We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short break experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Arrived to a friendly greeting at reception, shown to a great room overlooking the bay. Excellent condition possibly due to recent refurb? Wife had no idea that this was a 2 star hotel we both agreed that the rating should be reviewed upwards. Food was very good, particularly at breakfast evening meal choices were good but with some very rich items for our own tastes. Parking could be a bit difficult, not enough spaces when hotel demand is high. Lovely grounds with tea room at the bottom of the rear garden leading to beech via steep stairs. Staff were excellent, polite, accommodating and helpful.
Would go back and highly recommend to friends and readers of this review.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essextrebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2010

We were really impressed with this hotel. The 2 star is deceiving, it is more like 4 star. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. We have dogs and the receptionist made a list of dog friendly places to visit - also free dog treats. Beautiful locaton. Food was great and good choice. Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

A lovely hotel situated in a beautiful spot overlooking the sea It is situated next to a park where red squirrels are known to be. The bonus for us was that the hotel welcomed well behaved dogs and the restuarant was the only place the dogs were not allowed in. The rooms were of a reasonable size and comfortable. The food is excellent with a good choice. All the staff are friendly and helpful and we are eager to return for a longer stay.
the hotel is situated on top of a cliff and there is 152 steps down - and back up! - to negotiate to get to the beach. The shingly beach where dgos can go soon leads on to the main Shankin Esplanade where the beach is sandy and beautiful for walking along. It is also only a short walk (by the side of the park) that leads into the rather hilly but stunning old village Shanklin

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broganites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We booked at the last minute to spend a couple of days in the Isle of Wight for my husband's birthday and wanted to stop in Shanklin. After browsing many hotels we choose this one because of the onsite free parking and sea views and plus there was a 20% discount if we stopped for evening meal. From the moment we arrived the receptionist Levi was helpful and courteous and opened the bar up for us to have a drink. Impressed with the room and facilities and view considering only a 2 star hotel. Robes provided although no belts but that didn't bother me for one night's stay. Wished we were staying longer to make use of the lovely gardens with sun lounger, views and tea/snack room. Shame the outdoor pool was out of action (reopening next year) but you can use the pool at the adjoining sister hotel. Food plentiful and tasty. Very relaxing sitting in conservatory reading the paper. Car park not big enough if hotel was full but can park in street. Walking distance to Shanklin village and you can take steps down to the beach. Will definitely return (hopefully when they have an offer on again).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

My personal highlights of our two-night stay at the Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel are: 1) great location (right next to the park, the Chine and a short walk to a pretty Shanklin Old Village), 2) welcoming staff and 3) cleanliness throughout. We enjoyed a hot stone therapy at Utopia Spa using £10 off voucher received within a package, although found their spa facilities to be rather basic. I recommend this hotel as a great value-for-money break.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulchiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Read all the negative reviews on here but decided to still book, so arrived with an open mind. I must firstly say that I can not understand all the negativity on here because this hotels situation is perfect!
The receptionist was very friendly on arrival, I can not compliment all the staff we met enough, fantastic friendly and helpful people!
Dining area is clean and lovely with sea views at certain tables. Food was totally delicious and very well presented, being a very fussy eater I asked if I could have a Jacket Potato the first night and this was not a problem! Max the owner is a fabulous chef and his bread rolls are so delicious!
The waiting staff were tremendous, very well mannered and we did have a laugh with a couple there.
The lady who works behind the bar too is very helpful and we enjoyed a couple of chats with her.
Ok, the bedroom was not hi-tec with all the mod technology some people wish for, but it did not matter in the slightest to us, it was clean and comfy. I left off one star because of the noisy people in the room above us :)
The tea room is at the botom of the garden and the lady working there was very friendly and the food was lovely.

So to sum up this hotel is very highly recommended by us and I would say the only people there being rude were the picky guests as we heard unjustified whining to the staff who did their upmost to please everyone.
Thank you to everyone for a wonderful stay and we look forward to returning!
eileen and kev crosby

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUSTLAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Just come back from the Isle Of Wight have had a great time. The island was beautiful and the hotel was excellent, wasn't sure what to expect because of some reviews that i read on the internet but it exceeded my expectations and couldn't figure out what people had complained about. The service and staff were great. The room was excellent, the location was good being a quick walking distance to the High Street. The food was absolutely lovely better than anything i've ever tried in any restaurant. I would definately go again and recommend it to anyone who wants a nice peaceful break.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
871 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,275 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £43 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing