.

Overall I am pleased that you did enjoy your stay and hope you choose to use Park Resorts in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
4.6 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
10.9 mi away
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Tom's Eco Lodge
Tom's Eco Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yarmouth
203 reviews
4.2 mi away
Rookley Country Park
Rookley Country Park
#2 of 2 in Rookley
787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Landguard Manor Road, Shanklin PO37 7PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Price Range: £11 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landguard Holiday Park has a lovely friendly atmosphere, set in sheltered woodland, just a short walk from the traditional seaside town of Shanklin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Hotel Shanklin
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing