We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, pleasant staff, clean room, food highly ok. Lovely location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value for money, pleasant staff, clean room, food highly ok. Lovely location.”
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We booked a last minute 2 night break, our first trip to the Island. It's like a trip back in time to when people had manners! A lovely place to visit wherever might stay, and Luccombe Manor Hotel added to our pleasant stay.

Ok, the truth is, the hotel decor is a bit dated (carpets in common areas). This did not impact our stay, just an observation. We paid extra for a seafacing room, which unfortunately overlooked an empty outdoor pool and the hot tub. We just needed to look a little bit beyond to see the beach and the water. Stunning, simply stunning. Room was comfy enough, though nice biscuits to accompany the tea/coffee in the room. Having said that, up til 6pm you can sit in the conservatory and have coplimentary tea/ coffee and digestives.... Very nice touch!!

They staff did not change the towels or replace the toiletries ---- which was good--- often hotels have signs up about reusing towels but still change them everyday regardless of what the sign says!! So they get points from me ..!!

The food at breakfast was ok, could use more fruit options, however the cooked breakfast was fantastic!!

Dinner was nice, reasonably priced wine, ok food options, and complimentary water provided on every table.

I wandered over to the sister hotel to use the sauna pool and jacuzzi....nice treat. Not top class setting but sufficient, felt like a new woman afterwards. Both hotels have lovely gardens. We had a complimentary cream tea on the lawn just before we left and it was fab!! Highly recommended!

Overall very few things could have made this a better mini break. Oh, went to the Needles, as I fancied the chairlift. Unless you have kids and a pocket full of cash I would choose another attraction. Be aware it is £4 to park and everything in the small attraction costs. We spent £20.00 in half an hour on chairlift, some chocolates and parking. Not money well spent but only my opinion!!

Amazon world (we had complimentary tickets as part of our deal) was really enjoyable though some of the animals behaviour concerned me. There was an Armadillo that seemed to be freaking out, but I am no expert he may have been quite happy. You can adopt animal and the Meerkats are not short of adoption... The others needs adopting too. !!!

Anyway thanks Luccumbe Manor, for offering a fantastic deal and allowing us a wonderful mid week break.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseMortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    233
    74
    29
    8
See reviews for
144
364
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Within an hour of our holiday to Egypt being cancelled due to the volcanic ash problem. We had found Luccombe Manor hotel on the internet, spoken to their reservation team and booked a 4 night stay including the ferry to start the next day.
We were not disappointed. Our greeting on arrival at the hotel was exceptional, we immediately felt at home. Our bedroom had a seaview and it was lovely and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were well looked after.
This was our first visit to the island and we were lucky with the weather. Sunny days with a cool breeze. On two afternoons when returning from exploring the island we were able to sit in the large sheltered garden and read or doze in the late afternoon sun.
The food was good. The menu was varied and changed every day. A bottle of wine to accompany the meal was at a sensible price.
We would definately recommend a visit to the garden tea room for a cream tea.
We throughly enjoyed our stay here. Lovely atmosphere and friendly hotel in a wonderful location. We hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twyGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

reminded me a bit of 'Faulty Towers' - No lift and room was on 3rd floor - had to carry heavy suitcase up there. No shower - bath was dirty, and the tap fell off when i turned it on, plug didnt fit and water seeped out. Very small television in the rooms - only 4 channels.
Duvet very thin. Only saving grace was that the food was fair and dining staff pleasant and friendly. Tiny bar with poor selection of drinks and not manned all the time. Not what you would expect for the cost really.
Beautifull location though.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirevera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt_iow, owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2010
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, we are glad you enjoyed our food and the service from the staff. However, we are sorry your stay was not to your satisfaction or expectations for a two star hotel.
As the manor is an old country house there is no feasible way to install a lift to our rooms without damaging the period features of the building. Given that we only have two floors (and no third floor) we would have been happy to move you to a first floor or ground floor should you have spoken to reception. Given our extensive refurbishment program we do have a mix of rooms with shower only, bath and shower or bath only making all the rooms en-suite. I am sorry if you were not happy with your bathroom and the maintenance issue was fixed as soon as we were informed. A small number of our rooms are still awaiting refurbishment upon where we are upgrading bathrooms and rooms which includes televisions. We feel that we offer great value for money here at the hotel with our range of facilities and ferry inclusive breaks coupled with our fantastic location. Following our recent inspection we have been informed that our refurbished rooms and facilities available at the hotel are of three star standards, with the food and service being of four star standard.
We do hope that we would be able to welcome you back to the hotel in future in one of our refubished rooms so we may have a chance of exceeding your expectations.

Matthew and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We went for a few days to unwind and relax and could not have found a better place. Set in beautiful scenery the hotel, although not in chic boutique style, was comfortable and the staff were welcoming and obliging. The food was plentiful and traditional. The rooms were spotless. And finally was really good value for money. Stunning view from the conservatory.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WessexWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

went to this hotel as a special offer as we had friends nearby,we were really pleasantly surprised as the staff are fantastic and really attentive and friendly,room was basic but clean and comfortable and the common areas of the hotel are spacious and comfortable,the food was great especially as it was half board and included in the price and too top it all we could take our dog.Will definately return and would recommend this hotel to anybody

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sikelEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Luccombe Manor welcomed us as if we were family - everything was explained in a friendly manner, the staff felt more like friends at the end of our stay. The hotel was easy to find, had ample parking, was spotlessly clean, great amenities, fantastic views and just a wonderful place to be after a long drive. We took our dogs who were also warmly welcomed and were given a great room with everything we could need. The food and service were also first class. I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPTCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We had included in our 2 night, 2 breakfast stay an inclusive ferry crossing including our car to the IOW.
We travelled on saturday 27th February 2010 stopping the Saurday and Sunday night.

The IOW ferry crossing is just one hour from Southampton to East Cowes. A very relaxed crossing (on a very windy day ) just relaxing with a cup of coffee, watching the sea go by.

( NOTE FOR ANYONE TRAVELLING ON A SATURDAY TRY NOT TO TRAVEL ON THE SOUTHERN APPROACH TO PIER 7 FOR IOW FERRY , THERE IS AN IKEA WITH A TOTAL TRAFFIC JAM ON SATURDAYS, it took a wasted hour to get through)

The IOW is a little quiet this time of the year , but with a car there is still time to explore and have a good relaxing break in a totally relaxed environment.

On arrival at the hotel we were given a very warm welcome.

Our room was up stairs (no lifts) and a small clean adequate room , but i think we were very lucky to have a 4 poster bed !
There was atray of coffee and tea ingredients available, A flat screen TV but a poor selection of TV stations, maybe that will change when the IOW goes digital!

We had dinner both nights and the menu was totally diffent.
aWe also sampled the wine selection and were well happy with wines available at a reasonable price.
Service by the dining staff was totally professional , a diferent waiter each night ..
The food was top quality and well presented, Good food and hot.

Breakfast was cereal , juice , coffee and toast followed by a good tidy english breakfast, a good set up for the day.All top ingredients!
We had papers each day , on the sunday ,we decided to take advantage of the Panoramic view in the rear lounge.This must be the envy of every other hotel on the IOW.
Rrying to read a paper and watch the splendid view is impossible!
Adjacent you can help yourself to the complimentary coffee and tea.
The bar in the evening was well stocked, and had a great atmosphere.

The warnth in the hotel was good , as was the room , we had to turn the heating down ,,,,in February!

The adjacent hotel has a games room , indoor pool, sauna , which we didnt use.

Cleansiness was good throughout the hotel.The staff must work hard as a team to produce a better than normal hotel experience helping make it a good break , it was a shame to go home!

We will be back! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay ! Thanks to all the Crew!
G CULLEY

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hairyworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
842 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,244 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing