We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had a great weekend at Luccombe Manor. From the time I phoned to book the deal to the time we booked out & were told that we were welcome to leave our car there until new guests started to arrive at about noon, we were treated very friendly & our needs dealt with very efficiently. We were greeted on arrival by a friendly receptionist who showed us to our rooms rather than a lot of hotels that give you vague directions to your room, the room was big & comfortable with a nice big bathroom with bath & seperate shower, the only thing I did find strange was that there was not frosted glass in the bathroom, but it was ok it just meant that you had to close the blinds. We had evening meal both nights & again we had great service & the food was lovely with enough choice. The breakfasts were also good with again plenty of choice I had the smoked haddock & poached egg & that was very tasty with proper poached eggs done in a saucepan not an egg poacher, my husband had the full english & said that was good too.
They have a nice lounge & also a room with a pool table & a dartboard although I have to say , the dartboard has seen better days.
I would definately stay at this hotel again & would reccomend it

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you for such a great review.

I am so pleased the staff assisted you with everything you needed and that you enjoyed your meals here. With so much to do, you need a good breakfast to set you up for the day ahead.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and hope you return to us again in the future!

Best wishes,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    224
    68
    28
    8
See reviews for
134
343
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a few days away at the Luccombe Manor hotel and we were very impressed with everything, our room, bathroom with plenty of hot water and a bath, the view from the eating area was superb, and the breakfasts and dinners were excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel was very warm and we would book to stay there again and fully recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinBSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are always continuing to make improvements to our service and so I am very pleased this has paid off for you. Being able to enjoy the beautiful views throughout meal times proves to be a treat for many of our guests - and I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the chef.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed on a wowcher deal which offered very good value for money indeed. The welcome and service were excellent. Food was good. The location is lovely overlooking the sea and we were given an upgrade to a sea view room. The pool at the sister hotel next door was lovely and warm.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abw55acw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I am pleased you feel your break was good value for money and that enjoyed so many aspects of what we have to offer. The staff work very hard to provide the best possible service here at Luccombe Manor Coutry House Hotel.
We hope you visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We have stayed at the Luccombe Manor several times for long weekend breaks and always enjoy our stay. The staff are freindly and always happy to accommodate you and the breakfast and evening meal if you choose to have one is excellent. We will always go back and always ask for the same room as it is quiet and peaceful and we just love the IOW. The start of our holiday is on the ferry coming across and having tea and toast!!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the car park always seem quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Thank you for such a great review. We are so pleased you have such an enjoyable stay here at Luccombe Manor time and time again. It it such a quiet area that it is the ideal place to come for a peaceful few days!

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Best Wishes,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole Dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Visited this hotel late October, very impressed with the staff they couldn't do enough for us, the breakfast was excellent as was dinner. Some lovely views from the garden and nice walks in the area, close enough to Shanklin town centre to walk to. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chadcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for your lovely review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
293 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We spent 7 nights here in August in a family room on half-board. There was ample space for the five of us here. The room itself was very comfortable, but there was quite a lot of noise from the village and from the Rylstone Gardens on a couple of nights which made it difficult for my children to sleep.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. It was so nice to be taken care of by such genuine people.

Breakfast at the restaurant was very good. We had stayed at their sister hotel a few months earlier, and the conservatory did not seat families with young children. Here we had a lovely table in the conservatory. The only 'problem' was the bright light of the sun on certain mornings - so remember to bring your sunglasses to breakfast on a sunny day. Dinner was mostly good - but I felt that the food was better at their sister hotel. Unfortunately both hotels appear to overcook their vegetables, so we stuck to salad every night. On the plus side, the Luccombe Manor has a more extensive children's menu than its sister hotel.

The pool and jaccuzzis were a highlight of our stay. The pool here is much nicer than next door. It's a bit cool, though, so we avoided it on the chillier days. The pool's jaccuzzi is warmer, and the hot tub next to the pool is nice and hot. There was some trouble with the automatic systems that control the pool, and this was something the staff kept working on. This meant that the pool experience was a bit different every day. One day, there were no bubbles anywhere. The next day, the jaccuzzi and the pool all bubbled furiously. This is not a complaint, though.

The gardens were also well-maintained, and offered plenty of space to play badminton or run around.

We spent a large portion of our evenings in the lounge, and the lounge here is larger and brighter than the one next door. With the Olympics on TV at night, this created an especially fun ambiance for the guests in the lounge.

I hope we return soon.

Room Tip: As a hotel with personal service, tell the staff clearly what you need - they'll do their best t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traductora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I am pleased you and your family had such an enjoyable stay here at Luccombe Manor. The staff all work very hard to help wherever possible and ensure you are well looked after.

I am surprised to hear you heard noise from the Old Village as I have never had a problem of that nature reported before as the Old Village is a fairly quiet place of an evening, even in the Summer periods. We are in a very peaceful position here and usually just far enough away from the Old Village that you do not have to hear it, but close enough that it is an easy walk.

The conservatory is a great place for all of our guests to enjoy the beautiful views over the sea and I am glad all of your family got to experience this.

Our outdoor spa pool does have multiple functions and usually works on a rotation so that each set of jets goes one by one with a break. I am glad this was a highlight for you and I am sure the children must have had a great time! Especially as you came in warmer months!

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon too!

Best Wishes,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two night with my husband & son in October 2012, first impressions were very good, friendly efficient staff, clean rooms, our room was part of the original house & overlooked the bay which was beautiful.
Disappointingly there was only a shower, which was very small & the bathroom very pokey also the quilt on the double bed was far too small, we think it was a single quilt as it only just fitted the top of the bed leading 2 very poor nights sleep.
For £150.00 per night we were disappointed as this was not a cheap nights stay
Would we return? Probably not for this price

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JaJa3472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you were impressed by the staff here, our rooms, cleanliness and beautiful position. There is only a shower in that bedroom as often we have guests that visit who do not like baths and so we try to have something for everyone here. If guests would prefer a bath or just a shower the reservations team are more than happy to allocate you to a room of your preference.

I am sorry you had trouble during the night; the quilt on the bed is a standard double sized quilt which is the same on all of our double beds.

I hope you reconsider and visit us again in the future, our package deals offer great value for money.

Kind Regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com, Ebookers, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing