We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“excellent break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

don't often stay in hotels in iow as we have a van, but this offer looked to good to be true!!!
It was not.
The booking process from start to finish was excellent, ferry inclusive.
they gave us a free upgrade as they were quiet that weekend.
All the staff without exception were 1st class, friendly but very professional, but a special mention has to go to the guys in the restauruant, nothing was too much trouble (and thanks for not giving away the plot of Dr. Who) .
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Manor and for highlighting that the offer was not too good to be true! I'm glad you found the booking process excellent and the staff first class, friendly and professional. The guys in the restaurant will be thrilled to hear your praise. Thank you so much for your recommendation and we very much look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    223
    68
    28
    8
See reviews for
134
341
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have been to this hotel several times and have always really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in an amazing location overlooking the sea close to Shanklin town and the coastal path. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotless and the food is excellent. The hotel will even accommodate well behaved dogs. Look out for the special deals which are really good value for money. We will definitely go again and will recommend it to our friends. Make sure you upgrade to a room with a sea view as it is well worth the extra money. A visit to the garlic farm is also recommended and the food there is really good.

Room Tip: Sea rooms at the front are the best. There is an indoor swimming pool in the sister hotel next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review after your latest visit to Luccombe Manor. It is always so lovely to see guests returning to - as you say - this amazing location. I'm delighted to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful, the rooms spotless and the food excellent. Thank you for your recommendation - an upgrade to a sea view room definitely makes the most of a break in this location! Thank you once again for staying with us again and we very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had a fabulous 3 night,half board stay in a hotel with character. From the moment we arrived, greeted with a cheery smile, the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.The meals where delicious with plenty of variety on the menu.In fact I would go as far as saying the food was at least as good as any hotels I have stayed in and this includes the 7 star hotels in Dubai. I must add I have been staying in quality hotels for 60 t0 80 nights a year for the last 30 years. All meals were freshly cooked and so well presented.The sea view room offered unsurpassed views across the English Channel and.was well appointed and spotless. Although the windows were single glazed the bedroom temperature was adequate even though 2 of our nights had clear skies and early morning frost. However the sun soon brought the daytime temperature up for enjoying the island and the moon shining over the sea at night was so romantic.
The hotel building is probably about 100 years old, well maintained and decorated in character. The dining room has large single glazed windows so a light sweater is advisable at dinner time in winter, but worth it for the view of the moon shining over the sea on clear evenings.I doubt whether the local council would allow double glazing of such a beautiful old building. Drinks at the bar were reasonably priced and wine was good quality.
The hotel is very conveniently located, just a few minutes stroll from Shanklin town with plenty of free onsite parking.
We want to come back to the Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel for another off season short break!
We thoroughly recommend this traditional British hotel.It has much to recommend it over the international hotel chain offerings.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room it is worth it for sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review following your recent stay at Luccombe Manor. I'm delighted to receive such wonderful feedback and especially how friendly and helpful you found the staff to be. Thank you for your comments regarding the food - I'm so pleased we were able to satisfy and delighted that you found your meals delicious. The hotel's location is simply fabulous - we love it and it's so nice to hear how much you enjoyed the unsurpassed views from your bedroom and the moon shining over the sea during dinner from the Appley Restaurant. Thank you so much for your recommendation and we very much look forward to seeing you on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Staff incredibly unfriendly and not at all helpful. In November in our single glazed bedroom, we arrived to a freezing cold bedroom which had not been heated prior to our arrival. Upon requesting assistance or additional heating at reception, we got a lukewarm response (ironic considering that was far warmer than the temperature of our bedroom) and were promised an electric heater..unsurprisingly to no avail. Hence we had an incredibly cold and uncomfortable night, having to sleep fully clothed to maintain even a minimal level of warmth. Absolutely atrocious and would strongly recommend anyone to avoid at all costs.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hi Amy,

It was a pleasure to speak with you earlier regarding your stay at Luccombe Manor and it was unfortunate that we had a boiler failure on Saturday afternoon. As you are now aware we did our best to ensure the room was heated for you, but were unable to talk directly to you at the time, certainly our intention was not to leave you in the cold, literally! We are also better prepared with additional heaters now on site, should we ever have an issue in the future.

Again, I offer my sincere apologies, and I have emailed you as discussed, and hope to see you at one of our Island hotels soon.

Steve Wells, Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed for two nights B&B with dinner on first night. Flash sale offer and very good value for money. Sea view room, wonderful views across Solent from the hotel. From making the telephone booking to departure the staff at the hotel were great. Apparently the chef is young, but this does not come through in the meals, hot good food, extremely we'll presented. Decor may not be to everyone's taste but the hotel and room were spotless. Just one "odd" thing - first night room very warm, second night freezing- not sure why. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback following your recent stay at Luccombe Manor. I'm glad you were able to make use of the Flash Sale offer and found it very good value for money. I'm glad you enjoyed the beautiful sea views and found the staff great. I'm so sorry that you had the issue with the heating - we did indeed have a malfunction with one of the boilers which corresponded unfortunately with a particularly cold spell - we were able to fix this quickly but I am sorry if had an effect on your stay. I'm delighted to hear that you would definitely return and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed in the Chine Court apartment of the Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in July 2013. As far as I know, it was the only apartment there - the entrance was next to the main entrance of the hotel. The location is great - it's very quiet and really close to the sea and the old town. For self catering, the only downside of the location was that there was no decent supermarket within walking distance so ended up having to take a taxi to do the shopping. The public transport on the island is not too bad and the hotel was quite close to the bus stop, too. We didn't have a car with us at all. We used the hotel restaurant once and it was very nice and the food was good. The service in the restaurant and the reception was very friendly. The flat itself was pretty much perfect for us with enough space, proper size and really well equipped kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine/tumble drier. Everything was working and can't really complain about anything much. The flat was nicely decorated and we really enjoyed our stay in the flat / Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel / Shanklin / Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minniemouse75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay back in July at the Chine Court Holiday Apartment which is indeed the only self catering unit actually onsite here - although we do also own 8 other holiday apartments in Shanklin - part of Shanklin Villa. I'm glad that you found the location great - it's superb for the peace and quiet yet as you say just a few minutes walk and you are in the popular Old Village! It's great to hear how well you managed without a car and that you found the island transport services "not bad". I'm pleased you were able to make use of the Appley Restaurant in the hotel and found the food and service good. I'm delighted that you found the actual apartment perfect - it is a great size for a family break - and I'm glad you found it had everything you needed for an enjoyable stay. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a 3 night break and found the hotel to be a comfortable 3 star. Clean and quiet in a lovely position overlooking the sea. The staff were pleasant and attentive, particularly the evening waiter.
However, although the hotel was really excellent value for money, we found the food, although plentiful, quite bland and I suspect a lot was out of a packet! Nicely presented though.
If you want a really cheap break in an interesting area, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Luccombe Manor on your recent visit to the Isle of Wight. I'm pleased to hear you found the hotel clean, quiet and comfortable and the staff attentive and polite. The hotel is indeed in a truly lovely location and it's so nice to hear how much this is appreciated. I am sorry you found the food a little too bland for your taste although it's good that you found it well presented. Absolutely none of the food we serve is out of a packet - it is all freshly prepared to order. Thank you for your recommendation and I do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing