We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing park”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My partner and I stayed in a Bronze lodge (W6). We origanaly booked for a week from the 14th June but after 2-3 days called into reception and booked another 6 nights. On day of arrival check in time was 4pm but as our lodge was cleaned we were able to get the keys at 2.30pm, which was a bonus. The reception staff were extremely helpful and polite. The lodge was lovely and spacious with a dishwasher. I did pack a travel iron, so I was surprised to see that there was an iron and ironing board there already. Lodge W6 is perfect for the sun which we had plenty of while we were there. The maitenance staff were also on the ball as the smoke alarm battery needed changing. Tony from maitenance is a funny man and a diamond. Housekeeping did a courtosy call to make sure everything was ok, which I thought was a nice houghtful touch. We did not use the pools, but the lady in the lodge next door did and she said the outdoor pool was lovely and warm. We did not use the entertainment facilities in the evening so can't pass comment on that. We did have breakfast in the cafe, which was good value at £6 for 2. With that you got a sausage, bacon, beans, an egg, a slice of toast and a cup of tea or coffee.
We enjoyed ourselves so much that we re-booked for 2 weeks next year. Landguard is a lovely little park to relax and explore the Isle of Wight.
The places we visited were Godshill (quaint), IOW zoo, Amazon World zoo (try it just for the Lemur monkeys!) amongst other places.
Definately my place to visit year after year. Thank you Landguard for allowing me to have one of the best holidays I have ever had! See you next year!

Room Tip: Book a Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you taking the time to give us this great review. I am delighted that you were happy with your accommodation and that you were able to extend your holiday. Our lodges really do have that ‘home from home’ feel to them and all come with verandas, so I am pleased that you had some lovely sunny weather whilst you were here.

I am glad you found our reception team to be helpful, we do take down mobile telephone numbers of guests who arrive to park early so that we can call them if their accommodation is ready before the allocated time. Our maintenance team do endeavour to attend to any problems quickly and efficiently, and Tony has been a great addition to the team.

I am so pleased that you have already booked for next year, and I do hope you have another wonderful stay with us in 2015.

Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    290
    117
    55
    57
See reviews for
613
116
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just returned from a great 6 night stay in a silver plus caravan at landguard. This was our first break as a family of five as our 12 month old twins joined us and we also have a four year old.
We have stayed at 2 other park resorts in the past and so far this is our favourite. I was very worried about squeezing us all in a caravan as with twin babies it meant double of every thing. I rang in advance and the site agreed to remove the two single beds from one bedroom leaving us with a empty room which meant we had plenty of space for two travel cots. We hired two travel cots and two high chairs again me feeling anxious about how clean these would be, but they turned up at the caravan door within 30 mins of us getting in the caravan, all clean and sparkly.... A happy mummy. We hired our linen again due to car space and all of the bedding was fresh, white with no marks, stains and laid neatly ready for us. The caravan it's self was spotless, I am a clean freak and I couldn't fault it. The caravan we had was the best again we have stayed in and we have stayed in a fair few. No issues with the caravan, it was well equipped. A minor thing I'd mention is the pull out bed in the living room was lumpy, rusty and left a lot to be desired BUT I have never found a nice one in all the caravans we have stayed in. So pre empting this we took our own double blow up bed.
The pool was lovely, we were blessed to have fab weather so spent a lot of time in the out door pool, my kiddies loved it. Only minor issue I would say is our double pushchair did not fit in the changing rooms (it did how ever fit in the 1 disabled toilet) and our pushchair fits through standard doors (nipper 360). Both pools were clean, warm and staff friendly.
Entertainment, this is what really made it for us, my four year old is in love with sparkle and sparky, the team were amazing, so much energy!!! There were a fair few kids there and they even remembered my daughters name each night. She loved every part of the evening entertainment, I read a few bad reviews before hand about it being tacky. Yes is cheesy but isn't that what every child loves at that age. My daughter won loads of prizes and has gone home one happy kiddy.
The restaurant food was ok, think most of it is 'heated' but tasted fine. The staff in the restaurant area again were very friendly and seemed to work very hard.
The park doesn't allow cars on the grass which makes it lovely and safe for younger ones, the site is small so you don't have far to walk. We never had a issue with parking.
This is our last holiday 'out of school holidays' our entire break was fantastic and we plan to come back next august in school holidays. I am worried returning in school holidays about a few minor issues such as parking, the car park was pretty full out of session how will it cope when all caravans are full? And changing rooms.... They are tiny, again how will it manage a large volume of people. Final minor things I'd consider is , why are caravan curtains not long enough to block the light and why do they not have curtains on the caravan doors so when using a pull out bed from the sofa the living room is also dark? This is something I have found with all caravans not just languard. I actually hung our towels on the children's rooms curtain pole to darken the rooms. This park was lovely and the area has lots to do. Thank you to all the staff that made it fab xxxx

Room Tip: If taking children who need dark rooms to stay asleep in the mornings take the travel black out blin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for this fabulous review.I am over the moon that Landguard has been your favourite site and that you enjoyed your holiday so much with us. Our accommodation team are always more than happy to help and I am glad that you were impressed with the standard of our hire goods.
I am glad that your family enjoyed the entertainment and that they were able to make use of the outdoor pool, as we really have been having some lovely weather of late. We are hoping to extend and improve the changing rooms this winter.

We do appreciate that our main car park does get very busy, we do have another car park and there is plenty of space to park behind the entertainment centre so I apologise if this was not pointed out to you during check-in.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write this review, and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just spent a long weekend through the Sun with Languard Park Resorts and I must say we were very impressed. We stopped in a bronze caravan that was spotless, well equipped, spacious and close to the car park and entertainment, so no long treks. All the staff were amazing and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. A favorite of ours was the 2 for £6 breakfast (including drinks!), cooked just as we requested, great value and not worth cooking your own. Entertainment was good even though the audiences were sometimes small they gave 100%. Would definately recommend this site to families and couples alike, and we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hancaro J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were happy with your accommodation.
I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast in our onsite eatery ‘The Granary’, as they really do serve a wide and varied menu at competitive prices.
It is also great that you enjoyed the entertainment and found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

I am so happy that you would recommend us, and we all look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just got back from a week at Landguard. This was our first trip to a Park Resorts site but, as frequent visitors to the likes of Butlins, Pontins and Haven on the mainland, hope that will help to give some context to the fact we know what to look for!

This was our first visit to the Isle of Wight and was really inspired by my 3 year old developing a recent fixation with boats and wanting to go on holiday on one.

We picked Landguard because of its location on the outskirts of Shanklin being a decent base to tour the island from. at the time we booked it is also worth noting that the prices were cheaper at Landguard than the sister park at Lower Hyde. As you can use the facilities of both then it was a bit of a no brainer as to which we picked as we have no problem with a short walk (more on that later).

The park itself is small if you are used to Haven sites. Even an average size one like Burnham On Sea would dwarf Landguard. I guess it depends what you are looking for. If you want a park where you only have to leave to stroll to the beach, and everything else is on your doorstep, then this is not for you. as a base we thought it was ideal.

The park is around 20 minutes drive from Fishbourne where we caught the ferry to and from Ryde is even closer. Whilst we did pop the sat nav on, the island is well signposted and pretty easy to navigate.

Check in was simple and we were directed to a carpark away from the main one a stones throw from where our caravan was. We stayed in a gold plus caravan and were situated on Arreton for our row. This is right next to where the lodges are situated and next door to all of the amenities.

The caravan was clean and had everything you needed. The only gripe from my wife was the request to strip the beds when we left which we have not been asked to do elsewhere.

Before now we have stayed in Prestige caravans at Haven. These afford some added extras like decking outside and I do not recall seeing any caravan with an outside seating area at Landguard although there were some at Lower Hyde.

One thing to note was the water pressure. My lad used the toilet in our en suite whilst I was in the shower and it took five minutes for it to recover to more than spitting at me! Otherwise, it was fine.

There are not too many facilities on the park itself. There is a mini golf course and a small playground. You also have an outdoor pool with separate childrens splash area. The indoor pool is much bigger than that at Lower Hyde and features a water slide. There are also various activities on in the pool you can pay extra for. Things like water walkers for older children.

There is a small shop but I would only use this for emergency essentials. There are plenty of supermarkets close by. Next door to Lower Hyde is a Lidl, we drove by a fairly sizeable Co-Op in Shanklin but tended to use the Morrisons in Lake. It is a two minute drive from the park. Left out of the carpark, left again at the roundabout at the bottom of Whitecross Lane and you cannot miss it.

There is a small restaurant on site that is fairly priced (we only ate there once and that was breakfast this morning. Two fried ones for £6 was decent value). There is also a small club for the evenings.

According to the door staff the club can hold something in the order of 200 people at peak season. The most we saw in there was 40 so had loads of room. The entertainment team try very hard to keep everyone engaged which can be challenging with so few people to work with and they do sell some souvenirs behind the bar as this park as no dedicated shop like at Lower Hyde.

There are some deals on at the moment. Four bottles of Bud for a tenner (or a four pint Bud pitcher) whilst the World Cup is on. The two brekkies for six quid I mentioned above. A family drink and food pack for eleven (2 pints, 2 soft drinks and snacks) etc. You can also buy a cup for slushies that means much cheaper refills from there on out.

As a thought for Park Resorts, and they will not be able to change anything until next season, but they should rethink the bingo.

I know this is a major part of the evening entertainment for plenty of people but the timing was all wrong. For example, you have and hour or so of the kids getting wound up with party dance games and then they are told to they must be silent for the next hour as the bingo is on and this is quite serious bingo.

It links to every resort in the country which makes for great potential prizes. I would want silence as well if I was playing. But this is resort set up for kids, particularly young ones. Surely putting the bingo on at 6 and then letting the children get into it would be more sensible? If you take your bingo that seriously then I am sure you would not mind heading out a little earlier to play it in peace.

The staff were very nice. I have mentioned the entertainment team but I thought the door staff were great as well. When reception knock off at normal home time for the rest of us they take charge of everything. Checking in late arrivals, dealing with caravan maintenance issues, looking for parents of lost children, or lost dinosaurs, and, well, doing the doors. They do it with a smile and are happy to have a chat if you nip outside for some air, a smoke break etc.

They also let me in on the fact that this will all be one park next year. At the moment, the walk between the two is nothing like as terrible as people here have suggested anyway. There is a second road to the left as you drive into the park and a walk round the side of the amenities gets you on it as well.

It is a public footpath, one of many on the island. Once you are past the lodges it is 100 yards down (walking away from the site) and you hit a crossroads that is signed. Just turn left there and 50 yards on down the lane you are in the lower Hyde Park. Follow the road up and you find all of their facilities after five minutes.

The touring bit is in between so I do not know if they had to purchase additional land, and it will still have 2 clubs, but consider what I said about pricing earlier if you are tempted to visit.

As for where we went, I will review those places individually but my conclusion was that it was a nice little park and, with the added facilities you can use up the road, I would recommend it.

I will definitely visit the Isle of Wight again and would consider a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for writing such an extensive and informative review. I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday on the Isle of Wight and I am delighted that you would recommend Landguard as a base.
As you say, it is a great benefit for all of our guests to be able to use the facilities of our sister park Lower Hyde.

I do hope that you choose to stay with us again soon.

Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We visited Languard for a four night break and returned yesterday. Have been to 5 Park Resorts and this stay was truly awful. My husband is disabled and we couldn't get an assisted caravan. We asked if we could park next to the caravan due to my husband's disability but were told no. The staff buggie took our luggage to the caravan however the caravan was quite a way from the car park so each day we wanted to use the car my husband had to use his mobility scooter to get to the car park, dismantle it to use when we went out and the reverse when we came back. It is difficult for me as the scooter is heavy. Had we been able to park next to the caravan as we have with all previous Park Holidays the scooter could have stayed in the car and this would have been so much easier.

The first night we went to the club for a meal at 8 o'clock to have something to eat as we had not eaten since lunchtime. Although there were ramps to get to the bar there was no ramp at the threshold to the club and the staff gave us a bit of wood to help my husband get into the club which is a ridiculous situation. We were told that we had to hurry if we wanted to eat as it would probably be closing shortly. All we could get was burgers and they were horrible. The lad was not happy to serve us as he wanted to shut up as he had already done a '12-hour day'. The following night we went to the club and ordered a meal of chicken tikka and square steak pie. It was absolutely disgusting and well overpriced.

I hardly slept as the bed was so uncomfortable and was a small double. The toilet would only flush on odd occasions, the toilet brush was filthy and the gas fire didn't work.

On leaving the park, when I went to give the keys back, I was given the deposit I paid for the extra key (which was a different cut to the original and did not work) the assistant gave me the and said thanks and that was it. She didn't even ask if we had a good break.

The standards have dropped dramatically, the food disgusting and overpriced. We will not use Park Resorts again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenHSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your views on TripAdvisor. I am extremely disappointed to hear that we did not fulfill your expectations on this occasion.

As we are a small park we are unable to allow vehicles next to our caravans. This is for health and safety reasons, as in an emergency an ambulance would be unable to pass. We do provide trolleys to help our guests with their luggage and our accommodation team are always happy to assist.

I am sorry that you were not happy with the meals you had in our onsite eatery. Although they are competitively priced, you should never have been spoken to like that by our staff and I have passed your comments on to our Complex Manager.

We would have been able to change the mattress and toilet brush for you and sent our maintenance team round to fix the other problems, if these issues had been reported to reception.

Once again I do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Superb site caravan spotless , I would say this would rate as the best caravan holiday I have had. We took our first sun deal so was a little unsure of what we would get, however we were overjoyed with the bronze it was spacious, quiet, with all the amenities you require. Will definitely be going back. Thanks to all the park staff for making it an extra special stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for writing your review. I am delighted to hear that this was the best caravan holiday you have ever had – what a recommendation for us!

We all look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

we had a lovely time , this is a nice clean camp the caravan was very clean too.We did not use the clubhouse but we could here the turns from outside and they appeared to be good and worth a visit.The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to help us carry our luggage to and from the caravan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinh32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you had a lovely time, were happy with your accommodation and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

I do hope that you choose to holiday with Park Resorts again in the future.

Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
418 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
841 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Landguard Manor Road, Shanklin PO37 7PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landguard Holiday Park has a lovely friendly atmosphere, set in sheltered woodland, just a short walk from the traditional seaside town of Shanklin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Hotel Shanklin
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing