We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and cosy B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosemary Bed & Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rosemary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and cosy B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at this cosy B&B during April long weekend. The place is very clean and pleasant with wonderful front garden. when we arrived the bedroom was ready with various options for tea, coffee, juice, biscuits and cakes. Our bedroom was very spacious and clean with wonderful airy windows and ventilation. The breakfast was very delicious with plenty of options. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and in fact Alan gave us lift on our last day to Shanklin railway station :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smitesh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
116
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at this beautiful B&B on the edge of Shanklin on a last minute easter weekend mini-break to the Isle of Wight. The B&B was very clean, with the room in perfect condition and every little detail was thought through. The owners were friendly and very helpful, and gave us a great dinner recommendation (Morgan's). The bed was very comfortable…but getting up for the breakfast was well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paolo0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Having gone over to the Island recently for a 2 night stay for our anniversary, we would like to thank Alan (who was on his own that weekend) a very impressive stay at their B&B, the hospitality was excellent and we will certainly recommend anyone else to stay at their guest house, we thoroughly enjoyed it, the room was immaculate and parking was spacious and would be very happy to return again should we return back to the Island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just come back from two days staying at this wonderful guest house my wife and I were house hunting on the island and if the welcome given by Alan and Marilyn is anything to go by we would move here tomorrow Lovely room great breakfast relaxing stay would definitely stay here again Alan is working hard on the back garden would like to see it when he is finished thanks again Ray and Tina

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

If you want a very good place to stay on the Isle of Wight then you can't go wrong if you stay at Rosemary's Bed and Breakfast. This is our second year running that we have stayed here. I thought it was good last year but this year seemed even better if that is possible. It was spotlessly clean and what a lovely welcome you get with help with the luggage and a cup of tea with home made lemon drizzle cake. I would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a luxury bed and breakfast on the island and we shall certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

My first time at a Bed and Breakfast........i didn't know what i'd been missing! Spotlessly clean, fantastic breakfast and extremely accommodating owners. I had only booked for two people, then my other daughter wanted to come at the last minute, she was made very welcome. Nothing was a problem. B & B Perfectly situated. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I was listening to the BBC Radio 4 food programme today, and a famed restaurant critic said he always went back to a restaurant a few times before he wrote a review - to get a better overview. Well so it is with me and this second review of Rosemary. And the main upshot is that it has not deviated from superb. I’ve been back quite a few times since my previous review – most recently in October 2013.

Alan and Marilyn are experts: they had previously had a larger portfolio of Isle of Wight holiday properties, but have now settled down to running a modestly-sized B&B, and doing it absolutely superbly – well within their comfort zone – and that really shows. There’s a pressure in their business to cram in as much as you can, and the Rosemary B&B has completely resisted that.

Previously I didn’t include any photos of the breakfast room – so please see a couple herewith: a large, airy, light, cheerful room; well-appointed with what looks and feels to me like oak furniture. Many places would squeeze 4 or more tables in here, but in Rosemary it’s just the two tables – absolute luxury – and given the spaciousness a nice touch of the radio gently in the background (and not a hair turned when I change the station when I’m the only guest in there). Some of the breakfast options seem to be aimed at the theoretical maximum that could be crammed in: I was recently faced by fruit portions suitable for a hungry family of famished fruitarians – and that’s as a starter to the full English! They have a well-deserved TripAdvisor award for breakfast, and an unashamed plug for/from the renowned Isle-of-Wight Brownrigg bacon company- whose extra rasher of tasty collar bacon accompanied my tomatoes and mushroom so very well (oh yes indeed). So only the toast and marmalade and another hot chocolate to go after that then! What? Would I like some more toast?

It may be easy to run a B&B on the Isle of Wight in high season, but at Rosemary they have the knack of making it excellent even when the weather is not so good: bottled water, kettle, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and fresh milk; and both biscuits and the famous lemon drizzle cake – and some sweets and more; a warm cosy room, a hot shower and a stupendous choice at breakfast. Reliable Wi-Fi, a good TV and a DVD player; and out on the landing I’ve not yet explored the extensive collection of DVD, books and magazines. They keep on updating and improving – I noted wonderful new bedside lights now that come on - and brighter, and off - with a dozing touch of the hand.

I was reading about how quality businesses try to make things smoother and less stressful – so at Rosemary I note they have just two bedrooms but comfortable off-road parking out the front (with clear roadside signage) for at least three cars. No worries.

I think I know clean when I see it, and at Rosemary I see it in spades: the bedroom and en-suite bathroom fairy has clearly been round with the gleaming pixey dust. If you are fastidious about cleanliness you’ll be at home at the Rosemary B&B. Well actually if you are fastidious about getting a top quality B&B then Rosemary is for you. Bedroom 2 – which I’ve enjoyed quite a few times now, has a shower rather than a bath, but does have an excellent small table to use as a desk – and outstanding Wi-Fi connectivity and speeds; and it has the fridge with fresh milk just outside the door. And it perhaps feels a bit cosier because there’s more warm colours and intimacy. Either way you would not be disappointed with either bedroom.

Last review I mentioned I’d missed the famous Lemon Drizzle Cake; since then I’ve had a piece every time – except on a wet and windy October day after a long journey – when I had two slices! My goodness they read minds as well. Book now while stocks last.

Room Tip: BOTH EXCELLENT. Room 1 with bath, possibly a better airy summer room for a couple; Room 2 with show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.9 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Foxhills of Shanklin
Foxhills of Shanklin
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westbury Lodge
Westbury Lodge
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemary Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rosemary Bed & Breakfast
Address: 87 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosemary Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosemary is a small family run B&B which prides itself on its friendly and attention personal service. Rosemary is in a beautiful location in Shanklin with views over open countryside and yet not far from the Old village with its local pubs and numerous restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rosemary Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemary Bed & Breakfast Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing