We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

Luccombe Manor welcomed us as if we were family - everything was explained in a friendly manner, the staff felt more like friends at the end of our stay. The hotel was easy to find, had ample parking, was spotlessly clean, great amenities, fantastic views and just a wonderful place to be after a long drive. We took our dogs who were also warmly welcomed and were given a great room with everything we could need. The food and service were also first class. I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPTCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    227
    69
    28
    8
See reviews for
136
346
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We had included in our 2 night, 2 breakfast stay an inclusive ferry crossing including our car to the IOW.
We travelled on saturday 27th February 2010 stopping the Saurday and Sunday night.

The IOW ferry crossing is just one hour from Southampton to East Cowes. A very relaxed crossing (on a very windy day ) just relaxing with a cup of coffee, watching the sea go by.

( NOTE FOR ANYONE TRAVELLING ON A SATURDAY TRY NOT TO TRAVEL ON THE SOUTHERN APPROACH TO PIER 7 FOR IOW FERRY , THERE IS AN IKEA WITH A TOTAL TRAFFIC JAM ON SATURDAYS, it took a wasted hour to get through)

The IOW is a little quiet this time of the year , but with a car there is still time to explore and have a good relaxing break in a totally relaxed environment.

On arrival at the hotel we were given a very warm welcome.

Our room was up stairs (no lifts) and a small clean adequate room , but i think we were very lucky to have a 4 poster bed !
There was atray of coffee and tea ingredients available, A flat screen TV but a poor selection of TV stations, maybe that will change when the IOW goes digital!

We had dinner both nights and the menu was totally diffent.
aWe also sampled the wine selection and were well happy with wines available at a reasonable price.
Service by the dining staff was totally professional , a diferent waiter each night ..
The food was top quality and well presented, Good food and hot.

Breakfast was cereal , juice , coffee and toast followed by a good tidy english breakfast, a good set up for the day.All top ingredients!
We had papers each day , on the sunday ,we decided to take advantage of the Panoramic view in the rear lounge.This must be the envy of every other hotel on the IOW.
Rrying to read a paper and watch the splendid view is impossible!
Adjacent you can help yourself to the complimentary coffee and tea.
The bar in the evening was well stocked, and had a great atmosphere.

The warnth in the hotel was good , as was the room , we had to turn the heating down ,,,,in February!

The adjacent hotel has a games room , indoor pool, sauna , which we didnt use.

Cleansiness was good throughout the hotel.The staff must work hard as a team to produce a better than normal hotel experience helping make it a good break , it was a shame to go home!

We will be back! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay ! Thanks to all the Crew!
G CULLEY

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hairyworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

I was staying in this hotel last week and was lucky enough to get one of the rooms that they recently refurbished. The bed was so comfortable that I had the best nights sleep that I had in ages, the bathroom was a nice and simple clean white. The views looking out onto the Solent and beyond were spectacular, and it there is a park close by that if you're out at the right time and quiet enough you may spot one of the rare red squirrels. I didn't but I am willing to return to the hotel to try again!
The staff were friendly and polite, the restaurant was neat and clean before every one of the meals, of which there was good choice available, as well as a well rounded wine list.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Nice location, decoration not good, food dire. Staff very friendly but restaurant staff could do with training. They have avocado coloured bathroom suites in rooms that have allegedly been refurbished, carpet was the same colour and looked rather old too.

Shame as it has potential..

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgannonumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt_iow, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2010
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to us.
Having read your review I was somewhat suprised your found the food dire given the fantastic feedback we have received from our guests and the Hotel inspector who recently informed us the food was of four star standards. I am aware that the restaurant ran out of one option on the menu one evening during your stay and the chef cooked you the same meal with a better cut of meat however you raised no other issues during your stay.
Having already emailed you for further information without a response from you it would be helpful if you could contact me to so I can ensure any other issue I am unaware of can be rectified.
Also to clarify you were not in one of our refurbished rooms all of which have new white bathrooms and fully refurbished rooms and furniture and carpets so the rooms that have been refurbished are to a high standard. I am not sure why you felt your room was a refurbished room as at no point were you informed it was a new room.
We would be happy to invite you back to the hotel to stay in one of these refurbished rooms as two thirds of the hotel has now been refurbished with the other rooms to be completed this winter when the hotel is closed.

Matthew and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

the hotel is in a lovely quiet spot high on the clifftop at Shanklin with beautiful sea views and steps down to the beach.. if you are fit, and its also just a short walk from the old town with all the thatched buildings. There is a very nice garden with outdoor pool and tea rooms (summer only) The food was very good, very fresh and hot with a good choice, and the staff were helpful and welcoming. Some of the decor is a bit old fashioned but they are slowly re-furbishing all the areas and everything is clean and comfortable. A nice touch was complimentarypapers, tea/coffee in the lounge area during the daytime. The sister hotel Luccombe Hall has more facilities including an indoor pool which guests of Luccombe Manor can use. We would certainly want to stay there again. We booked through Travelzoo and got a package which included the ferry, zoo tickets and bottle of house wine! The Isle of wight has many interesting places to visit and is small enough to get round easily.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

We have returned from 2 nights at the Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, and had a really good time....The hotel is rather old-fashioned in its decor - with flock wallpaper and highly patterned carpets and an abundance of red everywhere, but this adds to its ambience in a way.....The Isle of wight is somewhat traditional as a holiday place and the hotel was fitting to this.
Our room was fine, nothing grand, but I suspect we had one of the poorer rooms as we booked very last minute, and my husband poked his head around the door of others as the cleaners were doing their cleaning, and said that some of the rooms were very nice indeed.
The food was quite good, very good breakfasts and the dinners were fine, with a good choice of dishes, though they were a little mean with the vegetables we thought.
The swimming pool - outdoors - looked ok, and the indoor one (at the sister hotel) was lovely - not very big, but wonderfully warm, with a jacuzzi and good sauna - very relaxing!
I would recommend the massage - I had a full-body massage (for £35) - it lasted an hour and I felt totally relaxed afterwards - she is a very professional therapist and I thoroughly recommend her - but book in advance, she gets fully-booked.
The staff were helpful - especially the young women on Reception.
The best thing about the hotel was the view over the sea - truly spectacular - and, because we had perfect weather, blue skies and sunshine, it felt as though we were abroad! The gardens, too are extremely well-kept and pleasant.
Really good-value (we paid £99.00 each for two nights, including the ferry and all meals)
The walk from the hotel to Ventnor is worth doing - as with all cliff-top walks it is hilly, but goes through wood-land and along the way is a very pleasant cafe with spectacular views - the walk took approx. 1 and a half hours. Godshill is pleasant to visit, very touristic though, but pretty with lots of thatched cottages; cannot recommend the toy-museum though, hardly anything in it apart from Dinky toys!
I understand that the hotel closes in November for the winter, but I would recommend visiting it in the autumn (as we did) or early in the season, as I believe that they do regular deals early and late in the season - only trouble is that you need good weather as there is not a great deal to do if the weather is poor, and the views are, for me, what made the break so good. Mainly mature people were at the hotel, but I guess that;s due to the time of year - maybe rather dull if you want a lot of excitement!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill on Sea
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful few days at this hotel in mid-September. We had a large first floor bedroom with marvelous views over the Channel.We booked at a special price which included half board and ferry and represented good value for money. The food was imaginative and always piping hot and the staff were efficient and friendly. The availability of an indoor swimming pool and sauna at a nearby sister hotel was a real bonus.
Some of the decorations and furnishings are a little tired and dated but we understand a refurbishment programme is under way. This in no way affected the enjoyment of our break and we would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evergreengrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing