We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More visits a definite!”
Review of Daish's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Daish's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More visits a definite!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Went on an organised coach trip to this hotel from West Wales. It was fantastic value fromthe outset and our first time on a coach tour. The service we received in the hotel was just lovely, the hotel manager came on the coach and introduced herself and every staff member was helpful and instantly happy to assist with any question. The outstanding value of this trip makes if irresistible to booking again for next year and also to spreading the word. First time on Isle of Wight and the trips arranged were also of great value and I just felt everyone really wanted the tourists to have a great time. Food could have been a bit more nutritious (for vegetarians) but, indeed, there was enough to eat and service was supremely swift. Will definitely book for this time next year.

Room Tip: We had a twin, which in fact was a triple, so plenty of space and lovely aspect at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    217
    55
    14
    13
See reviews for
97
350
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a wonderful time on this five day break warm hotel and lovely food. Coach journey was smooth and comfortable. We have been to Torquay, Bournemouth and Newquay with them and would recomend their breaks as very good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed for Christmas at this hotel. The room was very small and difficult to negotiate around. the heating in the room was only on in the evening, so the room was either boiling hot and difficult to sleep in or cold, having to sit with the duvet round you. there was no heating at all in the bathroom. the communal areas were heated to a high temperature all the time, which was too much. the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. i was kept awake by the floodlight in the grounds, which shone into the room and lit it up like daylight. Although the xmas day/boxing day meals were nice, with fresh vegetables, the rest of the meals were served with a strange concoction of frozen veg and croquette or deep fried potato balls. a lot of food was offered as 'help yourself buffet style' which allowed everyone to handle the food you were about to eat, with their dirty germy hands! the drinks were at reasonable prices and the service on the whole was good. the singers providing the evening entertainment were mostly good, but the gameshow/quiz/bingo was run on a very downmarket holiday camp style, the compere's voice grated on your nerves after a while too. I believe the hotel is to undergo some refurbishment shortly, so perhaps the rooms will not be so shabby. I might stay here again, but definitely not at christmas. best to travel in hotels coaches as not much parking if you went self drive as the hotel car park is mostly full of coaches. and no long term car parks nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r0ses447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

first time with this company,not dissapointed,hotel old but furnished in style.food unpretentious and well presented.entertainment second to none.staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable.price and value for money excellent,no over the top bar prices ,would certainly use this company again.

Room Tip: choose a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed at daishs hotel shanklin for a tinsel and turkey break, enjoyed every moment, room very clean and comfortable, food excellent, varied menu, staff efficient and polite and seemed to enjoy their work, also the entertainment was first class, I recommend this to anyone, hope to return sometime.
Joan

Room Tip: Be specific if you have special needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joann825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

What can we say! What a fantastic time we have just had at Daish's Hotel. The service was excellent throughout our stay this week (17th - 21st Nov). The waiter,Mat, was very professional and as quick as the wind. The food was very good and there was a good selection on the menu at all meals. The room service was clean and efficient and everything was topped up daily. The entertainment though was the icing on the cake in the evening. Brilliant acts every evening, funny and very musical. Gordon was and excellent host and guided everything easily through the night from start to finish. A well enjoyed stay! Jan and Steve

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely holiday at Daish's, the food was very good and staff extremely friendly.

The entertainment was excellent (a different act each evening). Also was good fun to have a couple of games of bingo each evening. Gordon was a fantastic host and he and the rest of the staff were very welcoming and friendly.

Admittedly the hotel itself could do with a facelift. Our bathroom was pretty horrid (hence only the four stars) but we had such a good time it didn't matter too much. However should we return we would probably pay for a premium room as did a few members of our party.

We absolutely loved the Isle of Wight - it is like going back in time.

Thank you Gordon for helping to make our few days so enjoyable and hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daish's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daish's Hotel

Property: Daish's Hotel
Address: 81 High Street, Shanklin PO37 6NP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#17 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building was originally an 18th century coaching inn - so guests have been coming here for hundreds of years. We've retained the period features and great hospitality, but added everything you'd expect from a modern hotel. We have a coffee shop serving light snacks and refreshments, perfect for enjoying in the hotel's large garden and terrace. Our Tally Ho Bar features some of the best acts on the Isle of Wight, while our relaxed lounge bar is ideal for enjoying a quiet drink if you'd prefer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Daish's Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing