We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
242
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
242
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house shanklin old village sewing kit isle of wight on arrival kippers great hosts sized bed restaurants and pubs b and b already booked for next year plenty of choice within easy walking distance fruit salad full english spacious room good size
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018

We love this place! Bill and Jackie are so friendly and welcoming. Nothing is to much trouble. The rooms are comfy and spotlessly clean. We slept so well during our stay!
The breakfasts are delicious, with a great choice. There is ample parking which is a huge bonus. It is great value for money. Easily 4*.
The location is great too.
We cannot fault this place. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Shanklin, look no further. We cannot wait to return!

Room tip: Room 4 is a large, spacious room with a jacuzzi bath.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

The hosts Jackie and Bill keep this place immaculate,not a thing out of place.the breakfast were perfect and you never felt rushed.Shanklin is a great place to base yourself for a stay .would highly recommend to anybody to stay at the Birkdale.you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

If you are looking for a place to stay in Shanklin, don't look any further. Bill and Jackie are terrific hosts, and their property is ideally situated in the heart of Old Shanklin, with ample parking space and the pubs , shops and eateries no more than a couple of minutes walk away. The house and rooms are immaculate, and Bill's breakfasts, cooked to order, are superb. There is absolutely nothing that you could find fault with, well apart from the fact that Bill is from Burnley, but we don't suppose he could help that! Seriously, anyone thinking of setting up a guest house should come and stay here, it's that good.
Thanks Bill and Jackie, we had a fabulous stay,

Room tip: all the room we saw were impeccably furnished
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DGriff81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

We have just returned from 10 days staying here with Bill and Jackie, who are fantastic hosts, I am vegetarian and they got my Soya milk and butter and sausages. breakfast was amazing!!!! We were made to feel really welcome from the moment that we walked in the door. a really wonderful place to stay on the island. Thank you for a lovely holiday, we hope to return soon. :)

Room tip: ground floor rooms, good parking, fantastic breakfasts, Fantastic hosts
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank james y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

This B&B has to be one of the best we have ever stayed in. The thought that has gone into the interior design and running of the business has been exceptional. I can't think of anything that was not thought about that we would ever want from a B&B as all the things we would expect to find were there. Well done to Jackie and Bill for setting up such a fantastic B&B. We look forward to coming again and hope we will be able to do so in the not too distant future for a long weekend!

Room tip: Very nice double rooms for couples
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeymooners43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews