We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rosemary B & B Shanklin, IOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosemary Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosemary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Rosemary B & B Shanklin, IOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

After visiting this excellent B & B for the 2nd time there is absolutely nothing you can fault. Spotlessly clean, fab breakfasts and great hospitaliity, already planning on returning next year.With great thanks to Alan and Marilyn for making us so welcome into their home.Congratulations on you breakfast certificate reward, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
116
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Rosemary bed & breakfast over the Easter 2012 weekend. We had read the reviews about it and have got to agree that this establishment is nothing less than perfect.
Alan and Marilyn are very friendly and attentive hosts and take pride in the upkeep of their home it is immaculate. The full English breakfast was very tasty in all excellent. Alan is a very good cook he let us have some of a lemon drizzle cake he had baked and it was gorgeous. One very nice touch is that there is a mini fridge on the landing and fresh milk is kept in it should you want a tea or coffee. We stayed in Room 1 which was very comfortable and plenty of space really well appointed with sweets and mini crème eggs .There is plenty of room for cars to park on site.
The walk into Shanklin takes about 20 minutes and Alan & Marilyn were always happy to advise which pubs and restaurants to use as well as what other parts of the island to see and what walks to try.
In all we really enjoyed our stay at the Rosemary and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_kay40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

3 Night stay at the Rosemary B&B in March was the perfect tonic for a stress free weekend away. We have been visiting the I O W for over 10 yrs now and can't believe we have missed this absolute jewel. The house is immaculate in a beautiful little spot with lovely views across the hills. To be fair what makes this the perfect place is the hosts Alan and Marylin. Its kind of like stopping with old friends rather than owners of a hotel. Our room was brilliant, little things like fresh milk in a jug for your tea or coffee in your room (so much nicer than those little pots you normally get) Fresh cookies in your room. The rooms are beautiful and feel very homely. We seriously cannot recommend this Shanklin gem enough. We will without a doubt only ever stop here on the island whenever we visit again.
Huge thanks to Marylin and Alan for a truly lovely weekend and we hope you had a great Birthday Marylin.
Like we say If Carlesberg did B&B's..........

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic, you will definitely find it hard to pick from either
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just returned from 2 nights at Rosemary Cottage. Great welcome from David and Emma and felt right at home. They kindly booked their local pub for dinner (very nice too - The Pointers) and were generally very welcoming. Great brekkie and a lovely little spot. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Our stay at Rosemary B&B was wonderful.

My fiance had been studying in the UK and he organised a weekend on the Isle of Wight as a treat for us.

The accommodation was excellent - beautiful house with a gorgeous, spacious room. They have really thought of everything from Royal Jelly bathroom products to a hairdryer and sewing kit.

The food was great. They had just baked a lemon drizzle cake when we had arrived and this was to die for. Then breakfast was amazing - fruit, yogurt, range of cerals and toast. All this on top of the full English breakfast! They even catered to my vegetarian fiance with vegie sausages which was very kind and he loved that.

The main highlight is the hospitality. Alan and Marilyn are lovely people and you really feel like you are staying with friends.

Thanks for a wonderful visit,

Susan and Cal

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suze518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the rosemary a couple if weeks ago and had a fantastic time. From booking until the moment we left, the whole experience was exceptionally good. The room we stayed in was beautiful, well-appointed and spotless. But it was Alan and Marilyn who were the real stars of the rosemary. Friendly, interesting, chatty, welcoming, they couldn't do more to help us (cake, pots of tea, biscuits, showing us where to walk).  They even gave us a special room deal we were unaware of! Somehow they managed all of this without being obtrusive in any way. 
We will certainly return at some stage and can't wait for the gorgeous smoked salmon and scrambled eggs from the breakfast menu again.
Thank you Marilyn and Alan! We will recommend you to anyone looking to stay on the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

This was our second break at Rosemary and it was just as good as the first. Alan and Marilyn are really great hosts with nothing being to much trouble. The room is comfortable with a good table to work at (great for making my cards on), an added treat of home made cake to go with a cuppa makes a nice surprise. a really warm and friendly enviroment makes for a wonderful break away from home. We will be back again thanks for a great time Helen and Doug

Room Tip: Home from home comfortable rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hndws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.9 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Foxhills of Shanklin
Foxhills of Shanklin
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westbury Lodge
Westbury Lodge
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemary Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rosemary Bed & Breakfast
Address: 87 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosemary Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosemary is a small family run B&B which prides itself on its friendly and attention personal service. Rosemary is in a beautiful location in Shanklin with views over open countryside and yet not far from the Old village with its local pubs and numerous restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rosemary Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemary Bed & Breakfast Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing