We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a great break at Landguard. The caravan was spotless and very well equipped with a good sized double bedroom which had lots of storage space. All of the staff were very friendly and helpfull but a special mention for the pool staff who were very safety conscious and hard working. The whole park was very clean and well maintained and unlike some other reviewers we never had any problems with parking. I would recommend Landguard for a family holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for this fantastic review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and were very happy with your accommodation. I shall pass your comments regarding the lifeguards onto our sports and leisure manager, who will be delighted with such positive feedback. I hope to see you again and am thrilled you would recommend Landguard for a family holiday.
Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    282
    114
    55
    56
See reviews for
599
114
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as part of the sun newspaper offer for three nights. It was a very very clean resort, the caravan was spotless and the public areas were also incredibly clean. There was a great little park in the middle for the children but sadly it lacked any swings for the older children?
The location of the park was fab, it was within walking distance to the town and wasn't far in the car for everything else.

There were a few little things that let it down for us though. When we arrived there was chaos! Apparently the staff at the desk were unaware whose accommodation had been cleaned and whose hadn't! Surely by 4pm everyone's should have been done? When someone questioned it they were told they had over 100 people checking in and out that day! I'd hate to see them in the high season! The staff weren't really apologetic and certainly weren't friendly or welcoming!
The same thing happened when we checked out, the cleaners were there waiting but couldn't start as no staff had arrived! A little more organisation would have it running much better.
The facilities are very small. The clubhouse (when we finally found it) has about 15 tables in. Bear in mind there are over 100 caravans and lodges here on top of the camping! Again, I'd hate to see it in high season! All the daytime entertainment seemed to focus on the swimming pool, if you don't like that there isn't much else on! The evening entertainment isn't actually advertised, it just says live show, so you didn't really know what was going on.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I am sorry you experienced difficulty whilst checking in. Easter is our busiest time of year and is indeed peak season, there was more than 800 people checking in on the day you arrived. Check in times are staggered, 1.30pm for platinum and gold units, 2.30pm for silver and 4.00pm for bronze. Many people do arrive extremely early and our reception takes mobile phone numbers and endeavours to allow guests in early if their units are ready. All units were ready by 4pm that day and I do apologise if you found our receptionists unwelcoming, this is extremely unusual as you can tell by many other Tripadvisor reviews. As for check out, cleaners do not start until 9.30am as guests are not asked to vacate their caravans until 10.00am, reception is open from 9.00am, all staff arrived on time on the day in question.
The evening entertainment is advertised in reception and also in the entertainment centre which houses over 30 tables.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and found the park and your accommodation to be spotless and the park in a great location to explore the island.
Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Wow wat can I say me n my family have had the best time at landguard thanks to steff gaw and paige n buttons my kids love them loads always saying how nice they r n they guna miss them so friendly n lovley to talk too its a shame we had to leave after a week deffo will come again thank u xxxxxxxx

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovesherkidslot... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for this fantastic review!

I am so pleased that you had such a lovely time and I shall pass your kind comments onto our
Teamstars.

We all look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Our second time here in a year. We stayed in a lodge set in delightful woodland area of the park which was delightful. The grounds were immaculate and all staff were friendly. Only one change I would like to see is the swimming changing area expanded as there is not much room especially at busier times. Entertainment was very good especially the band one night called Big Town Boppers. Overall a great holiday and excellent base to see the rest of the Island. Will be booking again soon.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this fabulous review for us.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our lodges, as you mention they are set in a lovely woodland area where you can spot red squirrels which are native to the Isle of Wight. It is great to know that our staff are all friendly and that you enjoyed our evening entertainment.
We do appreciate that our Indoor pool changing rooms do get crowded during busy periods and are hoping to extend them during our winter refurbishments.
Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

thankyou to staff and langaurds just brilliant lots to do for all ages, had so much fun, biggest hits were steph and paige for all the entertainment too flash tyler buttons too.great experience for the whole family,will be back

Room Tip: cleanlinees was exceptional, pretty quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smurfette2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello and thank you for taking time for writing this wonderful review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Landguard and we all look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Very convenient location, within walking distance of Shanklin and old Shanklin (which is a beautiful little place). Supermarket within walking distance too. Park is clean with views of the hills. My kids loved meeting up with other children and playing in the little park. They also loved the pool. This is not a huge park with loads of facilities but it is quiet and pleasant and we always enjoy our time here.

Room Tip: Upgrades are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 369Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I am sorry you were disappointed with the indoor pool changing rooms, we do appreciate that they do get very busy at times as we share our facilities with Lower Hyde. I have passed your comments regarding the locker keys onto our sports and leisure manager who can hopefully amend this.
Our car park does also get very busy during peak periods but we do have another car park and alternative parking behind the entertainment centre so I do apologise if this was not pointed out to you during check in
On the plus side I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and as you say Landguard really is a great base to explore the Island.
Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The landguard holiday park is a great place to stay with its excellent location . The staff are friendly enough and the caravan we stayed in, which was a silver plus, was fine if a little dated and worn. The facilities are also pretty worn and dated with the swimming pool being the biggest disappointment . The changing rooms are not big enough with just a few cubicles with showers and one small bench . Just isn't big enough if u have more than one family there as we found out. There is also nothing to stop people walking in the area leading to the pool with their shoes on which isn't very hygienic. The lockers for some reason are out on the pool side , with most locker key bracelets broken , so u have to hold the key rather than wrapping it around your wrist, very annoying!

The clubhouse / restaurant is very small as is the amusement arcade , not something you normally associate with park resort camps. One other gripe, is the parking . There just isn't enough car parking spaces and sometimes u are forced to leave your car out on the street nearby which is not acceptable. However , I would recommend the Holiday park as a good place to stay as a base but it really needs some new investment from park resorts to upgrade the facilities to a better standard. I would also recommend for excellent entertainment and amusements you head up to the sister park lower Hyde which has seen some good investment .

All in all we had a really good time in-spite of the lack of decent entertainment.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pkenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I am sorry you were disappointed with the indoor pool changing rooms, we do appreciate that they do get very busy at times as we share our facilities with Lower Hyde. I have passed your comments regarding the locker keys onto our sports and leisure manager who can hopefully amend this.
Our car park does also get very busy during peak periods but we do have another car park and alternative parking behind the entertainment centre so I do apologise if this was not pointed out to you during check in
On the plus side I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and as you say Landguard really is a great base to explore the Island.
Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Landguard Manor Road, Shanklin PO37 7PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landguard Holiday Park has a lovely friendly atmosphere, set in sheltered woodland, just a short walk from the traditional seaside town of Shanklin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Hotel Shanklin
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing