We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great clifftop location good food friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great clifftop location good food friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We booked our package through Travelzoo on an included 5 day package not knowing what to expect as we generally stay in lodge type accomodation in the uk , so we thought give it a go for something different and we were surprised .
Although a more traditional hotel that to be fair was and maybe is suited to a more mature holidaymaker , the location on a clifftop was superb with views over the sea can only be stunning with a short walk through rylstone gardens opposite to Shanklin old village not to mention the beach via 100+ steps made it a good semi-secluded location .
The staff were very friendly , helpful and deserve full credit working very hard with nothing too much trouble which seems very rare to find these days .
We were allocated room 6 overlooking the lawn/car park area which can only be described as elegant/traditional but was clean and comfortable and the rest of the hotel seemed spotless . Another rare thing was breakfast was cooked to order and so was the evening meal, the only drawback being i thought the menus was a little limited.
We were not dissapointed with our stay which was good value and found it all very relaxing it was nice to find somewhere that actually made you welcome in a genuine way .
One little thing is to watch the car park ,it is limited in size and try stake your claim to a space before teatime

Room Tip: try or look out for offers on Travelzoo
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohneMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt_iow, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay especially our great location and the service from the staff who all work very hard to ensure guest expectations are met.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Emma and Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    224
    68
    28
    8
See reviews for
134
343
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights on half board and it was our second visit, having stayed last year for a short break and it was very good. The hotel is in a lovely location and is hard to beat, with its cliff top gardens overlooking the sea in the Old Village area and you can walk down the steps to the beach from the hotel. It is in a quiet position yet close to Shanklin Chine and Rylstone Gardens are opposite the hotel which are pleasant and have mini golf and cafeteria. We like this hotel as the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is very good with plenty of choices on the menu each day and dinner is something to look forward to, they have a first class chef. Tea and coffee facilities are in the bedrooms, but is available most of the day in the conservatory for guests to help themselves to along with newspapers each day. The dining room is nicely decorated and bright. The facilities of the hotel next door (Luccombe Hall Hotel) are free to use; there is an outdoor pool in the garden, childrens play area, indoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi and games room.
We have stayed in quite a few hotels and guest houses in Shanklin previously; it isnt a 5 star hotel, but for the price, location, food and service we feel this hotel rates as one of the better ones and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are in best position for extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letheren25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler's Ford England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

This was our fourth stay at Luccombe Manor. The hotel staff always make you feel welcome and the food is first rate [The breakfast especially]. We stayed in room 4, a 'dog room' which was more than adequate. Here's to visit number 5.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wlmasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We recently stayed here for a long weekend. After getting a really good deal through Travelzoo we were cautious with our expectations, I'm happy to say we needn't have been.

Excellent location minutes from picturesque Shanklin Old Town and close to the beach (via 150 steps!)

Incredibly welcoming receptionist who gave us a guided tour of the hotel, explained the facilities on offer, how to get to the beach and shops and showed us to our room.

Room deccor was not exactly to our taste being quite flowery, but it was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We'd highly recommend paying the extra for a sea view room.

The inclusive 3 course evening meal was very good, the food was piping hot and the service was excellent. Perhaps the only critism I could make was that we would have liked a slightly longer break between each course.

Breakfast was very good. Also had dinner at Pavorotti's restaurant in Shanklin Old Town which we'd also recommend, however booking is advisable as they were turning people away.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a large bay window with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djmannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Wonderful food. Catered for special diet. Peaceful location with children's play area which is away from relaxing more adult spaces. Somehow gets a balance between upmarket hotel and family run relaxed atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

Our extended family recently enjoyed a fantastic weekend at the hotel as part of some birthday celebrations.
My in laws booked the hotel and I was a little aprehensive as my husband and I have a rather inquisitive 20 month old. I wasn't sure how he would cope in a hotel and would have preferred a cottage. However, the staff at Luccombe Manor couldn't have been more welcoming. They were lovely with our little boy and we felt comfortable sitting in the conservatory where he could play happily.
The views were wonderful, rooms were clean and had everything we needed, food was good, location great and staff incredibly warm and friendly. We will definitely return and have already recommended to friends with children.

Room Tip: We were happy with the one allocated to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buttonmoon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

Stayed here with my husband and best friend. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would not hesitate in booking again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazzy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing