We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Helpfull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

When we got to this perfectly situated hotel we were put in room 11 which we didnt like for various reasons so we got moved to room 20 which was much nicer and we were very impressed by their ability to facilitate this.
Breakfast was nice, we didnt stay for dinner because we thought £40 for a couple was a bit steep especially since there are a multitude of places to eat just on the other side of Shanklin Chine.
Overall we thought the hotel was clean and welcoming and it was a lovely place to stay so long as you dont get room 11.
If we ever go back to the Isle of Wight then we'll definately stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get given room 11 then change it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay at Luccombe Manor Hotel.
You are right we are in a perfect location with some great scenery, I was sorry to hear that you didn't like your first choice of your room, but that i was pleased to read we were able to accommodate you by changing your room. It's great to hear such wonderful feedback on our staff and how helpful they were in these circumstances.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Above average food, lovely venue.staff very helpful, will definatly return.very child friendly. Ideal spot for touring island. Lots for any age child to do, super beach 5 mins away. I will definatly return,deals available direct from hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoneham farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review after your short break at Luccombe Manor Hotel.
I'm so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us ,
Myself and the team try our best to promote a welcoming atmosphere and really enjoy looking after our guests and ensuring they have a pleasant stay. I will pass your lovely comments on to the staff. They are a great asset to our hotel and I know they will appreciate your kind words.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Luccombe Manor in the future.
Kind Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

4 of us stayed for a overnight trip on the Island and Luccombe was recommended by a friend. It was a fantastic hotel, the room was very modern, spacious and fit 4 of us with plenty of space, and the view over the sea was great. The staff were warm and welcoming and the service was second to none. Breakfast was fantastic and was to order. We didn't have too long at the hotel, really used it as a rest stop but wish we had longer. Couldn't fault it

Room Tip: If walking to Shanklin High Street follow the sign down the treed path to mini golf as it is a 2 min...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zachary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a glowing review after your recent break at Luccombe Manor.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your break and that you found everything to be fantastic, and that the staff were very warm and welcoming just how it should be.
I hope to welcome you back in the future and hopefully for a longer stay.

Kind Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very nice location, the room was clean, the swimming pool is great. Minor quirks - some of the reading lamps not working, towels could have been better quality. Parking is very handy. Decent breakfast.

Room Tip: We had room 14 with seaview - very nice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serban R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review after your recent stay at Luccombe Manor.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you made great use of the swimming pool, and you are right we are in a great location with some fantastic views. I am sorry that some of the reading lamps were not working but this has now been rectified.
I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Luccombe Manor in the future.

Kind Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times now. There is always a warm welcome from Julie in reception. The staff in the restaurant are attentive and friendly. I am always surprised by some of the reviews on here. It maybe a little old fashioned for some (I too have stayed in many 5 star hotels). However the location and the facilities and staff make this a great place. The hotel is set in a fantastic location with great pool and jacuzzi. If your looking for somewhere relaxing quiet to stay then this is the place. Our two dogs love it as well.

Room Tip: Room 26 is at the back very quite great size room if you have two dogs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review after your recent stay at Luccombe Manor Hotel.
It was a pleasure to welcome you back again, I was pleased to read that you received a warm welcome from Julie our Hotel Manager and that the Restaurant staff were attentive and friendly during your stay, we do pride ourselves on giving great customer service and by your kind comments we are doing just that. We are lucky with the hotel as we are situated in a fantastic position with wonderful views and great surroundings.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We love the Isle of Wight. This our second trip in two years. The location and grounds are very nice but the building is old and it shows. Our trip was a two night b&b with one dinner. Dinner was very nice if a bit limited as to what was available.drinks are a little expensive but wine prices very dear, but in line I guess with hotels generally. The disappointing point with food was breakfast. Not that nice in quality but views out from the conservatory was fantastic where we ate from both mornings. Afternoon tea which was included, very nice.
Our room had a partial sea view and small in size but overall no real issues.
We changed our ferry time on departure so big thank you for staff member(can't remember your name.sorry) for doing this. Staff were young on the whole but attentive and friendly.
We would like to think we would return one day if a good and reasonable deal became available.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simondo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review after your recent stay at Luccombe Manor.

I'm pleased that you liked the location and the surrounding grounds and that you enjoyed the views from our conservatory whilst dining with us. I am sorry that breakfast did not live up to your expectations, I have passed your comments onto the chef and i will be working alongside him to improve the quality, if we had been made aware of this at the time we would of been able to sort offer you another alternative. I was happy to read that we were able to change your ferry time for you and that the staff were friendly and attentive.
We hope you will be able to come back and stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We found the hotel to be what it is a three star hotel. Very average clean rooms and attentive staff. Only thing that let it down for us was the evening meal. It was like turning the clock back to the 70s with food that grandma used to cook, stewed veg and boiled potatoes. We stayed in room 9 and had banging and bashing going on every morning about 7 through our window (no idea what caused this). We got this two night stay through a deal online so overall it was ok but would have been disappointed if we had paid the full price.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GDT_Dave_Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay at Luccombe Manor Hotel.

I'm pleased you found the staff to be attentive and the rooms clean, I do apologise that the evening meal did not meet your expectations and that you were woken up due to there being noise i will get maintenance to investigate this. If we had of been aware of this we would of rectified this during your stay.
I do hope you will still consider a return visit to us in the future. Thank you again for your feedback
Kind Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
852 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
736 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,258 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £75 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing