We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in April 2013, taking advantage of a car ferry/hotel deal. We found Luccombe Manor to be a clean, well presented hotel in a beautiful location and staffed by really lovely people. Breakfast was very nice and served in a room looking out over the gardens and the Channel beyond. Our bedroom was a very good size, well furnished and decorated and the bathroom likewise with an excellent shower. The hotel is just a short walk from Shanklin with easy access to the chine, the beach and esplanade and the town.
If going to Shanklin again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avbradley1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

Just got back from a two night break using a voucher (Living Social I think) which included the ferry crossing and it was very good value. The room was fine and breakfast was good with plenty of choice. They weren't serving evening meals but kindly printed out a list of dog friendly pubs. The staff are very helpful as the first thing I asked for was extra hot chocolate sachets and they were provided straight away. It has a nice large lounge and we were very surprised that, although the parking area was full, we were the only ones to use it. We felt sorry for the girl that opened the bar and had no customers. We used the lounge tea and coffee facilities, with fresh hot water brought for us, along with digestives for dunking and a tin of dog treats for the dogs.

Breakfast is served in the front of the hotel with views of the garden, outdoor pool and sea.

The guest rooms are all up stairs but the staff will help with luggage so that should be no problem.

Wifi is available throughout the hotel but the lounge area hub / modem needed a reset the first evening but no luck the second night. In the room though the signal was fine.

Just over the road is a small park and there is access to the beach and esplanade via steps. There is another larger park a few hundred yards away. There is also Luccombe Chine which is private and chargeable. Shanklin town is a short walk away.

When we left we were given another voucher so we will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: We had room 4 and as it is a very quiet location had no problems with it at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topofall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Last week we enjoyed a short two-night break at Luccombe Manor Hotel arranged through Living Social and were delighted with the hotel and its proximity to Shanklin. The room was small but comfortable, clean and tidy, and we loved the double shower. Breakfast was well-cooked and enjoyable although the evening meal could only be described as average, small portions and nothing special. Nevertheless, the service we received was excellent, the staff were very friendly and we couldn't fault their desire to help. We would have no hesitation in staying there again and have already recommended it to family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We took a short break through a promotion of Travelzoo. The hotel has great staff who cannot do enough to please. The restaurant where we ate our breakfasts and evening dinner has a beautiful view over the sea and there are so many tables beside the window that lots of diners are able to enjoy this. The waiters are attentive and very helpful. The food is very nicely presented and cooked with a wide variety on offer - as a vegetarian, I appreciated the fact that there were a few options on offer and these were more 'adventurous' than the usual vegetable lasagne which is offered at most places.
The hotel was once someone's home and it is plushly carpeted in red with ornate ceilings and large windows. The hotel is quiet as it is situated at the end of a quiet street and is only a few minutes walk from the sea, Chine and village. We would certainly go again.
We thought it a good system whereby if you wish to leave a tip, it is suggested to put it in an envelope so that itl can be shared out equally and handed in together with their questionnaire. The only small criticisms I had was that the dog bowl for water outside the front of the hotel was not filled with water but with mud and leaves and that the outside cigarette bin was not easily visible and therefore there were cigarette butts on the ground. A shame to falter on minor points.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor (21) and had a partial sea view. It was a very quiet and comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helliot151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Overall excellent. Got a deal for 2 nights and have been v pleased. Breakfast and the three course meal very yummy. Rooms are adequate and cleaned v well. Staff are all v helpful. Nice lounge area with free coffee and biscuits. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We arrived on the 23rd March (we booked on the Wowcher special). Initially a warm welcome and was told the hotel was fully booked (which looked like a good sign). We shown to our room which was like an annex or attic conversion (so no hope of upgrading). The room wasn't too bad but the view from the window was of the dustbins and back of kitchen. Not pleasant but we closed the curtains so we didn't have to see it. Room had the usual tea/coffee but semi skimmed was not on offer. We bought our own milk. We did not opt to have dinner at the hotel - thought it was rather pricey.
The next morning we went down for breakfast and all the tables for two by the windows were full. We put our things on a table for 4 and went to get some cereals. When we got back we were informed that we couldn't sit there as it was laid for 4. We had to move to a hastily prepared table for 2 which was very wobbly and it had no napkins, salt/pepper sugar. By this time I had lost my appetite and so had my husband. Breakfast was not very nice either, watery scrambled eggs, salty bacon and over cooked sausage.
When I went to complain, the manager had an answer for everything - no apologies made (kind of take it or leave it). She even had the temerity to say something to another customer as we walked away. Very professional!! We didn't bother to have breakfast yesterday morning and checked out at 9:30am.
I felt that as a wowcher paying customer, I was given second class treatment. The whole idea of the hotel advertising on wowcher or groupon is to attract customers, make them welcome and enjoy their stay and to come back again! Not a hope in hell will I go back.

Room Tip: If you make a booking, ask for a sea facing room and don't let them delegate one that you will f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I went with a friend for afternoon tea it was a Birthday gift but the tea was not that good , roughly made not asked if we were ok , or wanted more tea coffee or milk which we did , NO CAKE just some bought in dry scones no butter and JAM IN A JAR!! all very dissapointing . clean tableclothes but food very naff and dry .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nonameat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
871 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
916 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,275 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £43 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing