We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel”
Review of Daish's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Daish's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel is in a great location and has a nice garden area. The food was good and the service was excellent. The hotel in general is nice and the staff were very friendly. However, the bedrooms are small, in need of updating and shower pressure was very low to non-existent.

Stayed from 20th to 26th August

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidandJoatDaishs, Manager at Daish's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thanks for your review, we are glad that you found the hotel nice and our staff friendly which we pride ourselves on. We have a selection of different sized rooms and we are starting a refurbishment programme in Oct. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

they need to update on the breakfast 1 slice of bacon one sausage does not fill a man need choice of beans or tomato . down stairs is lovely but they need to up date most of the bedrooms could do with ceiling fans has room was very hot day and night .staff are realy nice very helpfull ,

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsb919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidandJoatDaishs, Manager at Daish's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

We are sorry that you thought the breakfasts were not sufficient for you. Our breakfasts consist of a choice of 8 starters followed by a selection of mains: poached,scrambled and boiled eggs, kipper and haddock as well as a full English consisting of 1 bacon, 1 sausage, fried bread, fried egg, mushrooms (high season) and either beans or tomato followed by toast. Had you requested more then we would of been more than happy to oblige.
Apart from this matter we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Beautiful hotel on the outside. Excellent dining room service and good food. Entertainment not too bad and bar prices reasonable. BUT: Do not accept a room in the Arrabella wing extension. Very small rooms. Cramped bathroom and depressing view of brick walls. Description of rooms on web does not match reality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 423Richie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidandJoatDaishs, Manager at Daish's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, however we find the comment calling our rooms 'cells' very inappropriate. As you can appreciate not all hotels have a 'room with a view' and we do have an upgrade option (larger rooms with a garden view) at the time of booking if available. We appreciate these rooms are smaller than some of our others but they are let out all year as standard doubles and we have many repeat guests requesting them. The view from the Arabella wing is of the courtyard where guests can sit and of the pool area. Despite these negative comments we are glad you enjoyed the rest of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel. Last year we really enjoyed ourselves and were impressed by what we received for our money. Unfortunately this year was a bit of a let down. This really is a beautiful old building, ideally placed in the old village. The downstairs rooms are well decorated and there are a couple of lounges with comfy chairs overlooking the garden. The bedrooms on the other hand are described as stylishly decorated and furnished. In our room I can definitely say that that wasn't the case. Although clean the room needed some TLC. Dirty grouting and sealing in the bathroom and peeling paint make the place seem less clean than it actually is.
We had the misfortune to be in a part of the hotel which was very noisy. On the first morning we were awoken with one of their coaches revving its engine at just after 3 in the morning. Add to that the noise from the "entertainment" downstairs and the fact that a neighbouring guest thought singing after midnight and opening what sounded like every drawer and cupboard in the bedroom and basically out of 5 nights we had 1 that we actually got a nights sleep. We've stayed in lots of hotels over the years and you expect noise of some sort but to be honest the thing that annoyed us most was the attitude of the manager when we enquired as to whether we could be moved. Without even stopping what he was doing (opening a plastic packet) he just said "sorry the only other room is being decorated" and when we complained about the coach revving we were told "I told him not to do that". Not exactly the best customer service.
Considering the price we paid the food is quite good with a range of choices on each course. The main problem is that you feel too rushed. No sooner do you sit down than your starter is there. Finish that and your main course is with you before you've caught your breath and dessert and coffee follow suit. Our evening meal was served at 6.30 and by 7.15 we'd had all three courses. We didn't bother ordering wine on 4 out of the 5 evenings as we just hadn't time to enjoy it. Having said that the waiting staff are excellent. Nothing seems too much trouble for them although I wish they wouldn't carry out plates of food balanced so that the underside of the plate is resting on the food of the plate underneath. My ham salad had gravy around the edges of the plate which also dripped onto the table cloth and because the cloths are not changed it was there for the rest of the holiday.
The evening entertainment really just wasn't our thing but that's just personal preference and there are plenty of places to go if you don't want to stay in the hotel of an evening.
Overall if you're looking for a reasonably priced holiday in a beautiful location give it a try.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank artisanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just got back from daish hotel in shanklin,went with a coach party from Gloucester,we had the time of our lives can not fault anything,hotel room ACE, staff ACE, entertainment ACE and the food FIRST CLASS. Will be going again

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidandJoatDaishs, Manager at Daish's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Many thanks for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Hotel: 200 year old coaching inn, lots of character. Traditional decor and well maintained
Food: Nicely cooked home cooking
Location: Fantastic spot in the beautiful 'old village'
Staff: Polite, friendly and welcoming
Value for money: Fantastic value
Would recommend: Yes, for couples, families and older groups

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MummyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidandJoatDaishs, Manager at Daish's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We went with a large party from our village and were not expecting very much for the price but apart from one niggle about the lack of a shower on the top floor and the very poor water pressure(room 15) everything else was excellant.

Room Tip: Check if rooms have a shower and the water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raymondcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
925 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daish's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daish's Hotel

Address: 81 High Street, Shanklin PO37 6NP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#17 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £48 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building was originally an 18th century coaching inn - so guests have been coming here for hundreds of years. We've retained the period features and great hospitality, but added everything you'd expect from a modern hotel. We have a coffee shop serving light snacks and refreshments, perfect for enjoying in the hotel's large garden and terrace. Our Tally Ho Bar features some of the best acts on the Isle of Wight, while our relaxed lounge bar is ideal for enjoying a quiet drink if you'd prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Daish's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daish's Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing