We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We decided to take advantage of the unusually warm weather in January and spent the weekend in this lovely hotel. It is is a great location for accessing the beach and Shanklin; the food is outstanding and the jacuzzi overlooking the ocean was an unexpected bonus. The large conservatory is fabulous and the staff were great

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWTraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    223
    68
    28
    8
See reviews for
134
341
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Deirdre, Boudi ( the dog ) and I had a great weekend on the island. The hotel was as expected with very friendly staff and spacious receptions areas. Our bedroom was small but clean and more than adequate for two nights? Boudi loved it with great walks on our doorstep! 139 steps down to the beach but worth every step? Glorious sandy beaches and just about enough open to have a choice. The food was pretty good and we certainly go back. It was all about the dog and she had a great time ( as did we )

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexanddeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just spent a great couple of days at Luccombe Manor with our golden retreiver. Great hotel, wonderful staff. Use of facilities, pool, etc. at sister hotel, Luccombe Hall, just around the corner. We all felt so welcome. Nothing too much trouble for the people working there. Excellent quiz night on a Tuesday at the Crab pub (dogs welcome) a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Addle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We went away for my family's annual 'get together'. Six adults and a teenager! Not having seen each other for 12 months we were somewhat noisy when we met up and continued to be so all through the three days we stayed here. I gave my brother an Elvis Suit as a Christmas present and he wore it(and sang) all day, we played a loud version of charades, which other guests joined in with.....all this and more was not only accepted but positively encouraged! We were made to feel so very welcome, so comfortable and NOTHING was too much trouble. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable, the public areas welcoming, warm and comfy, the food GREAT, plentiful and a wide variety. The staff, fantastic. Complimentary tea, coffee and biccies all day- even dog treats if your four legged friend joins you. It is right next to the coastal path, a short walk from the village and an easy drive to the rest of the island.What more could we want?Needless to say, when we next reurn to the IOW we will have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pharmtech1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We were after a quiet weekend on the island so January is a good time to go. This is a converted manor house atop a clip overlooking the ocean (with steep buy manageable steps to the beach). We really enjoyed walking around the Shanklin esplanade. It is a nice hotel with a pretty foyer, bar, and dining room. The dining room overlooks the ocean and we had a very nice dinner the first night. The breakfast was disappointing - wasn't very fresh and kind of soggy. The hot tub wasn't hot (just warm) so we didn't bother with it. Our room was great - very clean, good size, great bathtub, comfy bed. The hotel wasn't very full but since it is a good family hotel I imagine it would be rather noisy in the busy season - even in January there were kids screaming in the pool, and our neighbor's TV woke me up (thin walls are often a problem in old hotels though, so that didn't bother me). Games room is a nice touch but could use a serious update. Gardens in the back are beautiful and worth a wander. Easy to take the coastal walk outside the hotel up the cliff via the road, and you can catch a bus close by that takes you around the town and down to the beach (if you don't fancy the stairs). We like to stay in places with history and character, so this hit the mark for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyphenista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed 2 nights on the winter break offer in Jan with my chocolate labrador and a friend.
Highlights: cliff-side location, food, sea-view lounge, patio hot tub, staff (Levi, Vanessa and Barbara made our weekend particularly special). Nearby we listed to wonderful accoustic music at the Steamer Inn.
I'm reluctant to oversell, remember it's a 3 star that's been refurbished over time. But the important things are there - good quality bedlinen, a decent shower, clean bathroom, comfortable bed, peace and quiet, tea & coffee on tap. The lounge with large glass windows overlooking the gardens, pool and sea is lovely.
The hotel management have got a lot right here. Levi was a superb front of house hostess, she really went beyond the job description for us. Vanessa was a demon of efficiency and smiling service in the restaurant, so much so we didn't notice she was a member of staff down one evening. A real pleasure to see it so well run.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights on the Winter Break offer and had a great time. Out room was very clean and exactly what we were after. The hotel was full of character, has a games room with darts and pool table as well as the use of next door's swimming pool and sauna (which are basic but nice nonetheless). The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and welcoming. We ate at the hotel on the first night and the food was very good. The hotel is all of 5 minutes walk from Shanklin Old Village which is full of lovely pubs and shops. It is also right by the stairway to the beach. Overall I would strongly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank von-balthazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing