We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Welcoming hotel. Bed was a little on the hard side but other than that everythdng fine. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Sea view room quite a good size. Good breakfast choice, but evening meal included with deal was only average plus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

We came to hotel for weekend break as not visited IOW before. On arrival was allocated to room but requested a sea view, hence upgraded. Lovely sea views!!! Room was pleasant enough, however slightly cold as radiator was hidden by dressing table and heat not able to distribute around room. Quilts provided were thin so had to double up for warmth, (fair enough it was feb and freezing). Room was clean and tidy and excellent amenities as able to use facilities in sister hotel. We loved spending time in the pool/jacuzzi. We found the staff at Luccombe Manor very hospitable and accommodating, housekeeping excellent and restaurant inviting with good breakfast options and full English all three mornings was superb!! The location we thought was good, right on beach and nice walk down to sea. Shanklin old village very pleasant and would recommend the crab pub for good reasonably priced food. Would definitely visit again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jasonmiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Excellent location close to sea front and town. Room was dusty, and the bed was uncomfortable, the pillows flat. We stayed in room 27, the walls were so thin we heard our neighbour fart in the morning. The steps down to the beach were handy, but not lit, so you took your own life in your hands at night. The breakfast was adequate, nothing special. We got the odd hello from staff, but nothing to make you feel welcome. Parking was first come first served, as not enough spaces for all the residents. This place has the potential to be a quality place to stay, just lacks in those special touches....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noodles7376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We had a weekend break at this hotel in February, which was a wowcher deal with evening meal included on both nights. The staff were very friendly and polite, the food was amazing. The hotel was very comfortable to stay in. It was in a clean condition and we were allowed to take our dog with us. Very enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: We had room 11a on ground floor which was very comfortable and easily accessible to gardens with dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My partner booked this for valentines weekend, we had a package, ferry, hotel bed and breakfast with meal on first night for a good price through travelzoo. When we arrived we remembered passing the hotel having previously stayed at ventnor in a boutique bb and having tea and cakes in the tearoom next door. We stayed in room 10. It was clean and had good wardrobe space and allowed us to take our wee terrier. It was the first day off opening but the staff were keen and helpful. Expecting a good meal for valentines night, only to find, normal menu, no flowers on table, not even red napkins, no hearts hanging from ceilings etc, having previously walked through town and seeing decs up in other restaurants and offering good deals, you would hope the hotel would have tried a little harder!!! Just something!!! The food was ok, nothing special, duck with orange salad served cold, limited choice and lamb rump nicely cooked but chewy. Breakfast was good, although run out of hot chocolate by 2nd morning... Used squash court at sister hotel, which was great but really needed a clean as very dirty. The hotel is in a good location, is a three star which must be taken into account and the staff are very friendly, so it's fair to say, would not hurry back but it's a option for travellers with dogs and kids as the facilities are good. For chic stay at ventnor. So many business for sale and hotels struggling, my advised would be, you have great staff but you need to go that extra mile.

Room Tip: Room 10 view to rubbish!!! Pay for sea view if you don't have a animal with you, as dogs only i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank andreahex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently.We had a deal from travelzoo for 2 nights bed and breakfast,with dinner on the first night,in addition we paid extra for 2 further nights.
The hotel is in a lovely location, quiet but close to Shanklin old village,and with pleasant gardens opposite the hotel.
The staff were welcoming and friendly,breakfast was excellent with a plentiful choice of food,and the conservatory where it was served had a sea view,and all the public areas of the hotel were well maintained.
The disappointment was Room 9
This room was down a short flight of stairs and was over the kitchen so we had the smell of cooking, it was very noisy,and there was a chimney directly outside one of the windows which
was probably for the boiler as we had a continual noise when it was on.
The other window looked on to a yard that was full of old furniture,a bath and discarded crockery,
these things looked like they had been there some time,as there were rotting piles of leaves.
I also see that someone had complained about this in a previous review.
We did complain to the management about the noise but they shrugged it off,saying they didn't know what it was.
Considering we paid full price for 2 extra nights I think we should have been given a better room
as some people who had the 2 night offer had sea views and better rooms.
I think the hotel owner should spend a couple of nights in this room,and clear up the rubbish left in the yard.It really lets this pleasant hotel down.

Room Tip: Don't accept Room 9 noisy with cooking smells and a poor outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 296barbarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review.

I am very pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel including our fantastic position and the meals.

The room in question is one of our recently refurbished rooms with a brand new bathroom suite and plenty of space. This room is considered the same standard as any other room in our hotel. We do not allocate rooms based on the package guests are on. Any guest in a sea view room pays a supplement to have those and can be requested at the time of booking if you would have preferred one of these.

As we try and keep the hotel to the highest possible standard, we are continuously carrying out refurbishments. We completed our last room this winter and unfortunately at the time of your stay we were waiting for the skip that is necessary to remove this type of furniture. During the windy, wet winter months we cannot avoid the piles of leaves that gather and our gardener works very hard to try and clear these when possible.

Noise complaints, or any other nature of complaint is always important to us here at Luccombe Manor. If the noise was made by another guest, this is unavoidable but we would of course try and intervene if necessary. Our staff do not begin work until 7.30am and so before this time, perhaps the noise was unexplainable.

We really hope you return to Luccombe Manor in the future and I would recommend one of our sea facing rooms as you appreciate the beautiful views here.

Thank you again,
Kind Regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Lovely stay arranged through TravelZoo. Good offer which included the ferry accommodation breakfast and one dinner. Lovely room with sea views. All good and great attentive staff. Super walks and very close to Shanklin with lots of interesting pubs. We were really out of the tourist
season, so unable to advise how busy the island gets.

Room Tip: Book a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review.

Our special offers are always great value for money and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Luccombe Manor.

The Island does get fairly busy in the Summer months as we have such beautiful beaches to enjoy - but you came at the perfect time for a quiet couple of days!

We hope you return in the future.

Kind Regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
945 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
11 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £53 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing