We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landguard Holiday Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Kidlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Landguard Holiday Park”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a fantastic long weekend away on the island for park finals we thank all the staff for entertaining us, we thank
Sam from reception
mike in the shop
Beck, Julie, Kerry and Gayle for giving us service at the bar
Lewis, Rhys, Jo and jasmine for keeping everyone safe in the pool and giving up their spare time to do extra activities after the normal swimming
Laura (Buttons) and Joey (Kelvis) for entertaining all the children and decorating the room in their spare time for the themes that they had and just generally keeping everyone happy

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hi Chiara and thank you so much for writing this review.

Park Finals was a fantastic weekend, it was lovely to see so many familiar faces again and we thank everybody who participated!

Thank you for mentioning so many of our staff by name, I shall be passing your kind words on to each and every one of them.

Once again, thank you for this positive review and we all look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Landguard - 01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    282
    114
    55
    56
See reviews for
599
114
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was our first "Sun Holiday" and we paid to upgrade to a Gold Plus caravan. Very pleased we did as the weather was quite chilly and we were glad of the proper central heating - if anything we were too warm! The caravan was great - exceptionally clean and well equipped in the kitchen.

Disappointingly, the indoor pool's heating system was broken, and although the pool was still open, it was just too cold to take our 10 month baby swimming (we tried and had to get out almost immediately due to him shivering). Luckily we were able to use the pool at Lower Hyde instead, but it was much smaller and quite busy. This was probably the most negative aspect of our stay.

There was a great breakfast deal available - two full breakfasts including tea or coffee for £6, which we thought was excellent value for money. The burgers and chips we had one night were also decent quality.

We didn't see much entertainment at night - the linked bingo (played with people staying at other Park Resorts) was well organised. Sparky the rabbit was good for the children, although our baby preferred Narky the rat when he appeared.

There were so many places to visit within easy reach, making this a fantastic base for exploring the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystaltipps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I am delighted that you were happy with your accommodation and found it to be clean and well equipped. It is always worth upgrading in the colder months to get some extra comforts such as central heating and double glazing.

I am so sorry that we were experiencing problems with our swimming pool during your stay, so for that I do apologise. I am pleased to say that the heating issues have all been resolved now.

As you say, our onsite restaurant ‘The Granary’ really does serve a wide variety of tasty meals at very competitive prices, so I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals there.

It is a shame you did not see much of our entertainment but am pleased that your child got to meet Sparky and Narky!

Landguard really is a great base to explore the Island and I do hope we see you again in the future.

Landguard - 01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We regularly visit the Isle of Wight and always book via a 'Sun Holiday'. We have family on the island so a caravan is only ever a base to shower and sleep but it is always good to get a nice one ! I paid to upgrade to a silver caravan and was definitely impressed with the caravan we got. It was a bit odd though that the walk in wardrobe was bigger than the toilet !! Bit disappointed with the clubhouse though. As I said we don't really go there to use the facilities but we did pop in one evening and were very disappointed. Overall though I would recommend Languard as there is always somewhere to go and something to do on the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hi Justine and thank you for writing this review.

I am so pleased that you were happy with your accommodation, it is always worth upgrading to get a newer model caravan and multi room heating, especially in the colder months.

I am sorry you were disappointed with the club house, our team do try to keep all age groups happy with a variety of children’s games and adult cabaret acts..

As you say Landguard really is a great base to explore the Island and I do hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Landguard
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed in a Gold Plus caravan, very clean and brand new, so we had central heating and double glazing, but otherwise nothing particulary to set it apart from the others on the site. I felt the caravan could be offered with some touches to make it feel that you've paid that bit extra, such as a couple of lamps, some cushions on the sofa, maybe a rug in the lounge....
Anyhow, the site is OK, no parking next to the caravan which is a pain and the entertainment facilities are looking a little worn out, but staff very friendly and efficient. There is some sort of entertainment all day and night long should you wish, we generally used the site as a base to explore the isle, but my 3 year old especially enjoyed 'Sparky the rabbits' show !
There is a bonus to this site, being you can use the sister site facilities next door which is about a 10 minute walk away, they have a larger entertainment complex, and quite a good evening show etc particulary for the children. Overall, not too bad at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Hi Matt and thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I can only apologise if you felt disappointed with your gold plus accommodation although I can assure you that all our units meet the specifications stated both on our web site and in our 2013 static brochure, but I am pleased that you found it to be clean on your arrival.

As we are a small park we are unable to allow cars to park next to the caravans, this is because in case of an emergency an ambulance would be unable to pass. This does however allow us to be a child friendly park and allow children to run around freely.

I am delighted that you found all our team to be efficient and friendly and that your daughter enjoyed the entertainment.

As you say, Landguard is a great base to explore the island and it is a real benefit for all of our guests to be able to share the facilities with our sister park, Lower Hyde, which is only a short walk away.

Once again thank you for this review and I do hope you consider Park Resorts for your future holidays.

Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERKSHIRE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This park is ideal for a base, small, quiet and ideal for people without needing lots to do on site.

Our caravan was fab, very clean and cannot fault it, be mindfull parking is in a carpark not next to caravans, so if youre limited in walking ability, request a caravan close to carpark. The carpark is quite narrow also, can be hazardous on deaprture day, but overall not an issue.

The facilities are very minimal and as we went on the 16th September very little entertainment, however this did not affect us as we only use sites for base.

The Entertainment complex is in need of refurbishment as is very dull and dingey.

I would stay here again and would suggest if you want a park with more on it pop down the road 10 minute walk to neighbouring site.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hello and many thanks for writing this review.

I am so pleased that you were happy with your accommodation and found it to be very clean on your arrival. We do appreciate that our main car park does get very busy at times, so I do apologise if our receptionists did not inform you of our other car parks or advise you of the extra parking we have behind the entertainment centre.

I am sorry that you felt our entertainment centre was dull but I am happy to tell you that it will be getting refurbished over the winter months.

As you say it is a real benefit for all of our guests to be able to share the facilities with our sister park, Lower Hyde, which is only a short walk away.

Once again, thank you for this review and we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Can't fault the caravan, a silver plus and had lots of room. The clubhouse however was different. The toilets were disgusting! The smell made you feel sick! When you walk into female toilets you could see men urinating in the men's! Half the lights were off and no loo roll. Only went to club twice but that was too often. Used other park resorts on Isle of Wight (thorness bay) and can't fault it. Will stick with that site in future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sssju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hi and thank you for writing this review for Trip Advisor.
I am so pleased that you were happy with your accommodation but I do apologise that you did not enjoy the clubhouse. The facilities should never be dirty so for that I do apologise, if the lights had been reported than maintenance or security could have replaced the bulbs immediately.
Once again, I sincerely apologise that we did not fulfill your expectations but I do hope you consider using Park Resorts for any future holidays.

Landguard
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loughborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

What a terrible site. The ladies had 4 toilets and 4 showers for a large site that was completely full. They needed a complete overhaul - you can be old and clean but these were old and dirty; even after the cleaners had been in the squashed dead body of a daddylonglegs was still on the wall in the shower. The second building housing more toilets obviously hadnt been opened in years when it was obviously needed in peak July time....
Didnt dare go near the pool in case it was the same, so cant comment on that.
Will never go anywhere near Park Resorts again, wouldnt recommend it to anyone.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank krisb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hello Kris and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay on our camp site. We were extremely busy in peak season and the middle shower block was opened up to accommodate this.
We do appreciate that are facilities are a little dated but we do have two touring wardens and a full time cleaner doing their very best to keep them clean and tidy.
I can only apologise that we did not fulfill your expectations.

Landguard
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
706 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
804 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
447 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Landguard Manor Road, Shanklin PO37 7PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landguard Holiday Park has a lovely friendly atmosphere, set in sheltered woodland, just a short walk from the traditional seaside town of Shanklin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Hotel Shanklin
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing