We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean site but small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Upon arrival we parked in the car park, which isn't very big at all and some of the spaces are tiny and checked in at reception. Reception was very efficient at booking us in but we were told that we couldn't park the car by the caravan at all not even to unload, therefore we had to make a few journeys. We went out in the car a few times visiting different places and were lucky if we managed to find a parking spot on our return. There are not enough parking spaces for everyone. The caravan itself was very nice with all the amenities needed. The site itself isn't very big, although it is very clean and we went into the club a few evenings which isn't very big either, although there weren't many people in there. The adult entertainment wasn't the best and the drinks weren't cheap. On the other hand you can also use the facilities at Lower Hyde which isn't that far away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Hi Sharon, firstly thank you for taking the time to write this review. As we are a small park, due to health and safety reasons we are unable to allow cars to park next to the caravans, this is because in case of an emergency an ambulance would be unable to pass. Although this can be inconvenient for some it does allow us to be a child friendly park and we do provide trolleys to help with luggage. I am sorry that you experienced difficulties whilst trying to park, we do acknowledge that our main car park can get overcrowded during busy periods, but we do have an alternative car parking spaces behind the entertainment centre, and I do apologise if this was not made clear to you when you checked in. I am so pleased that you were happy with your accommodation and do hope that you consider Park Resorts for any future holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of 6 on a "sun holidays" promotion. We've been to several parks on the Isle of Wight but this has been the best by far. It's a small well run site. Reception was efficient & friendly on booking in.( I had also recently made some hassle free changes to our booking). the ststic Caravan was new, comfortable & beautiful-by far the best we have stayed in. There is an indoor & outdoor pool- neither are huge but neither is the park! They are safe & the lifeguards are welcoming & nice to the kids. Only slight annoyance was that even though the weather was hot & sunny, both pools were closed at 5 for payable activities which were then cancelled due to lack of participants. The entertainment was pretty rubbish but it didn't interest us as the weather was so lovely we wanted to be outside. The arcade was small & could be improved-they're missing a trick!!
All in all a great, good value weekend. I would definitely return here

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaroGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review. I am so glad that you were happy with your caravan and found our reception team to be helpful and friendly. I am sorry that the pools closed when nobody had booked the activities, I shall pass your comments on to our Sports and Leisure manager to see if we can prolong the opening times if this happens again. I am thrilled that you would consider staying here with us at Landguard again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We booked this through a daily mail holiday deal. We were in Bronze accomodation and we weren't expecting much. We were happily surprised to open the door to a nice and clean 3 bedroom caravan, it had all the amenaties we needed: Fridge, freezer, oven, microwave, fire in the lounge. Only thing was that the bedrooms were quite cold as there was no heating in them. The site was nice, spent a couple of evenings in the bar, the entertainment was good for us and the kids. The bar is a litte dated and could do with a bit of a re-furb but this is only something minor. The park was imaculously clean. I would recommend to anyone with a young family. Was a fantastic base for us to explore the island and have something nice and comfortable to come back to. Only downside was the weather, can't blame Park Resorts for that though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel_Oliver85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you were happy with your accommodation but sorry that the weather was not better for you. We do always suggest people upgrade to silver accommodation in the colder months as this would guarantee you heating in the bedrooms. I am glad you found the park to be clean and that you enjoyed the entertainment we provided. As you say, we are a fantastic base to explore the Island and I do hope you choose to holiday with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Booked a 3 bed caravan for a midweek stay. It was almost clean but 'tired looking'. The carpet and seating were grubby, the carpet loose from the floor and kept sliding from under you. The gas cooker was impossible to keep alight - we did call maintenance about the cooker and a chap turned up a few hours later, his only comment 'well the gas pressures not like at home' so we just had to be vigilant! The beds were small and uncomfortable, of course, and had a range of stains. Pillows had dried blood on - yuk! Found a pile of moldy old peanuts under my sons bed and a stinky sock stuffed behind the sofa cushion much to the amusement of the kids! We didn't use the pool as we had read reviews and the kids prefer the beach anyway. We did use the play area which is small but good.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katyjaneBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Hi Katy Jane, thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry that we did not fulfill your expectations. I hope you reported the issues with your accommodation to reception as we would have sent a supervisor round immediately to resolve them. We keep a supply of new mattresses and would have changed them for you had they been that uncomfortable. We do also apologise for the cleanliness of the caravan this will be reported to our cleaning department. I do hope that this experience has not put you off using Park Resorts again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Small park but had all the amenities. Was close to town too. Pool is a sound size but changing rooms are very small with just a bench to get changed in. Very helpful staff at reception. Caravan was silver which was good quality and clean. Booked with the Daily Mail and upgraded. Great deal will defiantly return next year. May school holidays and was just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Hi Natasha, thank you for writing this review for Trip Advisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our reception staff to be helpful and your accommodation clean and of good quality. We do appreciate that as we share our facilities with lower Hyde that the changing rooms do get very busy at times, but I am thrilled that you will be returning next year and we all look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

really good week loved ever minite off it, the entertainment staff where really nice got everone involde Buttons, Elvis, Jo where really funny they made you welcome and i did not wanna leave, Bar stuff Gayle, Becky, Julie, Kerr, where really nice by the second day the new wait i was drinking, Secutity Leanna, Vinny seen them before really nice open the doors for you

Room Tip: we was in a tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Hi Stephen, thank you for writing this review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for taking the time to remember everybody’s name and for giving them a special mention this doesn't go unnoticed and will be passed on to the staff. I do hope that you choose to holiday with us here at Landguard again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A great park for a family holiday on the Isle of Wight
The teamstars Joey and Laura (aka Elvis and Buttons) are excellent.
Barstaff Becky and Gayle are friendly and helpfull.
The lifeguards Lewis and Rhys are very good.
The security team of Ross Robbie Vinney and Leanne help to maintain your safety.
The shop which is run by Mike is well stocked and he is always Friendly

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Hi Malcolm, thank you for taking the time to remember the names of most of our staff and giving them a special mention, it really is appreciated and I shall pass on your kind comments to all of them. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay on the Isle of Wight and do hope you choose to use Park Resorts again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
4.6 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
10.9 mi away
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Tom's Eco Lodge
Tom's Eco Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yarmouth
203 reviews
4.2 mi away
Rookley Country Park
Rookley Country Park
#2 of 2 in Rookley
787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Landguard Manor Road, Shanklin PO37 7PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Price Range: £11 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landguard Holiday Park has a lovely friendly atmosphere, set in sheltered woodland, just a short walk from the traditional seaside town of Shanklin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Hotel Shanklin
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing